Notes for an Address by the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas), to the Canadian Council for the Americas

February 6, 2009
Toronto, Ontario

Check Against Delivery

I’m delighted to be here today to talk about the importance Canada attaches to the Americas.

I must say, however, that I am very conscious of the weight of expertise in this room.

Individually and collectively, you are all part of the energy and optimism that flows between Canada and our partners in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Your council—and the broader business community you represent—has been at the heart of this engagement from the very beginning.

Thanks to the leadership of people like Ken Frankel [Chairman of the Board] and the dedicated efforts of board members past and present, we’ve seen a renewed dynamism within the Toronto chapter of the Canadian Council for the Americas (CCA).

You’ve managed to attract a number of highly influential speakers, including Francisco Santos Calderón, Vice-President of Colombia, and Michael Lee-Chin, the Chairman of Portland Holdings, Inc.

You’ve been an “integrator,” of sorts, for the interests of Canadian businesses in the region, giving their concerns a broader platform and deepening cooperation with the various bilateral chambers of commerce throughout the region. As such, you’re a valued “incubator” of the kinds of ideas we need going forward and, from the government’s perspective, a critical part of Canada’s engagement strategy in the Americas.

It is an honour and a privilege to make my own modest contribution to these important efforts today.

As you know, I’ve just begun my own role as Minister of State for the Americas. While I know the region well from my days as a journalist, you could say that I’m now looking at it through a new lens. I conducted my first official visit to the region last month.

What’s clear to me is that, as nations in the Americas, our current and future interests are increasingly interdependent. As neighbours in the Americas, our geography compels us to work together.

Our future demands it.

For Canada, it’s a vision that starts at the very top. As you know, our Prime Minister has made a personal commitment to supporting a more prosperous, democratic and secure hemisphere that brings increased stability and opportunity to its citizens.

These areas are interconnected. Prosperity can’t take hold without security, or without the freedoms and laws brought about through democratic governance. And democracy can’t function without personal security and the chance to improve living standards through increased business opportunities.

We can also see the interconnected nature of the issues at play in the region through the wide range of Canadian government departments active in the Americas—departments like DFAIT [Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada], of course, but also National Defence, the Canadian International Development Agency, Health Canada, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, and Industry Canada.

This diversity of effort brings a richness and depth to our presence in the region that speaks to Canada’s many interests there. It also demonstrates some of the big challenges we face.

Our region is no stranger to calamity and disaster. But these challenges—whether natural disasters like hurricanes and earthquakes, or challenges of the human-made variety, like crime, drugs, terrorism and political instability—have a way of bringing out the best in us, when we cooperate in fighting them, and of creating new avenues of hope for people.

Our message to the people of the Americas is that the best path to prosperity and security is through open markets and democracy.

However, we need to ensure that democracy delivers—delivers opportunity and jobs, security and access to fundamental social goods like education, transportation and health.

We believe that this is a function of good governance. And making good on Prime Minister Harper’s commitment, we are assisting countries in the region in strengthening their democratic institutions to ensure a higher degree of transparency and accountability to their citizens. This includes models of governance that directly impact on business, such as regulatory frameworks, domestic legislation and auditing.

Business cannot flourish in an environment of insecurity. Corruption, crime and violence are impediments to building opportunity and jobs. Canada is therefore actively engaged in helping these countries to strengthen their capacity through better training, systems and processes.

Canada’s strong involvement in a number of international and regional organizations is also strengthening peace and security in the region. For example:

  • our contributions to the United Nations and the Organization of American States;
  • or the Pan American Health Organization, where we are working with countries to strengthen their capacity to deliver health services to their citizens and to respond effectively to potential pandemics;
  • and the Summit of the Americas process, which will bring all the leaders from the hemisphere together in Trinidad and Tobago this April to set a vision and course for the future development of the region.

This kind of cooperation and effort will be absolutely essential as we face yet another crisis—an economic one.

The global financial crisis has hit all of our nations hard. While we are cautiously optimistic that most countries in the region are positioned to weather the storm fairly well, we need to be vigilant. Left unchecked, the crisis threatens to amplify the many other challenges at play in the hemisphere, and it can give rise to narrow, isolationist thinking.

Canada’s approach, from the very early days of this crisis, has been to warn against protectionism and isolationism—the kind of ideologies that determined the length and severity of the Great Depression—and to promote the importance of global and regional economic partnerships to move us past this difficult period and come out on the other side stronger and more competitive than ever before.

It’s a message that this government, led by Prime Minister Harper and his ministers, including International Trade Minister Stockwell Day and Foreign Affairs Minister Lawrence Cannon, has been promoting at every opportunity: at APEC [Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum], through the Pathways to Prosperity meetings, at the World Economic Forum, and in bilateral meetings with our counterparts around the world.

I should add that no nation is completely immune from the “protectionist temptation.”

As you know, Canada has been among the most vocal opponents of the “Buy American” provisions currently before the U.S. Congress, provisions that we view as highly protectionist in nature. The Prime Minister was one of the first world leaders to raise concerns, and others have since followed.

Our voices have been heard. The amendment approved by the U.S. Senate includes a requirement that Buy American provisions be consistent with U.S. obligations under international agreements.

Americans themselves are divided on the issue, with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce coming out strongly against any protectionist measures in the proposed stimulus package. I am encouraged by many of the positive messages coming out of the United States on the Buy American provisions. However, the legislative process is not yet complete. Final decisions on these controversial measures have not yet been made, and we will continue to make our views known to the U.S. administration and legislators.

Our trade counterparts around the world share Canada’s concerns on this issue. We all agree that it would be a mistake to pass legislation that inhibits the global economic recovery that we all want.

We need to grow our way out of this crisis together. Open markets stimulate our economies, create new job opportunities and keep our countries strong.

American jobs and American communities rely on Canadian inputs, Canadian know-how and Canadian investment. And Canada is an important purchaser of American goods and services. It’s clear that Canada can play a huge role in tackling the many domestic challenges the United States faces.

We believe Canada is the right nation to be carrying this message of cooperation at this crucial time in the global economy. After all, our economy was built on trade. Our jobs and quality of life depend on it.

Our history is a textbook case of the power of economic openness to create jobs, prosperity and opportunity for people, whether it’s at the World Trade Organization, through our existing hemispheric free trade agreements with Chile and Costa Rica, through our North American partnership with the United States and Mexico, or through our commercial relationships with other nations around the world. That includes in Latin America and the Caribbean, where we have been forging commercial ties for decades.

Today, thanks to people like you, Canadian businesses, goods, services, expertise and investment dollars can be found throughout the Americas.

Canadian companies are currently among the largest investors in Latin America and the Caribbean, led by the financial services and extractive industries.

As the region’s third-largest source of capital, Canada matters. I saw this first-hand in Guatemala, where Canadian investment in the mining sector has become the single largest source of revenue to the national government.

Inward investment is a factor, too. The recent purchase of Inco by Vale of Brazil helped Brazil to rank as our seventh-largest foreign investor in 2007, a fact not lost on the Brazilian export agency APEX, which has now made Canada one of its priority countries for the coming year.

As active as the private sector has been in forging these ties, there’s a clear role for government to play, too.

Minister Day’s first trip to the region was to Brazil, to sign a new science and technology agreement. This agreement will provide exciting new opportunities for investments in cutting-edge technologies between Canada and Brazil.

Our trade commissioners are active throughout the region, building Canadian trade, investment and innovation links with our partners. This includes an expansion of our services in Brazil, where the government is opening two new offices, in Recife and Porto Alegre.

Export Development Canada also maintains a significant presence in the region.

To deepen our presence and encourage even more business, Minister Day is moving forward on an aggressive trade strategy. Last year, we completed free trade negotiations with Peru and Colombia.

We are also pushing forward on free trade negotiations with Panama, and working hard to advance talks with the “Central America Four” nations of El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala and Nicaragua, as well as with the Dominican Republic and the Caribbean Community.

We are building new avenues for bilateral cooperation in the area of innovation. During the visit of President [Michelle] Bachelet of Chile, she and Prime Minister Harper signed a memorandum of understanding on science and technology.

We are also expanding air services through new and improved accords with many countries in the region. And we are working closely with Citizenship and Immigration Canada to address critical issues, like visas and labour mobility, that affect the ability to do business.

You’ve also told us that liquidity is an issue. Canada is committed to helping emerging economies and developing countries gain the access they need to financing and development funds through new and existing facilities at the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank.

Last fall, Minister Cannon and I met with IDB President [Luis Alberto] Moreno, who put forward a number of interesting proposals that we are jointly exploring. We hope to be in a position to announce something in the near future.

My point is that all of the economic engagement in the region is yielding some positive results.

According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, GDP growth in the region reached 5.6 percent in 2007. While this will likely be affected by the current economic downturn, it does show that a decade of improved macroeconomic discipline, coupled with a renewed openness to trade and investment, seems to be resulting in a strengthened economic core.

That is certainly the case for Canada, where our bilateral merchandise trade statistics for the region are still much above the global average. From January to November 2008, our merchandise exports to the region (excluding Mexico) rose by almost 30 percent, while our exports to the rest of the world grew by only 7.8 percent.

But this is no time to be complacent. More can and should be done to secure our current and future position in the region.

That’s where you come in.

Over the years, you’ve been instrumental in consolidating and enhancing Canada’s partnerships in the hemisphere, by increasing two-way trade and investment flows and promoting Canadian business culture and values. In some ways, government is just now catching up with the leading position established by you as our business ambassadors in the region.

As I said at the outset, the government sees the CCA as a critical incubator of ideas for Canada’s engagement in the region. And so I’d like to hear from you today about areas where we need to be placing a greater emphasis in the time ahead, especially given the economic crisis.

For instance, I’d like to know how you see the crisis affecting your plans—or the plans of your partners in the region—in the short and near terms.

I’d also like your views on how we can make the most of the free trade agreements we’re working on in the region, and how you can work in the region to support these negotiations.

As you know, negotiating these agreements is only the first step. How can we make them as useful as possible for people on both sides of the relationship?

What about public-private partnerships? Is there scope for such initiatives in helping Canadian businesses secure access to emerging markets in the Americas and operate with a greater degree of confidence and certainty?

Do other ideas, such as internship programs that link up young entrepreneurs in Canada with opportunities in the region, hold much promise?

These are just a few of the areas where I’d appreciate your thoughts today.

We are truly thankful for your leadership in the Americas. And I know that, in this time of economic crisis, our work together will become even more important—for Canada and for our partners throughout the region.

Thank you for your hard work and your ongoing commitment to cooperation and partnerships during this critical time.

Thank you.

Notes pour une allocution du ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques), l'honorable Peter Kent, devant le Conseil canadien pour les Amériques

Le 6 février 2009
Toronto (Ontario)

Sous réserve de modifications

Je suis heureux d'être ici aujourd'hui pour vous parler de l'importance que le Canada accorde aux Amériques.

Cependant, je dois dire que je suis très conscient de l’énorme quantité de savoir-faire réuni dans cette pièce.

Individuellement et collectivement, vous témoignez du courant d’énergie et d'optimisme qui circule entre le Canada et nos partenaires en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes.

Votre organisme — et le milieu des affaires que vous représentez dans son ensemble — ont été au cœur de cet engagement dès le début.

Grâce au leadership de gens comme M. Ken Frankel [président du conseil] et aux efforts des anciens et des actuels membres dévoués du conseil, nous avons observé un dynamisme renouvelé au sein de la section de Toronto du conseil canadien pour les Amériques [CCA].

Vous avez réussi à attirer plusieurs conférenciers très influents, dont M. Francisco Santos Calderòn, vice-président de la Colombie et M. Michael Lee-Chin, président de Portland Holdings, Inc.

Vous avez été, en quelque sorte, un « intégrateur » des intérêts des entreprises canadiennes dans la région en donnant à leurs préoccupations une tribune plus large et en approfondissant les liens de coopération avec les différentes chambres de commerce bilatérales dans toute la région. À ce titre, vous êtes un « incubateur » précieux du genre d'idées dont nous avons besoin pour l'avenir, et pour le gouvernement, un élément capital de la stratégie d'engagement du Canada dans les Amériques.

C'est pour moi un honneur et un privilège d'apporter aujourd'hui ma modeste contribution à ces travaux importants.

Comme vous le savez, je viens d'entreprendre mon mandat comme ministre d'État pour les Amériques. Je connais bien la région, en raison du temps où j'étais journaliste, mais je pourrais dire que je l'observe aujourd'hui sous un angle nouveau. J'ai fait ma première visite officielle dans la région le mois dernier.

Il m'apparaît clair qu'en tant que nations des Amériques, nos intérêts actuels et futurs sont de plus en plus interdépendants. En tant que voisins dans les Amériques, notre géographie nous oblige à travailler ensemble.

Notre avenir l'exige.

Pour le Canada, c'est une vision qui émane du sommet. Comme vous le savez, notre premier ministre s’est personnellement engagé à contribuer à l’amélioration de la prospérité, du respect de la démocratie et de la sécurité de l'hémisphère, de manière à offrir des possibilités et une stabilité accrues à ses citoyens.

Ces domaines sont intimement liés. La prospérité ne peut prendre racine sans sécurité ni sans les libertés et les lois inhérentes à une gouvernance démocratique. Par ailleurs, la démocratie ne peut fonctionner sans sécurité personnelle, ni la chance d'améliorer les niveaux de vie grâce à des débouchés commerciaux plus nombreux.

Le vaste éventail de ministères du gouvernement canadien actifs dans les Amériques démontre également la nature intimement liée des enjeux dans la région. En effet, outre le MAECI [Affaires étrangères et Commerce international], le ministère de la Défense nationale, l'Agence canadienne de développement international, Santé Canada, Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada ainsi qu'Industrie Canada y sont présents.

Cette diversité des interventions apporte richesse et profondeur à notre présence dans la région, une richesse et une profondeur qui témoignent des nombreux intérêts du Canada. Cette diversité est également révélatrice de certains des défis énormes auxquels nous sommes confrontés.

Notre région n'est pas étrangère aux calamités et aux catastrophes, mais ces défis, qu'il s'agisse de catastrophes naturelles comme les ouragans et les séismes, ou de défis d'origine humaine comme la criminalité, la drogue, le terrorisme et l'instabilité politique, ont une façon de révéler ce qu’il y a de meilleur en nous, quand nous unissons nos efforts pour relever ces défis et créer de nouvelles sources d'espoir pour nos populations.

Le message que nous voulons adresser aux peuples des Amériques, c'est que la meilleure voie vers la prospérité et la sécurité passe par l’ouverture des marchés et la démocratie.

Cependant, nous devons nous assurer que la démocratie porte ses fruits — c'est-à-dire des débouchés et des emplois, la sécurité et l'accès à des biens collectifs fondamentaux comme l'éducation, le transport et la santé.

Nous croyons que tout cela découle d'une saine gouvernance. Pour concrétiser l'engagement du premier ministre Harper, nous aidons les pays de la région à renforcer leurs institutions démocratiques pour les rendre plus transparentes et plus responsables envers leurs citoyens. Cela comprend des modèles de gouvernance qui ont une incidence directe sur les entreprises, par exemple les cadres réglementaires, la législation interne et la vérification.

Le commerce ne peut s'épanouir dans un climat d'insécurité. La corruption, la criminalité et la violence sont des obstacles à la création d’occasions d’affaires et d'emplois. Le Canada contribue donc activement à aider les pays de la région à renforcer leurs capacités par l'amélioration de la formation, des systèmes et des processus.

Le rôle important que joue le Canada au sein de plusieurs organismes internationaux et régionaux consolide également la paix et la sécurité dans la région. Par exemple :

  • nos contributions aux Nations Unies et à l'Organisation des États américains;
  • ou à l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé, où nous collaborons avec des pays pour renforcer leurs capacités à offrir des services de santé à leurs citoyens et à prendre des mesures efficaces pour lutter contre des pandémies potentielles;
  • le processus du Sommet des Amériques, qui réunira tous les dirigeants de l'hémisphère à Trinité-et-Tobago en avril prochain, afin d'établir une vision et un plan pour le développement de la région.

Ce genre de coopération et d'effort est absolument essentiel alors que nous sommes confrontés à une nouvelle crise — une crise économique.

La crise financière mondiale a durement frappé tous nos pays. Même si nous estimons que la plupart des pays de la région sont bien placés pour surmonter assez bien la crise, nous devons rester vigilants. Si elle n’est pas contrôlée, la crise menace d'amplifier les nombreux autres défis auxquels nous faisons face dans l'hémisphère, ce qui peut engendrer une vision isolationniste étroite.

Dès les premiers jours de la crise, le Canada a eu pour approche de mettre en garde contre le protectionnisme et l'isolationnisme — idéologies qui ont déterminé la durée et la gravité de la Grande Dépression — pour insister plutôt sur l'importance des partenariats économiques mondiaux et régionaux pour nous aider à traverser cette période difficile et à en ressortir plus forts et plus compétitifs que jamais.

C'est un message que ce gouvernement, le premier ministre Harper et ses ministres, dont le ministre du Commerce international, Stockwell Day, et le ministre des Affaires étrangères, Lawrence Cannon, ont défendu sur toutes les tribunes : à l'APEC [Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique], dans le cadre des réunions de l'initiative de la Voie vers la prospérité, au Forum économique mondial et lors de réunions bilatérales avec nos homologues dans le monde entier.

Je devrais ajouter qu'aucune nation n'est entièrement à l'abri de la « tentation protectionniste ».

Comme vous le savez, le Canada a été parmi les plus ardents opposants aux dispositions « Buy American » à l'étude au Congrès des États-Unis, dispositions qui nous semblent extrêmement protectionnistes. Le premier ministre a été l'un des premiers chefs d'État à exprimer ses préoccupations, et d'autres lui ont depuis emboîté le pas.

Nos voix ont été entendues. L'amendement approuvé par le Sénat des États-Unis comporte l'exigence que les dispositions « Buy American » respectent les obligations qui incombent aux États-Unis en vertu d'ententes internationales.

Les Américains eux-mêmes sont divisés sur la question. Pour sa part, la Chambre de commerce des États-Unis s'est prononcée fermement contre l'insertion de quelque mesure protectionniste que ce soit dans le plan de relance économique proposé. Je trouve encourageants les nombreux messages positifs qui nous viennent des États-Unis à l'égard des dispositions « Buy American » du projet de relance des États-Unis. Toutefois, le processus législatif n'est pas encore terminé. Les décisions finales sur ces mesures controversées n'ont pas encore été prises, et nous continuerons de faire valoir notre point de vue à l'Administration et aux législateurs des États-Unis.

Nos homologues du monde entier partagent les préoccupations du Canada sur cette question. Nous sommes tous d'accord que ce serait une erreur d'adopter des lois qui entraveraient la reprise économique mondiale que nous souhaitons tous.

Nous devons nous sortir ensemble de cette crise, par la croissance. Les marchés ouverts stimulent nos économies, créent des emplois et assurent la vigueur de nos pays.

Les emplois américains et les collectivités américaines dépendent des intrants canadiens, du savoir-faire canadien et des investissements canadiens. Par ailleurs, le Canada est un important acheteur de biens et de services américains. Il est clair que le Canada peut être un acteur clé de la solution aux nombreux défis intérieurs auxquels les États-Unis sont confrontés.

Nous croyons que le Canada est la nation tout indiquée pour transmettre ce message de coopération à ce moment critique que traverse l'économie mondiale. Après tout, notre économie est fondée sur le commerce. Nos emplois et notre qualité de vie en dépendent.

Notre histoire est un exemple parfait de la création d’emplois, de la prospérité et des possibilités pour la population qui résultent de l’ouverture économique, que ce soit à l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, dans le cadre de nos accords de libre-échange avec le Chili et le Costa Rica, dans le cadre de notre partenariat nord-américain avec les États-Unis et le Mexique, ou de nos relations commerciales avec d'autres nations dans le monde entier, dont l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, où nous avons tissé des liens commerciaux il y a des décennies.

Aujourd'hui, grâce à des gens comme vous, les entreprises, les produits, les services, le savoir-faire et les investissements canadiens sont présents partout dans les Amériques.

Des entreprises canadiennes figurent actuellement parmi les plus grands investisseurs en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, principalement dans les secteurs des services financiers et des industries extractives.

Comme troisième source de capitaux de la région, le Canada joue un rôle important. Je l'ai constaté moi-même au Guatemala, où les investissements canadiens dans le secteur minier sont devenus la principale source de revenus du gouvernement national.

L'investissement au Canada est aussi un facteur. L'achat récent d'Inco par la société Vale a aidé le Brésil à se classer au septième rang parmi nos principaux investisseurs étrangers en 2007. Ce fait n'est pas passé inaperçu à l'Agence de promotion des exportations du Brésil, l'APEX, qui a fait du Canada l'un de ses pays prioritaires pour l'année à venir.

Le secteur privé a bien sûr collaboré à tisser ces liens, mais le gouvernement a clairement un rôle à jouer lui aussi. La première visite du ministre Day dans la région a eu lieu au Brésil, où il a signé un nouvel accord en sciences et technologie qui créera de nouvelles possibilités d'investissement dans les technologies de pointe entre le Canada et le Brésil.

Dans toute la région, nos délégués commerciaux s’activent à établir des rapports entre nos partenaires et les entreprises canadiennes présentes dans les secteurs du commerce, de l'investissement et de l'innovation. Nos services ont pris de l’expansion au Brésil, où le gouvernement ouvre deux nouveaux bureaux, l’un à Recife, et l’autre à Porto Alegre.

Exportation et développement Canada maintient aussi une présence importante dans la région.

Pour accroître cette présence et favoriser davantage les activités commerciales, le ministre Day met de l’avant une stratégie énergique. L'an dernier, nous avons mené à bien les négociations d'un accord de libre-échange avec le Pérou et la Colombie.

Nous poursuivons aussi nos négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange avec le Panama et nous travaillons d’arrache-pied pour faire progresser les pourparlers dans ce domaine avec les pays du Groupe des quatre de l'Amérique centrale, soit le Salvador, le Honduras, le Guatemala et le Nicaragua, de même qu'avec la République dominicaine et la Communauté des Caraïbes.

Nous ouvrons de nouvelles avenues de coopération bilatérale dans le domaine de l'innovation. Au cours de la visite de la présidente [Michelle] Bachelet du Chili, celle-ci et le premier ministre ont signé un protocole d'entente en sciences et technologie.

Nous multiplions aussi les liaisons aériennes en établissant ou en améliorant des accords avec de nombreux pays de la région. De plus, nous travaillons étroitement avec Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada pour régler des problèmes cruciaux, comme la délivrance de visas et la mobilité de la main-d'oeuvre, qui ont une incidence sur les affaires.

Vous nous avez dit aussi que les liquidités posent problème. Le Canada est résolu à aider les économies émergentes et les pays en développement à obtenir l'accès au financement et aux fonds de développement dont ils ont besoin, par l'intermédiaire de dispositifs nouveaux ou existants à la Banque interaméricaine de développement [BID], au Fonds monétaire international et à la Banque mondiale.

L'automne dernier, le ministre Cannon et moi-même avons rencontré le président de la BID, M. [Luis Alberto] Moreno, qui a présenté plusieurs propositions intéressantes que nous examinons conjointement. Nous espérons pouvoir faire une annonce dans un proche avenir.

Ce que je veux souligner ici, c'est que toutes les activités d'engagement économique dans la région donnent des résultats positifs.

Selon l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, la croissance du PIB dans la région a atteint 5,6 p. 100 en 2007. Le présent ralentissement économique se répercutera probablement sur ce rendement, mais les résultats montrent qu'une décennie de discipline macroéconomique améliorée jumelée à une ouverture renouvelée au commerce et à l'investissement semble produire des assises économiques plus solides.

C'est assurément le cas pour le Canada, comme en font foi les statistiques sur nos échanges bilatéraux de biens dans la région, qui dépassent de beaucoup la moyenne mondiale. De janvier à novembre 2008, nos exportations de marchandises vers la région (sauf vers le Mexique) se sont accrues de près de 30 p. 100 comparativement à nos exportations vers le reste du monde, qui n'ont augmenté que de 7,8 p. 100.

Ce n'est toutefois pas le moment d'être complaisants. Nous pouvons et nous devrions en faire plus pour assurer notre position actuelle et future dans la région.

C'est là que vous entrez en scène.

Au fil des ans, vous avez contribué de façon importante à consolider et à améliorer les partenariats du Canada dans l'hémisphère, en augmentant le flot bilatéral du commerce et des investissements et en faisant la promotion de la culture et des valeurs des entreprises canadiennes. À certains égards, le gouvernement se met aujourd'hui au diapason de la position de chef de file que vous avez déjà établie en agissant comme ambassadeurs commerciaux du Canada dans la région.

Comme je l'ai dit au départ, le CCA est pour le gouvernement un « incubateur » essentiel d'idées en ce qui a trait à notre engagement dans la région. J'aimerais donc entendre aujourd'hui ce que vous avez à dire sur les domaines où nous devrions mettre davantage l'accent à l'avenir, en particulier compte tenu de la crise économique.

J'aimerais par exemple connaître votre opinion sur l’incidence que la crise aura sur vos projets, ou sur les projets à court et à moyen terme de vos partenaires dans la région.

J'aimerais aussi savoir ce que vous pensez de la façon dont nous pouvons tirer le plus grand profit des accords de libre-échange sur lesquels nous travaillons, et de ce que vous pouvez faire dans la région à l'appui de nos négociations.

Comme vous le savez, la négociation de ces accords n'est que la première étape. Comment pouvons-nous les rendre les plus utiles possible pour les deux parties?

Qu'en est-il des partenariats publics-privés? Ces initiatives aident-elles les entreprises canadiennes à obtenir l'accès à des marchés émergents dans les Amériques et à fonctionner avec plus de confiance et de certitude?

D'autres idées, comme celle des programmes de stages qui ouvrent à de jeunes entrepreneurs canadiens des débouchés dans la région, sont-elles vraiment prometteuses?

Ce ne sont là que quelques-uns des sujets sur lesquels j'aimerais connaître votre avis aujourd'hui.

Nous vous remercions sincèrement du leadership que vous exercez dans les Amériques. Je sais qu'en cette période de crise économique, notre collaboration deviendra encore plus importante, pour le Canada et pour nos partenaires dans toute la région.

Je vous remercie de votre travail acharné et de votre engagement soutenu à la coopération et aux partenariats en ce moment crucial.

Je vous remercie.