Notes for an Address by the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas), to the Inter-AmericanDialogue

March 16, 2009
Washington, D.C.

Check Against Delivery

It is a great pleasure to join you this morning. I welcome the opportunity to meet with distinguished members of the Inter-American Dialogue. Canada counts this organization among its most important hemispheric partners. Indeed, we share many of the same goals.

I read with interest your policy recommendations to the new U.S. administration—a document that attests to the quality of thoughtful analysis carried out by the Dialogue.

I am pleased too with the ongoing active cooperation between the Dialogue and the Canadian Foundation for the Americas, or FOCAL, our own leading Americas think tank.

I am here today to outline one of our government’s recent initiatives to help further cooperation and forge an even stronger relationship with our hemispheric partners. This is our Americas engagement, which reinforces Canada’s commitment to deepening its participation in the region.

As the region addresses the full scope of the worldwide economic downturn, this is a good time to assess how we are all acting and cooperating to bring solutions. Over the years, we have evolved together in the Americas to address problems ranging from endemic poverty and inequality to security concerns.

Canada is well placed to engage in deliberations on this issue not only by virtue of its membership in the G8 and the G20, but also because of the relevance of its economic and regulatory approach. This has made Canada one of the nations least affected by the current downturn.

As you may know, President Barack Obama recently visited Ottawa to meet with Prime Minister Stephen Harper. They agreed on the importance of close Canada-U.S. cooperation on a number of key international priorities, including achieving an economic recovery in the Americas and beyond. A follow-up to the leaders’ meeting was a bilateral visit two weeks ago by Foreign Affairs Minister Lawrence Cannon to consult with Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton. I look forward to my own consultation today with senior U.S. officials on our common interests and approach in the hemisphere.

Our two countries have agreed to work together closely in the region, including in promoting effective discussion and meaningful results at the Summit of the Americas in April.

Overview of the relationship

Canada has long-standing, rich and diverse ties with countries of the Americas. It has been forging close partnerships and commercial ties with the region as a whole for over 100 years, producing results that have been mutually beneficial.

Last year, the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean reported that Canada has become the third-largest investor in the region. Foreign direct investment from Canada into the Americas—excluding Mexico and Bermuda—now stands at $94.9 billion. That’s about three times the volume of Canadian investment in Asia. Our investments have been in a multitude of enterprises, but they have been particularly notable in the financial services and extractive sectors. Canadian banks have long had a presence in the Caribbean; they now offer stability and much-needed credit throughout the Americas. Particularly noteworthy have been the efforts of Scotiabank over the last decade. Through its determination to provide mortgage and consumer lending long absent in the region, this institution has gone a long way in what I would call democratizing access to credit.

Canadian mining and exploration companies are also on the leading edge in applying best practices of corporate social responsibility. Investment from outside the region is not always so scrupulous about matters such as labour standards, or community services and engagement. We are proud that Canadian companies serve as standard-bearers.

When I visited Guatemala in January, I found that the once-controversial Goldcorp mine has become the single-largest source of revenue for the government of that country. This shows another long-term Canadian strength: fiscal responsibility.

Until the economic downturn, our commercial relations had been on a steep growth curve. Canada’s trade with the Americas grew by 28 percent in 2008. This was due to a combination of factors, including strong demand for Canadian offerings and competitive pricing. But one of the factors, I believe, was the powerful message sent by our government about the importance of bolstering free and open markets. Certainly, Canada has been among the most active free traders in the region.

We are building on our successful free trade agreements with the United States, Mexico, Chile and Costa Rica. In 2008, Canada signed free trade agreements with Peru and Colombia. The agreements will soon be brought before Parliament for ratification. We have ongoing negotiations with Panama, the Dominican Republic, the Caribbean Community, and the Central American countries of Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua.

And our ties extend beyond mere economics. For countries marked by decades of civil conflict, Canada has been “branded” as a land of refuge. As a result, roughly 11 percent of recent immigrants to Canada are from Latin America and the Caribbean—particularly Chile, El Salvador, Jamaica and Haiti. Across Canada, there are over 70 organizations of the Latin American and Caribbean diasporas, fostering ties between our countries. Of late, Canada’s programs for seasonal migratory labour have played a significant role: they offer economic benefits and demonstrate that there is an alternative to the informal labour flows that predominate in the Americas.

The region is an increasingly popular travel destination for Canadian tourists, whose number reaches almost 4 million every year.

There are also growing academic connections. More than 80 Canadian universities and colleges have agreements with partner institutions to promote student exchanges. These further strengthen people-to-people ties between Canada and the region. For example, Canada has become the leading destination for Brazilian students studying abroad. They are building a human bridge that can only bring us closer in the future.

Latin America and the Caribbean are primary recipients of Canadian aid programs. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) disbursed $492.1 million in development assistance to the Americas in 2007-08. Major recent commitments include a $600-million investment over 10 years in the Caribbean.

Canada has a vested interest in its neighbours’ progress. Our economic success, our profound belief in democracy and the rule of law, the security of our country and our citizens within our borders and beyond—all are intricately linked with the welfare of other countries of the hemisphere. This recognition is at the core of Canada’s Americas engagement.

Americas engagement

As a committed member of the inter-American system, Canada has the opportunity and the responsibility to be active on hemispheric issues of critical importance to all countries in the region.

Our Americas engagement is focusing Canada’s efforts on three interrelated and mutually reinforcing objectives:

  • enhancing the prosperity of citizens in the region;
  • strengthening and reinforcing support for democratic governance throughout the Americas; and
  • building a safe and secure hemisphere.

Let me summarize.

Obviously prosperity has become more elusive of late, for all countries and both north and south hemispheres. Over the past six months, the economic situation has deteriorated further and faster than anyone could have predicted.

No country is immune to the powerful forces currently sweeping the globe. In fact, Canada shares many of the problems faced by its Latin American neighbours. Falling commodity prices mean shrinking exports for most of us, in turn leading to sluggish growth and rising unemployment.

Canada is faring better than most countries, but Canadians have not been spared the wrenching impact of the worldwide recession.

Despite continued economic uncertainty, it may be argued that most countries in the Americas are better prepared to weather a downturn than they were in the past. Since the 1990s, many have worked hard to improve their debt situation. They now have lower total debt ratios, reduced interest rates and decreased debt service requirements. In fact, many of these countries now enjoy fiscal surpluses.

Thanks to these efforts, many countries will be in a better position to rebound when brighter days return. And they certainly will return if we can resist the lure of short-term measures, whether populist or protectionist.

There is a risk that the current market failure will unfairly be blamed on capitalism rather than individual capitalists who acted without adequate supervision. In the region, we can detect the return of antiquated views, favouring import substitution and rejecting globalization. We must resist this. We need to identify and implement realistic solutions. For example, Canada is working with the Inter-American Development Bank on a liquidity enhancement, and I look forward to discussing this with President Luis Alberto Moreno this afternoon. In the meantime we need to contribute to repairing financial systems, ensuring that credit flows, and not only announcing but implementing expenditure programs.

Finally, we have to resist protectionism in every sense—not only tariff protectionism, but also the impact of spending measures and rescue bail-outs. These must be managed in a way that does not damage market participation in the region.

Another objective of Canada’s Americas engagement is security. The economic crisis has a clear and identifiable impact on security and governance in the region. What are the medium-term implications of reduced remittances, returning migrants, rising unemployment and falling government revenues? Some might call this set of challenges a “perfect storm.” Canada sees it as clear reason to increase its engagement in addressing security problems in the Americas.

As a result, Canada is assisting countries in the region in their efforts to strengthen law enforcement, judicial systems, disaster relief and preparedness, and health issues. Working together, we are confident we can reduce the impact of crime, drugs, terrorism, disasters and pandemics on Canadians and citizens of the Americas.

A good example of Canada’s leadership is its active role in the stabilization and reconstruction efforts in Haiti. CIDA’s annual bilateral program budget for Haiti grew fivefold in five years, from $20 million in 2003-04 to $100 million in 2007-08. That makes Canada the second-largest bilateral donor to the country.

Canada is also providing significant support for key stabilization initiatives in Haiti through its Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force. With an annual commitment of $15 million, the task force carries out a set of programs aimed at strengthening Haiti’s maritime and land borders, in support of a key priority identified in the mandate of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti. The programs in turn contribute to improving regional security.

For reasons I have noted, the Caribbean and Central America are areas that will be particularly affected by the economic downturn and attendant security risks. I saw this first-hand during my recent visits to both sub-regions, and I discussed these issues with presidents Daniel Ortega of Nicaragua, Álvaro Colom of Guatemala, Antonio Saca of El Salvador and Bharrat Jagdeo of Guyana, and with Prime Minister Patrick Manning of Trinidad and Tobago. In Nicaragua, Canada chairs the donor coordinating body, and it will assume that role next year in Honduras as well as in Guatemala. As is the case in Haiti, it is critical for donor countries to agree with the host on underlying risks and the division of responsibilities and tasks. The challenge is immense and growing, but development aid and foreign direct investment coordination may not have an impact in the short term. An evident requirement is smarter and more targeted assistance, as well as better coordination.

Canada’s commitment can also be seen in its multilateral activities. In addition to supporting the Organization of American States (OAS), it is working through the United Nations to bring peace and security to the region. Recognizing that this includes improving emergency preparedness, Canada is working through the Pan American Health Organization to strengthen countries’ capacity for delivering health services to their citizens and responding effectively to potential pandemics.

As well, last fall Canada hosted the Conference of Defence Ministers of the Americas, which was successful in advancing regional cooperation on defence matters. We also worked with our partners for the region’s first Meeting of Ministers of Public Security last year.

Canada continues to ensure that all of these various ministerial processes contribute to the upcoming Summit of the Americas. It is working very closely with Trinidad and Tobago and other regional partners to ensure that the Summit brings tangible results through a clear action plan aligned with the work of other key regional institutions.

When I was in Trinidad and Tobago last month, I met with high-ranking government officials, OAS Secretary General José Miguel Insulza and Ambassador Luis Alberto Rodriguez, the National Summit Coordinator. I reaffirmed Canada’s support for the Summit of the Americas process and our desire to see a credible Summit process that delivers measurable progress for our citizens. We favour close alignment between Summit directives and the work of the inter-American ministerial meetings and institutions, such as the OAS and the Inter-American Development Bank. To ensure follow-up and accountability, we believe the Summit should be held on a regular, predictable basis—every three years.

The April Summit will be the first for some 20 hemispheric leaders, including Prime Minister Harper and President Obama. We must seize the moment to revitalize hemispheric cooperation and focus on the many challenges facing the region.

The Summit provides a rare opportunity for leaders throughout the Americas to agree on a common hemispheric approach to pressing issues, such as the global economic crisis. Equally important, our countries can take joint action on other shared interests, including energy, the environment, and strengthening democratic governance, security and prosperity.

Conclusion

I believe there is every reason for optimism, notwithstanding the current economic climate.

By pursuing this model of partnership, I have no doubt that together we can strengthen hemispheric cooperation in support of peace, security and development—and produce long-term results that will benefit us all.

Thank you.

Notes pour une allocution du ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques), l’honorable Peter Kent, devant les membres du Dialogue interaméricain

Le 16 mars 2009
Washington, D.C.

Sous réserve de modifications

Je suis heureux d’être parmi vous ce matin et d’avoir l’occasion de rencontrer d’éminents membres du Dialogue interaméricain. Le Canada compte cette organisation parmi ses plus importants partenaires au sein de l’hémisphère occidental et nous avons effectivement plusieurs objectifs communs.

J’ai lu avec intérêt vos recommandations stratégiques à l’intention du nouveau gouvernement américain. Ce document témoigne de la qualité et du sérieux de l’analyse effectuée par le Dialogue.

Je me réjouis aussi de la collaboration active et soutenue entre le Dialogue et la Fondation canadienne pour les Amériques, la FOCAL, notre propre groupe de réflexion consacré aux Amériques.

Je suis ici aujourd’hui pour présenter les grandes lignes de l’une des initiatives prises récemment par notre gouvernement pour faire progresser la collaboration avec nos partenaires hémisphériques et consolider davantage nos relations avec eux. Il s’agit de l’engagement du Canada envers les Amériques, un engagement qui témoigne de sa volonté d’accroître sa participation dans l’hémisphère.

Les pays du continent américain agissent devant l’ampleur du ralentissement économique mondial; aussi, le moment est opportun pour évaluer notre façon de travailler et de collaborer en vue de trouver des solutions. Dans le passé, nous avons su affronter ensemble une panoplie de problèmes touchant les pays de la région, depuis la pauvreté et l’inégalité endémiques jusqu’à la sécurité.

Le Canada est bien placé pour se prononcer sur cette question, non seulement en raison de son appartenance au G8 et au G20, mais aussi à cause de la pertinence de son régime financier et réglementaire. C’est d’ailleurs ce régime qui fait que le Canada est l’un des pays les moins durement touchés par le ralentissement actuel.

Comme vous le savez sans doute, le président Barack Obama s’est rendu récemment à Ottawa pour rencontrer le premier ministre Stephen Harper. Ils ont convenu de l’importance d’une étroite collaboration entre le Canada et les États-Unis sur certaines priorités internationales, notamment la nécessité de relancer l’économie dans les Amériques et ailleurs. Cette rencontre des deux dirigeants a été suivie par une visite bilatérale du ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, [l’honorable] Lawrence Cannon, qui a rencontré la secrétaire d’État Hillary Rodham Clinton, il y a deux semaines. Pour ma part, je me réjouis à la perspective de m’entretenir aujourd’hui avec de hauts représentants du gouvernement américain au sujet de notre approche et de nos intérêts communs dans les Amériques.

Nos deux pays ont convenu de collaborer étroitement dans la région, notamment afin de promouvoir la tenue de discussions fructueuses et la réalisation de progrès tangibles au Sommet des Amériques qui aura lieu en avril.

Vue d’ensemble des relations entre le Canada et les Amériques

Le Canada entretient depuis longtemps des rapports enrichissants et diversifiés avec les pays des Amériques. Voilà déjà plus d’un siècle qu’il tisse des partenariats et des liens commerciaux étroits avec la région dans son ensemble, ce qui a donné des résultats mutuellement avantageux.

La Commission économique pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes a fait savoir l’an dernier que le Canada est maintenant le troisième investisseur en importance dans la région. La valeur de l’investissement étranger direct du Canada dans les Amériques, à l’exclusion du Mexique et des Bermudes, s’élève maintenant à 94,9 milliards de dollars. Cela représente environ trois fois le volume des investissements canadiens en Asie. Ce montant est dirigé vers une multitude d’entreprises, mais les investissements dans les services financiers et le secteur de l’extraction occupent une place de choix. Les banques canadiennes, qui comptent une présence de longue date dans les Antilles, sont aujourd’hui une source de stabilité et de crédit dont les Amériques ont bien besoin. Il convient particulièrement de signaler les efforts déployés par la Banque Scotia depuis 10 ans. Grâce à sa détermination à offrir des prêts hypothécaires et des crédits à la consommation, longtemps inaccessibles dans la région, cette société bancaire a beaucoup fait pour démocratiser l’accès au crédit.

Les compagnies canadiennes d’exploration et d’extraction minière sont également à la fine pointe de l’application des pratiques exemplaires de responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Les investisseurs qui viennent de l’extérieur de la région ne sont pas toujours respectueux de questions comme les normes de travail ou le principe de l’engagement et du service communautaires. Nous sommes fiers de voir que les entreprises canadiennes jouent un rôle de leaders à cet égard.

Lors de ma visite au Guatemala en janvier, j’ai noté que la mine Goldcorp, qui a fait l’objet de controverses dans le passé, est devenue pour le gouvernement de ce pays la source de revenus la plus importante. Cela témoigne d’un autre atout canadien à long terme : la responsabilité financière.

Avant la récente contraction de l’économie, nos relations commerciales affichaient une croissance rapide. En 2008, nos échanges avec les Amériques ont augmenté de 28 p. 100. Cela s’explique par la convergence de plusieurs facteurs, y compris l’attrait des produits et services canadiens et la compétitivité des prix de vente. Parmi ces facteurs, il faut également mentionner la détermination de notre gouvernement à faire valoir l’importance de soutenir des marchés libres et ouverts. Il ne fait aucun doute, en effet, que le Canada compte parmi les pays de la région qui attachent le plus d’importance à la libéralisation des échanges.

Nous poursuivons sur la lancée des accords de libre-échange fructueux que nous avons conclus avec les États-Unis, le Mexique, le Chili et le Costa Rica. En 2008, le Canada a signé avec le Pérou et la Colombie des accords analogues qui seront soumis sous peu au Parlement en vue de leur ratification. Des négociations sont en cours avec le Panama, la République dominicaine, la Communauté des Caraïbes et les quatre autres pays de l’Amérique centrale, c’est-à-dire le Guatemala, le Honduras, le Nicaragua et le Salvador.

Ces liens débordent par ailleurs le seul domaine des rapports commerciaux. Aux yeux de ces pays marqués par des décennies de conflits civils, le Canada représente en effet une terre d’asile. Ainsi, environ 11 p. 100 des immigrants récents au Canada sont originaires de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, notamment du Chili, du Salvador, de la Jamaïque et d’Haïti. On trouve au Canada plus de 70 organisations appartenant à la diaspora latino-américaine et antillaise, ce qui contribue à renforcer les liens entre nos pays. Les programmes canadiens qui s’adressent aux travailleurs migrants saisonniers ont fait leur marque ces dernières années : non seulement sont-ils la source d’avantages économiques certains, mais ils montrent que les flux migratoires informels qui jouent un rôle si important à travers les Amériques ne sont pas la seule approche envisageable.

Les Amériques représentent aussi une destination de voyage de plus en plus populaire auprès des touristes canadiens. Leur nombre atteint près de quatre millions par année.

Les liens se multiplient également dans le domaine de l’enseignement. Plus de 80 universités et collèges canadiens ont conclu avec des établissements partenaires des ententes visant à encourager les échanges d’étudiants. Ces échanges contribuent encore davantage à resserrer les liens entre les Canadiens et leurs voisins de l’hémisphère occidental. Par exemple, le Canada est devenu la première destination des jeunes Brésiliens qui étudient à l’étranger. Ces derniers érigent ainsi entre nos deux pays un pont humain qui ne peut que nous rapprocher dans l’avenir.

L’Amérique latine et les Antilles sont aussi les principaux bénéficiaires de l’aide canadienne. En 2007-2008, l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a versé 492,1 millions de dollars au titre de l’aide au développement dans les Amériques. Parmi les engagements annoncés dernièrement, mentionnons un investissement de 600 millions réparti sur 10 ans dans les Antilles.

Le Canada a un intérêt direct dans les progrès que réalisent ses voisins. Notre succès économique, notre foi profonde en la démocratie et la primauté du droit, et la sécurité nationale et personnelle de nos citoyens, tant au pays même qu’au-delà de nos frontières, sont autant d’éléments qui sont étroitement liés au bien-être des autres pays du continent. Ce constat est au cœur de l’engagement du Canada à l’égard des Amériques.

L’engagement envers les Amériques

À titre de membre à part entière du système interaméricain, le Canada a la possibilité et la responsabilité de contribuer activement aux dossiers hémisphériques qui revêtent une importance cruciale pour tous les pays du continent.

Notre engagement envers les Amériques oriente les efforts du Canada vers trois objectifs interreliés qui se renforcent mutuellement :

  • accroître la prospérité de la population de la région;
  • renforcer et consolider les appuis à la gouvernance démocratique à travers les Amériques;
  • contribuer à la sécurité des personnes et des collectivités dans tout le continent.

Permettez-moi de résumer ce que cela signifie.

Bien sûr, la prospérité est un idéal plus difficile à atteindre depuis quelque temps, et ce, dans tous les pays, tant ceux de l’hémisphère nord que de l’hémisphère sud. Au cours des six derniers mois, la conjoncture économique s’est dégradée plus rapidement et plus profondément qu’on aurait pu le prévoir.

Aucun pays n’est à l’abri de la puissante vague qui déferle actuellement sur la planète. En effet, le Canada est aux prises avec bon nombre des mêmes problèmes que ceux qui confrontent ses voisins latino-américains. La chute des prix des matières premières engendre une baisse des exportations pour la plupart d’entre nous, ce qui mène à une croissance anémique et une hausse du chômage.

Le Canada se tire mieux d’affaire que la plupart des autres pays, mais les Canadiens n’ont pas pour autant été épargnés par les lourdes conséquences de la récession mondiale.

En dépit de l’incertitude économique persistante, on peut affirmer que la plupart des pays des Amériques sont mieux préparés que par le passé pour affronter les effets d’un ralentissement économique. Depuis les années 1990, plusieurs d’entre eux ont réalisé des efforts considérables pour réduire leur endettement, de sorte que les coefficients d’endettement globaux sont moins élevés, les taux d’intérêt ont baissé et les charges du service de la dette ont diminué. En fait, bon nombre de ces pays affichent maintenant des excédents budgétaires.

Grâce à ces efforts, plusieurs pays seront mieux placés pour rebondir lorsque reviendront des jours meilleurs. Il est certain, en effet, que les perspectives ne peuvent que s’améliorer, dans la mesure où nous saurons résister à la tentation des mesures à courte vue, qu’elles soient populistes ou protectionnistes.

À cet égard, on risque d’attribuer à tort l’échec actuel du marché au capitalisme plutôt qu’aux agissements de certains capitalistes qui se sont prévalu d’un régime de surveillance inadéquat. Dans les Amériques, on peut constater le retour d’idées désuètes qui favorisent la substitution des importations et le rejet de la mondialisation. Il importe de résister à ces tendances et de définir et appliquer des solutions réalistes. Ainsi, le Canada collabore avec la Banque interaméricaine de développement au sujet d’une facilité destinée à augmenter les liquidités, et je suis réjouis à l’idée d’en discuter cet après-midi avec le président de la Banque, M. Luis Alberto Moreno. Entre-temps, nous devons nous employer à remettre les systèmes financiers sur les rails, à veiller à ce que les instruments de crédit soient largement disponibles et à mettre les programmes de dépenses à exécution plutôt que de se limiter à les annoncer.

Enfin, nous devons résister au protectionnisme dans tous les sens du terme. Je ne fais pas uniquement allusion à la protection tarifaire, mais aussi aux répercussions des mesures de dépenses et des plans de sauvetage. Il importe de gérer ces initiatives de façon à ne pas causer des préjudices à la participation aux échanges commerciaux dans les Amériques.

Les enjeux relatifs à la sécurité représentent un autre objectif de l’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques. La crise économique a des conséquences manifestes sur la sécurité et la gouvernance dans la région. Quelles sont les répercussions à moyen terme de la baisse des remises des migrants, de leur retour au pays d’origine, de la hausse du chômage et de la diminution des recettes publiques? Certains sont tentés de donner le nom de « tempête parfaite » à cet ensemble de difficultés, mais le Canada y voit plutôt une raison tout indiquée pour accroître son engagement à s’attaquer aux problèmes de sécurité dans les Amériques.

C’est pourquoi le Canada appuie les efforts déployés par les pays de la région en vue de renforcer la répression des activités criminelles, les systèmes judiciaires, les dispositifs de préparation aux catastrophes et de prestation de secours, ainsi que les solutions aux problèmes de santé. En travaillant de façon concertée, nous sommes convaincus que nous pourront atténuer les effets de la criminalité, du trafic des stupéfiants, du terrorisme, des catastrophes et des pandémies sur les Canadiens et sur tous les citoyens des Amériques.

Le rôle actif joué par le Canada dans les efforts de stabilisation et de reconstruction en Haïti est un bon exemple du leadership exercé par notre pays. Le budget du programme bilatéral de l’ACDI pour Haïti a quintuplé, passant de 20 millions de dollars par année en 2003-2004 à 100 millions par année en 2007-2008. Le Canada est ainsi le deuxième donateur bilatéral à ce pays.

Le Canada offre aussi un soutien important à des initiatives stratégiques de stabilisation en Haïti par l’entremise de son Groupe de travail pour la stabilisation et la reconstruction. Doté d’une enveloppe annuelle de 15 millions de dollars, ce groupe administre un ensemble de programmes visant à renforcer les frontières maritimes et terrestres d’Haïti, appuyant en cela une priorité énoncée dans le mandat confié à la Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti. Ces programmes contribuent en outre à rehausser la sécurité régionale.

Pour les raisons que j’ai mentionnées, l’Amérique centrale et les Antilles seront particulièrement touchées par le ralentissement de l’économie et les risques pour la sécurité qui en découlent. J’ai pu le constater directement au cours de mes récentes visites dans les deux sous-régions, et j’ai discuté de ces problèmes avec les présidents Daniel Ortega du Nicaragua, Álvaro Colom du Guatemala, Antonio Saca du Salvador et Bharrat Jagdeo du Guyana, ainsi qu’avec le premier ministre Patrick Manning de Trinité-et-Tobago. Au Nicaragua, le Canada préside l’organe de coordination des donateurs, un rôle qu’il assumera également l’an prochain au Honduras et au Guatemala. Comme c’est le cas en Haïti, il est crucial que les pays donateurs s’entendent avec le pays hôte sur les risques sous-jacents et sur le partage des tâches et des responsabilités. Le défi est immense et continue de croître; mais les bienfaits engendrés par la coordination de l’aide au développement et de l’investissement étranger direct ne se feront peut-être pas sentir à court terme. À l’évidence, il faut que l’aide aide soit plus pointue et mieux ciblée, et que la coordination s’améliore.

L’engagement du Canada est également tangible dans ses activités multilatérales. En plus d’appuyer l’Organisation des États américains (OEA), il œuvre au sein des Nations Unies pour établir la paix et la sécurité dans la région. Conscient du fait que cette action doit englober la planification d’urgence, le Canada collabore avec l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé pour renforcer la capacité des pays à fournir des services de santé à leurs citoyens et à réagir de manière efficace en cas d’éventuelles pandémies.

De plus, l’automne dernier, le Canada a été l’hôte de la Conférence des ministres de la Défense des Amériques, une rencontre fructueuse qui a fait progresser la coopération régionale relativement aux questions de défense. L’an dernier, il a collaboré aussi avec ses partenaires à l’occasion de la première réunion des ministres de la sécurité publique de la région.

Le Canada continue de veiller à ce que l’ensemble de ces processus ministériels viennent appuyer le prochain Sommet des Amériques. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec Trinité-et-Tobago et d’autres partenaires régionaux pour s’assurer que le Sommet engendrera des résultats tangibles, grâce à un plan d’action clair et harmonisé avec le travail d’autres institutions régionales clés.

Lors de ma visite à Trinité-et-Tobago, le mois dernier, j’ai rencontré plusieurs hauts fonctionnaires gouvernementaux, ainsi que le secrétaire général de l’OEA, M. José Miguel Insulza, et le coordonnateur national du Sommet, l’ambassadeur Luis Alberto Rodriguez. J’ai réitéré le soutien du Canada au processus du Sommet des Amériques et exprimé notre désir qu’un processus crédible donne lieu à des progrès mesurables pour les citoyens du continent. Le Canada privilégie une concordance étroite entre les directives du Sommet et le travail effectué lors des réunions ministérielles interaméricaines et dans des institutions comme l’OEA et la Banque interaméricaine de développement. Pour assurer un suivi et une reddition de comptes adéquats, le Canada estime que le Sommet devrait avoir lieu selon un échéancier régulier et prévisible, soit tous les trois ans.

Le Sommet d’avril sera le premier exercice du genre pour quelque 20 dirigeants des pays du continent, y compris le premier ministre Harper et le président Obama. Nous devons saisir cette occasion pour revitaliser la coopération interaméricaine et nous concentrer sur les nombreux défis auxquels la région est confrontée. Le Sommet offre aux leaders des Amériques une rare occasion de convenir d’une approche commune, à l’échelle du continent, des dossiers les plus urgents, telle la crise économique mondiale. De façon tout aussi importante, nos pays peuvent engager une action conjointe dans d’autres secteurs d’intérêt commun : l’énergie, l’environnement, le renforcement de la gouvernance démocratique, la sécurité et la prospérité, notamment.

Conclusion

Je crois qu’il y a tout lieu d’être optimiste, malgré le climat économique actuel.

En adoptant ce modèle de partenariat, j’ai la conviction qu’ensemble, nous pouvons renforcer la coopération interaméricaine en faveur de la paix, de la sécurité et du développement, et produire des résultats à long terme qui seront avantageux pour nous tous.

Je vous remercie.