Minister Van Loan to Promote Canada’s Commercial Strengths to Foreign Investors

(No. A/32 - February 19, 2010) The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade, will promote Canada as a key investment destination to the participants of the Global Business Leaders Day on Monday, February 22, 2010.

Minister Van Loan will seize this opportunity to showcase Canada’s commercial strengths and competitive advantages to foreign business leaders from around the world. This signature event is part of a larger program called the Global Business Leaders Initiative, taking place during the Olympic Games to attract investors.

During his remarks, Minister Van Loan will speak about Canada’s many global advantages and opportunities for foreign investors, including its sound banking system, competitive business taxes and enviable quality of life.

The Global Business Leaders Day will engage top investment prospects, high-level foreign executives from multinational companies currently invested in Canada, Canadian business leaders and key government leaders.

Event: Speech (open to media)
Date:
Monday, February 22, 2010
Time:
9:45 a.m. PT for set up; speech scheduled for 10:10 a.m. PT
Location: Terminal City Club, 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, B.C.

Please register for this event by calling 613-996-2000.

For more information, please contact:

Monika Bujalska
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Trade
613-992-9304

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-996-2000

Le ministre Van Loan fait valoir les atouts commerciaux du Canada auprès d’investisseurs étrangers

(No A/32 – 19 février 2010) Le ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, fera valoir les atouts du Canada comme destination d’investissement de premier ordre devant les participants de la Journée des dirigeants d’entreprise de calibre mondial, qui aura lieu le lundi 22 février 2010.

À cette occasion, le ministre Van Loan mettra en lumière les forces commerciales et les avantages compétitifs qu’offre le Canada devant un auditoire composé de chefs d’entreprise étrangers de tous les coins du globe. Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un programme plus large, l’Initiative pour les dirigeants d’entreprise de calibre mondial, qui se tient durant les Jeux olympiques dans le but d’attirer les investisseurs.

Dans son discours, le ministre Van Loan parlera des nombreux avantages et débouchés que le Canada offre sur la scène mondiale aux investisseurs étrangers, notamment un système bancaire solide, une fiscalité compétitive pour les entreprises et une qualité de vie enviable.

La Journée des dirigeants d’entreprise de calibre mondial regroupera des investisseurs potentiels d’envergure mondiale, de hauts dirigeants d’entreprises multinationales ayant déjà des intérêts au Canada, des dirigeants d’entreprises canadiennes et des dirigeants gouvernementaux clés.

Événement : Discours (ouvert aux médias)
Date : Le lundi 22 février 2010
Heure : 9 h 45 HP pour la mise en place, discours prévu pour 10 h 10 HP
Endroit : Terminal City Club, 837, rue Hastings Ouest, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Les représentants des médias sont priés de s’inscrire à l’événement en composant le 613-996-2000.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Monika Bujalska
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Commerce international
613-992-9304

Le Service des relations avec les médias (commerce)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-996-2000