International Trade Minister to Visit Latin America

Minister Van Loan will promote Canada’s commercial engagement in priority markets

(No. A/134 – August 20, 2010) The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade, will travel to Chile, Argentina, Colombia and Costa Rica starting on Monday, August 23, 2010. This visit by the International Trade Minister follows quickly on the passage of the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement by Canada’s Parliament.

In less than four years, the Government of Canada has created opportunities for Canadian businesses in Latin America by concluding new free trade agreements with Colombia, Peru and Panama. In addition, Canada has free trade agreements with Chile and Costa Rica. Canada also has a number of other free trade-related initiatives currently under way in the region.

During the visit, Minister Van Loan will meet with government representatives and key industry members to promote Canada’s commercial and economic interests. He will also use the opportunity to reaffirm Canada’s engagement in Latin America and continue promoting Canada’s free trade and investment agenda to create new opportunities for Canadian businesses.

For more information, please contact:

Monika Bujalska
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Peter Van Loan
Minister of International Trade
613-992-9304

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-996-2000

Le ministre du Commerce international se rendra en Amérique latine

Le ministre Van Loan fera la promotion de l’engagement commercial du Canada dans les marchés prioritaires

(No A/134 - Le 20 août 2010) Le ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, se rendra au Chili, en Argentine, en Colombie et au Costa Rica, à compter du lundi 23 août 2010. Cette visite par le ministre du Commerce international survient rapidement après l’adoption de l'Entente Canada-Colombie de libre-échange par le Parlement du Canada.

En moins de quatre ans, le gouvernement du Canada a créé des débouchés en Amérique latine pour les entreprises canadiennes en concluant de nouveaux accords de libre‑échange avec la Colombie, le Pérou et le Panama. De plus, le Canada dispose d'accords de libre-échange avec le Chili et le Costa Rica. D’autres initiatives canadiennes liées au libre-échange sont également en cours dans la région.

Au cours de cette visite, le ministre Van Loan rencontrera des représentants du gouvernement et des membres influents du milieu de l'industrie pour promouvoir les intérêts commerciaux et économiques du Canada. Il profitera également de l’occasion pour réaffirmer l'engagement du Canada en Amérique latine et continuer à faire valoir le programme de libre-échange et d’investissement du Canada dans le but de créer de nouveaux débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Monika Bujalska
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l’honorable Peter Van Loan
Ministre du Commerce international
613-992-9304

Le Service des relations avec les médias (commerce)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-996-2000