Minister Van Loan to Visit Washington, D.C.

Canada-U.S. ties strengthened by talks on the future of our trade relationship

(No. A/67 – April 21, 2010) The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade, will be visiting Washington, D.C., from April 22 to 23, 2010, to meet with his counterpart, U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) Ronald Kirk, as well as with senior government officials and representatives from business associations.

Minister Van Loan will build on the success of the waivers that Canada achieved in the recent agreement on “Buy American,” which gives Canadian companies access to projects under the U.S. Recovery Act and provides permanent access to most state-level government procurement in the United States.

The government is doing this for Canadian businesses when they need it most.

The following events will be open to media:

Event: Photo opportunity (with Minister Van Loan and USTR Kirk)
Date:
Thursday, April 22, 2010
Time:
2 p.m. ET
Location:
Office of the USTR, 600 17th Street NW (main entrance), Washington, D.C.

Note: This availability is open to photographers only. Working media photographers must RSVP to Amanda Scott at AScott@ustr.eop.gov by Thursday, April 22, 2010 at 10 a.m. Please provide the name of the photographer and the media outlet. Photographers should plan to clear security and be in place by 1:45 p.m.

Event: Press conference
Date:
Friday, April 23, 2010
Time:
10:30 a.m. ET
Location:
Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C., Media Centre, 501 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C.

Note: Media representatives wishing to participate by phone are asked to use one of the following call-in numbers: 613-954-4096 (local or international calls) or 1-877-413-4793 (North America). Please provide the following title for the call: Minister Van Loan media availability.

For more information, please contact:

Monika Bujalska
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Peter Van Loan
Minister of International Trade
613-992-9304

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-996-2000

Le ministre Van Loan se rendra à Washington D.C.

Les entretiens sur l’avenir des relations commerciales canado-américaines renforcent les liens entre les deux pays

(No A/67 - Le 21 avril 2010) Le ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, se rendra à Washington D.C., les 22 et 23 avril 2010 pour rencontrer son homologue américain, le représentant au Commerce, M. Ronald Kirk, ainsi que des hauts fonctionnaires et des groupes d’affaires.

Le ministre Van Loan s’appuiera sur le succès remporté par le Canada à propos de l’exemption aux dispositions « Buy American », qui permet aux entreprises canadiennes d’avoir accès aux projets entrepris en vertu de la loi américaine sur le redressement (U.S. Recovery Act) et confère un accès permanent à une grande partie des marchés publics des États américains.

Le gouvernement fait tout ceci pour le bénéfice des entreprises canadiennes au moment où elles en ont le plus besoin.

Les activités suivantes seront accessibles aux représentants des médias :

Événement : Séance de photo (avec le ministre Van Loan et le représentant américain au Commerce Kirk)
Date : Le jeudi 22 avril 2010
Heure : 14 h HE
Endroit : Bureau du représentant américain au Commerce, 600 17th Street NW (entrée principale), Washington D.C.

Nota : Cette séance de photo est réservée aux photographes. Les photographes des médias doivent confirmer leur présence auprès d’Amanda Scott à l’adresse AScott@ustr.eop.gov d’ici le jeudi 22 avril 2010 à 10 h. Veuillez indiquer le nom du photographe et de l’organe de presse concerné. Les photographes seront soumis à l’inspection de sécurité et devront être en place à 13 h 45 au plus tard.

Événement : Conférence de presse
Date : Le vendredi 23 avril 2010
Heure : 10 h 30 HE
Endroit : Ambassade du Canada à Washington, Centre des médias, 501 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington D.C.

Nota : Les représentants des médias qui désirent prendre part à cet événement par téléphone sont priés d’appeler le 613-954-4096 (appels locaux ou internationaux) ou le 877-413-4793 (Amérique du Nord) et de mentionner le titre suivant pour cet appel : « Le ministre Van Loan rencontre les médias ».

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Monika Bujalska
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l’honorable Peter Van Loan
Ministre du Commerce international
613-992-9304

Le Service des relations avec les médias (commerce)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-996-2000