This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

March 10, 2009 (1:40 p.m. EDT)
No. 64

Minister Day Announces Appointments to Board of Directors of Export Development Canada

The Honourable Stockwell Day, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today announced the appointments of Jacques Boivin and Herbert M. Clarke to the Board of Directors of Export Development Canada (EDC).

“Mr. Boivin and Mr. Clarke have substantial financial and legal expertise in both the private and public sectors,” said Minister Day. “Their broad experience will help EDC take on future opportunities and challenges.”

Mr. Boivin is a lawyer with Beauvais Truchon, where he specializes in mergers, corporate acquisitions, sales and financing. He has also served as an instructor at the École du Barreau (Quebec Bar School).

Mr. Clarke is president of HMC Associates Ltd., a private consulting and investment firm. Previously, he served as Newfoundland and Labrador’s clerk of the Executive Council and secretary to Cabinet, the most senior position in the province’s public service.

EDC is Canada’s export credit agency, offering innovative commercial solutions to help Canadian exporters and investors expand their international business. EDC’s knowledge and partnerships are used by more than 8,300 Canadian companies and their global customers in up to 200 markets worldwide each year. EDC is financially self-sustaining and is a recognized leader in financial reporting and economic analysis. It has been named one of Canada’s top 100 employers by Maclean’s magazine for eight consecutive years.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Mélisa Leclerc
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada