This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada Formally Joins Trans-Pacific Partnership

October 9, 2012 - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, regional minister for British Columbia, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, who is leading a trade mission to the Middle East, today announced that Canada has formally joined the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) trade negotiations.

“Canada is pleased to be formally joining the TPP negotiations,” said Minister Fast. “Joining the TPP is good news for hard-working Canadian families. Opening new markets and increasing Canadian exports to fast-growing markets throughout the Asia-Pacific region is a key part of our government’s plan to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity. We look forward to helping develop a 21st-century agreement that advances Canadian interests.”

The TPP is a trade agreement, under negotiation by 11 countries, which now includes Canada and Mexico. The other members are Australia, Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam. Canada’s formal entry into the negotiations follows the completion of domestic consultations, which all TPP members are required to undertake before approving new members.

“Joining the TPP is an important step forward in our government’s active and growing presence in the Asia-Pacific region,” said Minister Moore. “The region is a priority market for Canadian businesses, offering enormous opportunities to our exporters.”

With Canada and Mexico, the TPP market represents more than 658 million people and a combined GDP of $20.5 trillion.

In less than six years, the Harper government has concluded trade agreements with nine countries: Colombia, Honduras, Jordan, Panama, Peru, and the European Free Trade Association member states of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Canada has also begun deepening trade and investment ties with the largest markets in the world, including the European Union, India and Japan.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Adam Taylor
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Ed Fast
Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway

Trade Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @Canada_Trade