Minister Aglukkaq to Visit Arctic Council States

January 14 to 22, 2013 - The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and Minister for the Arctic Council, will travel to Iceland, Denmark, Finland and Norway from January 14 to 22, 2013, in advance of Canada’s two-year chairmanship of the Arctic Council. Minister Aglukkaq will participate in bilateral meetings in each country and in Norway will speak at a conference on the Arctic.

The overarching theme for Canada’s chairmanship will be Development for the People of the North, with sub-themes of Responsible Arctic Resource Development, Safe Arctic Shipping, and Sustainable Circumpolar Communities.

Minister Aglukkaq will begin her trip in Reykjavik, then travel to Copenhagen.

The Minister will continue on to Helsinki before her final stop in Tromsø, Norway, where she will deliver a speech at the Arctic Frontiers Conference.

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum through which Canada advances its Arctic foreign policy and promotes national interests across all four pillars of Canada’s Northern Strategy:

  • exercising Canada’s Arctic sovereignty;
  • promoting social and economic development;
  • protecting Canada’s environmental heritage; and
  • improving and devolving governance

Media Room

La ministre Aglukkaq visitera des États membres du Conseil de l’Arctique

Du 14 au 22 janvier 2012 - La ministre de la Santé, ministre de l’Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord et ministre du Conseil de l’Arctique, l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, visitera l’Islande, le Danemark, la Finlande et la Norvège du 14 au 22 janvier 2013, en prévision du mandat de deux ans à la présidence du Conseil de l’Arctique que le Canada s’apprête à assumer. La ministre Aglukkaq participera à des rencontres bilatérales dans chacun de ces pays et prendra la parole à une conférence sur l’Arctique, en Norvège.

Le thème principal de la présidence canadienne sera Le développement au service de la population du Nord, assorti des sous-thèmes suivants : L’exploitation responsable des ressources de l’Arctique; La navigation sécuritaire dans l’Arctique; et Des collectivités circumpolaires durables.

La ministre Aglukkaq entreprendra sa visite à Reykjavik, en Islande, pour se rendre ensuite à Copenhague, au Danemark.

La ministre Aglukkaq poursuivra son itinéraire à Helsinki, en Finlande, avant son dernier arrêt à Tromsø, en Norvège, où elle prononcera une allocution à la conférence Frontières de l’Arctique.

Le Conseil de l’Arctique est le principal forum intergouvernemental au sein duquel le Canada met en œuvre sa politique étrangère sur l’Arctique et fait la promotion des intérêts nationaux liés aux quatre piliers de la Stratégie pour le Nord du Canada, soit :

  • exercer la souveraineté du Canada dans l’Arctique;
  • promouvoir le développement social et économique;
  • protéger le patrimoine naturel du Canada;
  • améliorer et décentraliser la gouvernance dans le Nord

Salle de presse