The Honourable Christian Paradis

Minister of International Development and La Francophonie

Mégantic-L'Érable (Quebec)

Christian Paradis was first elected to the House of Commons on January 23, 2006, as the Member of Parliament for the riding of Megantic–L'Érable. He was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Natural Resources on February 7, 2006, and subsequently appointed to the Cabinet as Secretary of State (Agriculture) on January 4, 2007.

On June 25, 2008, he was appointed Minister of Public Works and Government Services, while remaining Secretary of State (Agriculture). In October 2008, he was re-elected MP for Mégantic–L'Érable for a second term. On October 30, 2008, he was appointed Minister of Public Works and Government Services, Minister responsible for the Montreal region and the Prime Minister's Quebec political lieutenant.

On January 19, 2010, he was appointed Minister of Natural Resources, all the while keeping his responsibilities of Quebec lieutenant to the Prime Minister and Minister Responsible for Montreal. On May 2, 2011, voters in Mégantic—L'Érable sent Mr. Paradis to the House of Commons for a third term. On May 18, 2011, he became Minister of Industry and Minister of State (Agriculture).

On July 15, 2013, he became Minister of International Development and La Francophonie.

Mr. Paradis studied law and practised corporate law for a number of years in his hometown of Thetford Mines. Very active in his community at the grassroots level, he has been involved in various organizations, including the Amiante chapter of the Management Club of Canada, the Rotary Club and the Amiante Chamber of Commerce and Industry. There is no doubt that Christian Paradis is deeply committed to achieving a higher profile for his region and ensuring its advancement and development. Christian Paradis is married to Julie Roberge and has three children: Charles, Gilbert and Sophie.

L'honorable Christian Paradis

Ministre du Développement international et de La Francophonie

Mégantic-L'Érable (Québec)

Christian Paradis a fait son entrée à la Chambre des communes le 23 janvier 2006. Élu député de la circonscription de Mégantic—L'Érable, il a d'abord été nommé secrétaire parlementaire au ministère des Ressources naturelles le 7 février 2006, avant d'être nommé au Conseil des ministres à titre de secrétaire d'État (Agriculture) le 4 janvier 2007.

Le 25 juin 2008, il a été nommé ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux tout en conservant ses responsabilités de secrétaire d'État (Agriculture). Il a été réélu député de Mégantic—L'Érable en octobre 2008 pour un second mandat. Le 30 octobre 2008, il a été nommé ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux, ministre responsable de la région de Montréal et lieutenant politique du premier ministre pour le Québec.

Le 19 janvier 2010, il est nommé ministre des Ressources naturelles en plus de ses responsabilités de lieutenant politique du premier ministre pour le Québec et de ministre responsable de la région de Montréal. Le 2 mai 2011, Christian Paradis se voit confier un troisième mandat de député par les électeurs de Mégantic—L'Érable. Le 18 mai 2011, il devient ministre de l'Industrie et ministre d'État (Agriculture).

Le 15 juillet 2013, il a été nommé ministre du Développement international et de La Francophonie.

Avocat de formation, Christian Paradis a auparavant œuvré dans le domaine du droit corporatif pendant plusieurs années dans sa ville natale de Thetford Mines. Très impliqué dans sa communauté, il a toujours été présent dans son milieu, que ce soit au sein du Club d'administration, chapitre Amiante, au Club Rotary ou encore à la Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de l'amiante. Il ne fait donc aucun doute que Christian Paradis a à cœur l'avancement, le développement et le rayonnement de sa région. Christian Paradis est marié à Julie Roberge et est père de trois enfants : Charles, Gilbert et Sophie.