The Honourable John Baird

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Ottawa West-Nepean (Ontario)

John Baird was first elected to the House of Commons in 2006 and re-elected in 2008 and 2011. In February 2006, Mr. Baird was sworn in as President of the Treasury Board. In this role, he introduced and successfully steered the new Federal Accountability Act through both Houses of Parliament. In January 2007, he was named Minister of the Environment and, in October 2008, he became Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, where he spearheaded the design, negotiation and delivery of some 12,000 infrastructure stimulus projects across the country. In August 2010, he was named Leader of the Government in the House of Commons. From November 2010 to January 2011, he undertook additional responsibilities as Minister of the Environment. He was named to his current portfolio following the federal election of May 2011.

Prior to entering federal politics, Mr. Baird was a member of Ontario’s provincial legislature, where he represented the constituency of Nepean-Carleton from 1995 to 2005. During that time, he served as Minister of Community and Social Services, Energy, Francophone Affairs, Children and Youth Services, and as Government House Leader.

Mr. Baird is a long-time member of the Royal Canadian Legion, an honorary member of the Kiwanis Club of Nepean, and a lifetime member of Canada’s largest Association for Community Living. In 2008, he was named a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. Maclean’s Magazine and the Historica-Dominion Institute named him 2010 Parliamentarian of the Year, after a vote by his colleagues in all parties in the House of Commons.

Mr. Baird holds a Bachelor of Arts in political studies from Queen’s University.

L'honorable John Baird

Ministre des Affaires étrangères

Ottawa-Ouest-Nepean (Ontario)

John Baird a été élu à la Chambre des communes pour la première fois en 2006, et réélu en 2008 et en 2011. En février 2006, M. Baird a été assermenté en qualité de président du Conseil du Trésor. En cette capacité, il a réussi à faire adopter par les deux chambres du Parlement la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. En janvier 2007, il a été nommé ministre de l’Environnement. En octobre 2008, il a été nommé ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités et a dirigé la conception, la négociation et l’exécution de quelque 12 000 projets de relance des infrastructures dans l’ensemble du pays. En août 2010, M. Baird a été nommé leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes. Entre novembre 2010 et janvier 2011, il a assumé des responsabilités additionnelles à titre de ministre de l’Environnement. Il détient son portefeuille actuel depuis l'élection fédérale de mai 2011.

Avant de se lancer en politique fédérale, M. Baird a été député à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, où il a représenté la circonscription de Nepean-Carleton, de 1995 à 2005. Pendant cette période, il a été successivement ministre des Services sociaux et communautaires, ministre de l’Énergie, ministre des Affaires francophones, ministre des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse ainsi que leader du gouvernement à l’Assemblée.

M. Baird est membre de longue date de la Légion royale canadienne, membre honoraire du club Kiwanis de Nepean et membre à vie de l’Association de la vie communautaire qui compte le plus de membres au Canada. En 2008, il a été nommé Jeune leader mondial par le Forum économique mondial. De leur côté, le magazine Maclean’s et l’Institut Historica-Dominion l’ont nommé parlementaire de l’année en 2010, après un vote de ses collègues de tous les partis à la Chambre des communes.

M. Baird est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en science politique de l’Université Queen’s.