Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Peter M. Boehm

Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

On June 26, 2013, Royal Assent was given to Bill C-60, creating the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development. Peter M. Boehm continues to serve as Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.

A career foreign service officer, Peter M. Boehm most recently served as Ambassador to Germany. Among other assignments, he has served as Assistant Deputy Minister for the Americas, North America and consular affairs at Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, where he was also the department’s first chief political/economic officer. Abroad, he was Minister (political and public affairs) at the Canadian embassy in Washington (2001-04) and Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the Organization of American States (1997-2001). He has held a variety of positions in the department and has also been assigned to the Canadian embassies in Havana and San José. In 1993 he received the Canadian Foreign Service Officer Award for his contribution to advancing peace in Central America. In the Americas, he served as national summit coordinator for the Santiago and Québec summits, special envoy for the OAS Democratization Mission in Peru and personal representative (sherpa) of the Prime Minister for the Mar del Plata Summit in 2005. From 2005 to 2008 he was the senior official responsible for the North American leaders’ summits. He is a recipient of the Public Service of Canada Outstanding Achievement Award.

In his current capacity, Peter M. Boehm will also serve as personal representative (sherpa) of the Prime Minister for the G-8 leaders’ summits.

Born in Kitchener, Ontario, Peter M. Boehm holds a PhD in History from the University of Edinburgh, an MA from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University and an Honours BA in English and History from Wilfrid Laurier University.

Sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères

Peter M. Boehm

Sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères

Le 26 juin 2013, la sanction royale a été accordée au projet de loi C-60, ce qui a entrainé la création du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement. Peter M. Boehm continue son mandat à titre de sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères.

Diplomate de carrière, Peter M. Boehm était jusqu’à récemment ambassadeur du Canada en Allemagne. Auparavant, il a exercé diverses fonctions, dont celles de sous-ministre adjoint pour les Amériques, l’Amérique du Nord et les Affaires consulaires à Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, où il a également été le premier agent principal politique et économique. À l’étranger, il a été ministre (Affaires politiques et publiques) à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington (2001-2004) ainsi qu’ambassadeur et représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) (1997-2001). Il a occupé divers postes à l’administration centrale du Ministère en plus d’affectations aux ambassades du Canada à La Havane et à San José. En 1993, il a reçu le Prix des agents du service extérieur canadien pour sa contribution à la paix en Amérique centrale. Au sein des Amériques, il a été coordonnateur national des sommets des Amériques qui se sont tenus à Santiago et à Québec, envoyé spécial pour la mission de démocratisation de l’OEA au Pérou et représentant personnel (sherpa) du premier ministre pour le Sommet de Mar del Plata en 2005. De 2005 à 2008, il a été le principal haut fonctionnaire responsable des sommets des dirigeants nord-américains. Il a reçu le Prix pour services insignes, la plus haute distinction que confère la Fonction publique du Canada.

En tant que sous-ministre délégué, M. Boehm sera le représentant personnel (sherpa) du premier ministre à l’occasion des sommets des dirigeants du G-8.

Né à Kitchener, en Ontario, Peter M. Boehm détient un doctorat en histoire de l’Université d’Édimbourg, une maîtrise ès arts de la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton et un baccalauréat avec spécialisation en anglais et en histoire de l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier.