Senior Associate Deputy Minister of International Development

Greta Bossenmaier

Senior Associate Deputy Minister of International Development

On June 26, 2013, Ms. Greta Bossenmaier became the Senior Associate Deputy Minister of International Development, as part of the new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

Prior to this appointment, Ms. Bossenmaier had been Senior Executive Vice-President of the Canadian International Development Agency since January 2012. From June 2009 to January 2012, she was Deputy Minister of the Afghanistan Task Force in the Privy Council Office (PCO).

Ms. Bossenmaier has held a variety of senior positions in the federal government including: Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs at the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), Vice-President of Innovation, Science and Technology, and the Executive Vice-President at the Canada Border Services Agency.

Ms. Bossenmaier began her career in the Canadian public service as a Defence Scientist with the Department of National Defence. She then accepted an international assignment with the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland. She has also worked in a number of other departments in the federal public service, including the Public Service Commission, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Ms. Bossenmaier holds a Master of Science degree in Operational Research from Stanford University in California and a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree from the University of Manitoba.

Ms. Bossenmaier is married and has two children.

Sous-ministre déléguée principale du Développement international

Greta Bossenmaier

Sous-ministre déléguée principale du Développement international

Depuis le 26 juin 2013, Mme Greta Bossenmaier occupe le poste de sous-ministre déléguée principale du Développement international, au sein du nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Auparavant, Mme Bossenmaier a exercé la fonction de première vice-présidente exécutive de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, poste auquel elle a été nommée en janvier 2012. De juin 2009 à janvier 2012, elle a été sous-ministre du Groupe de travail sur l’Afghanistan au Bureau du Conseil privé.

Mme Bossenmaier a occupé divers postes de direction au sein du gouvernement fédéral, dont les suivants : sous-ministre déléguée aux Affaires étrangères, ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI); vice-présidente, Innovation, science et technologie, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada; et première vice-présidente, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Elle a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique canadienne en tant que scientifique au ministère de la Défense nationale, avant d’accepter une affectation internationale aux Nations Unies, à Genève (Suisse). Elle a ensuite occupé d’autres postes au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, y compris à la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada, au ministère des Pêches et des Océans et au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international.

Mme Bossenmaier est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences avec spécialisation en recherche opérationnelle de l’Université Stanford, en Californie, et d’un baccalauréat en commerce (avec mention) de l’Université du Manitoba.

Elle est mariée et a deux enfants.