Baird Meets with French Counterpart

Read the transcript or download the video.

Location: Paris, France

Description: Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird meets with Laurent Fabius, France's Minister of Foreign Affairs. The pair focus on deepening an already strong and broad-based relationship between France and Canada. They also discuss global issues of mutual importance, including the Syria crisis.

Duration: 5:22

File Size: 90.4 MB

Transcript

The Hon. Laurent Fabius: We have just had a very friendly and very productive meeting with John Baird. Our discussions confirmed that France and Canada have strongly similar views on the responses to be made to international crises. We talked about the Sahel, we talked about Syria, we talked about Iran. On the Syria issue in particular, we decided to strengthen our cooperation on the ground.

We also discussed our shared desire for the European Union and Canada to conclude, if possible by the end of the year, the negotiations on their Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement. This is a very ambitious agreement, but it is a desirable one, and it is expected be an asset for the priority that each of us has, namely growth, employment on both sides of the Atlantic. This discussion was also an opportunity to confirm the quality of the partnership between Canada and France. We have a very strong friendship. We have very strong economic, cultural and human relations, all of which must lead us to contemplate enhanced cooperation, including with regard to cross-investments, youths and, in general, all economic issues.

Canada’s Prime Minister will meet with the President of the Republic in two days’ time. Now, the Francophonie Summit in Kinshasa and we will report the content of our conversations to our two leaders, but I can say that this has been an honour and a pleasure, as well as a very friendly meeting, this opportunity to welcome my Canadian counterpart who knows that he is at home here.

The Hon. John Baird: Thank you very much. Thank you for coming. I would like to begin by warmly thanking my friend, Minister Fabius, for his welcome and the excellent work meeting that we had today. I think this was our most formal meeting. We had already met three or four times on the margins of international meetings.

Canada and France are allies, partners, friends. It is important to also take the time to compare our methods, identify what we (inaudible – technical difficulties) do together to meet the considerable challenges facing us. I am, of course, thinking of the international situation, what is happening in Syria and Mali is of concern to us, France and Canada are side by side in the necessary struggle that we must wage to defend human rights in the world. I might add, the situation in Iran.

We had a productive and very helpful discussion on all these issues. France’s leadership on the Syria issue is very much appreciated. I believe that you took on the leadership role only one or two weeks after your appointment, and it is really, it is very welcome in Canada and everywhere. But the relationship between France and Canada, as you know, is also a day-to-day relationship that must satisfy the current needs of all of Canada’s and France’s citizens. That is why we strongly believe in deepening economic and commercial ties between Canada, France and the European Union.

I am confident that this is how we can best address the economic challenges of our countries and citizens. We spoke quickly with Mr. Fabius and I will talk about it more tomorrow with the Minister Delegate to European Affairs, Mr. Cazeneuve. I might add the important youth mobility agreement between France and Canada that is soon to be renewed and modernized. So this meeting enabled us once again to reaffirm the strength of the relationship between France and Canada. Prime Minister Stephen Harper and President François Hollande had the opportunity to tell each other so in the hours and days following the election of France’s new president.   

Today, we once again reaffirm our intention to work together to address the issues of the day, looking forward. I appreciate the warm welcome and the very good meeting we had.

Le ministre Baird rencontre son homologue français

Lisez la transcription ou téléchargez la vidéo.

Emplacement : Paris, France

Description : Le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird rencontre le ministre français des Affaires étrangères, M. Laurent Fabius. Les deux ministres se concentrent sur l'approfondissement des liens déjà étendus et solides entre la France et le Canada. Ils discutent également de questions internationales importantes pour les deux pays, dont la crise en Syrie.

Durée : 5:22

Taille du fichier : 90,4 Mo

Transcription

L’hon. Laurent Fabius: Nous venons d’avoir un entretien à la fois très chaleureux et très productif avec John Baird. Nos discussions ont confirmé qu’il y a une très forte identité de vues entre la France et le Canada, à la fois sur les réponses à apporter aux crises internationales. Nous avons parlé de la Sahel, nous avons parlé de la Syrie, nous avons parlé de l’Iran. Sur le dossier syrien en particulier, nous avons décidé de renforcer notre coopération sur le terrain.

Nous avons également abordé notre volonté commune que l’Union européenne et le Canada concluent, si possible d’ici la fin de cette année, les négociations sur leur accord économique et commercial global. Cet accord est très ambitieux mais il est souhaitable et il devrait pouvoir constituer un atout pour ce qui est notre priorité à l’un et à l’autre, c’est-à-dire la croissance, l’emploi de chaque côté de l’Atlantique. Cet entretien a été l’occasion aussi de confirmer la qualité du partenariat entre le Canada et la France. Nous avons des liens amicaux qui sont très solides. Nous avons des relations économiques qui sont très solides, des relations culturelles, des relations humaines et tout cela doit nous conduire à envisager des coopérations renforcées, notamment pour ce qui concerne les investissements croisées, les jeunes et d’une façon générale, toutes les questions économiques.

Le premier ministre canadien rencontrera le président de la république d’ici deux jours. Maintenant, le Sommet de la francophonie à Kinshasa et nous ferons état auprès de nos deux responsables de la teneur de nos conversations mais je peux dire que c’est à la fois un honneur, un plaisir et un moment très amical que cette possibilité d’accueillir mon homologue canadien qui sait qu’il est ici chez lui.

L’hon. John Baird: Merci beaucoup. Merci de votre présence. D’abord, je tiens à remercier chaleureusement mon ami, le ministre Fabius de son accueillir et de son excellente rencontre de travail que nous avons eue aujourd’hui. Je pense que c’est notre réunion plus formelle. On a déjà rencontré trois ou quatre fois dans les, dans le côté des réunions internationales.

Le Canada et la France sont des alliés, des partenaires, des PMI. Il est important de prendre le temps aussi de comparer nos approches, identifier ce que nous (inaudible - difficulté technique) faire ensemble pour relever les importants défis qui nous font face. Je pense bien sur la situation internationale, ce qui se passe en Syrie et au Mali nous interpellent, la France et le Canada sont côté à côté dans la nécessité bataille que nous devons livrer pour défendre les droits de la personne dans le monde. Je pourrais ajouter, la situation en Iran.

Sur tous ces sujets, nous avons eu un échange riche et très utile. La chefferie française dans le dossier de la Syrie, c’est très bien apprécié. Je pense que vous a pris la chefferie seulement une ou deux semaines après votre nomination et c’est bien, c’est très bienvenue au, au Canada et partout. Mais la relation entre la France et le Canada, vous le savez, est aussi une relation quotidienne qui doit répondre aux besoins d’aujourd’hui de tous les canadiens et tous les français. C’est pour cela que nous croyons beaucoup à l’approfondissement des relations économiques et des commerciales entre le Canada, la France et l’Union européenne.

Je suis convaincu qu’ainsi nous répondrons mieux aux difficultés économiques des citoyens et de nos pays. Nous avons, nous avons rapidement parlé avec M. Fabius et j’en parlerai davantage demain avec le ministre délégué aux affaires européennes, M. Cazeneuve. Je pourrais ajouter l’important accord de mobilité des jeunes entre la France et le Canada qui sera bientôt renouvelle et modernisée. Cette rencontre nous a donc permis une fois de plus de raffermir la force de la relation entre la France et le Canada. Le premier ministre Stephen Harper et le président François Hollande ont eu l’occasion de se le dire dans les heures et jours qui ont suivi l’élection de nouveau président française.

Aujourd’hui, nous réaffirmons à nouveau notre intention de reprendre ensemble et enjeu de moment le regard tourné vers l’avenir. J’apprécie l’accueil chaleureux et d’avoir une très bonne réunion.