Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Daniel Jean

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

On October 25, 2013, the Prime Minister appointed Daniel Jean as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, effective November 4, 2013. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Jean served as Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage since September 24, 2010.

Daniel Jean holds an MBA from the State University of New York at Buffalo and a BA in Political Science and Economics from the University of Ottawa.

Mr. Jean has a vast experience in government. He joined the Canadian Foreign Service in the immigration stream in 1982 and served in Buffalo, Hong Kong, Port-au-Prince (twice), Ottawa and Washington. He was Consul and Immigration Program Manager in Haiti during the coup that ousted elected President Jean-Bertrand Aristide.

From 1995 to 2000, Mr. Jean was the Immigration Counsellor at the Canadian Embassy in Washington. In the summer of 2000, he returned to Citizenship and Immigration headquarters where he subsequently served as Director General of the International Region, Assistant Deputy Minister Policy and Program Development, and Assistant Deputy Minister Operations. In March 2007, he was appointed as the Assistant Secretary, Treasury Board Secretariat. His primary responsibilities were to provide advice to the President of the Treasury Board on International Affairs, Security and Justice issues. In October 2007, he was named Associate Secretary of the Treasury Board Secretariat.

In August 2008, he was appointed Deputy Secretary to Cabinet (Operations) of the Privy Council Office before becoming Deputy Minister of the Administrative Services Review on April 6, 2010.

Sous–ministre des Affaires étrangères

Daniel Jean

Sous–ministre des Affaires étrangères

Le 25 octobre 2013, le Premier ministre a annoncé la nomination de Daniel Jean à titre de sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères et ce, à compter du 4 novembre 2013. Avant sa nomination, M. Jean occupait le poste de sous-ministre du Patrimoine canadien depuis le 24 septembre 2010.

Daniel Jean détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la State University of New York, à Buffalo et un baccalauréat en sciences politiques et économie de l’Université d’Ottawa.

M. Jean possède une vaste expérience au sein du gouvernement. Entré au Service extérieur canadien, secteur de l’Immigration, en 1982, M. Jean a été en poste à Buffalo, Hong Kong, Port-au-Prince (à deux reprises), Ottawa et Washington. Il était aussi consul et gestionnaire du Programme d’immigration en Haïti au moment du coup d’État perpétré contre le président élu Jean-Bertrand Aristide.

De 1995 à 2000, M. Jean a travaillé comme conseiller en matière d’immigration à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington. À l’été 2000, il est revenu à l’administration centrale de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada où il a successivement occupé les fonctions de directeur général de la Région internationale, sous-ministre adjoint en développement des politiques et programmes ainsi que sous-ministre adjoint des opérations.  En mars 2007, il a été nommé secrétaire adjoint au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ses principales responsabilités étaient de conseiller le président du Conseil du Trésor sur les questions liées aux affaires internationales, à la sécurité et à la justice. En octobre 2007, il a été nommé secrétaire délégué au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

En août 2008, il a été nommé Sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations) au Bureau du conseil privé avant de devenir sous-ministre de l’examen des services administratifs le 6 avril 2010.