Deputy Minister of International Development

Malcolm Brown

Deputy Minister of International Development

On April 25, 2014, the Prime Minister appointed Malcolm Brown as Deputy Minister of International Development, effective May 20, 2014. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Brown served as Executive Vice-President of the Canada Border Services Agency since January 31, 2011.

Malcolm Brown holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Studies from Queen's University and a Master of Arts degree in Political Science from York University.

Mr. Brown began his federal public service career in the Federal Provincial Relations Office. He then worked at Health Canada and later at the Privy Council Office where, among other senior positions, he served as Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for the Reference Group of Ministers on Aboriginal Policy.

Between 2002 and 2009, Mr. Brown occupied assistant deputy minister-level positions with Human Resources Development Canada, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, and Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC), culminating with the position of Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Research, HRSDC. In October 2009, Mr. Brown was named Associate Deputy Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

Sous-ministre du Développement international

Malcolm Brown

Sous-ministre du Développement international

Le 25 avril 2014, le premier ministre a annoncé la nomination de Malcolm Brown à titre de sous-ministre du Développement international, et ce, à compter du 20 mai 2014. Avant sa nomination, M. Brown occupait le poste de premier vice-président à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada depuis le 31 janvier 2011.

Malcolm Brown détient un baccalauréat ès arts en études politiques de l'Université Queen's et une maîtrise ès arts en sciences politiques de l'Université York.

M. Brown a commencé sa carrière au sein de la fonction publique fédérale au Bureau des relations fédérales-provinciales. Il a par la suite travaillé à Santé Canada, et plus tard au Bureau du Conseil privé, où il a occupé divers postes de niveau hiérarchique supérieur, dont celui de sous-ministre adjoint responsable du Groupe de référence ministérielle sur les politiques autochtones.

Entre 2002 et 2009, M. Brown a occupé des postes au niveau de sous-ministre adjoint auprès des ministères suivants : Développement des ressources humaines Canada, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC), notamment, le poste de sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politique stratégique et Recherche, RHDCC. En octobre 2009, M. Brown a été nommé sous-ministre délégué de Ressources naturelles Canada