Deputy Minister of International Development

Paul Rochon

Deputy Minister of International Development

On July 8, 2013, Paul Rochon became the Deputy Minister of International Development, under the new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

Prior to this appointment, from August 2012 to July 2013, Mr. Rochon was Associate Deputy Minister of Health Canada and Special Advisor to the Minister of Finance on negotiations for a Canadian Securities Regulator.

Previously, Mr. Rochon held a number of positions in the Department of Finance including Associate Deputy Minister of Finance and Canada's Finance Deputy at the G-7, G-20 and the Financial Stability Forum, as well as Senior Assistant Deputy Minister in the Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch with primary responsibility for maintaining the fiscal framework of the Government of Canada.

Prior to joining the Department of Finance Mr. Rochon worked for three years at the Conference Board of Canada. He holds a bachelor's degree in History from McGill University and a master's degree in Economics from the University of Toronto.

Sous-ministre du Développement international

Paul Rochon

Sous-ministre du Développement international

Depuis le 8 juillet 2013, M. Paul Rochon est le sous-ministre du Développement international au sein du nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Avant sa nomination, entre août 2012 et juillet 2013, M. Rochon exerçait la fonction de sous-ministre délégué de Santé Canada. Il a également été conseiller spécial auprès du ministre des Finances pour les négociations en vue de la création d'un organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières.

Auparavant, M. Rochon a occupé plusieurs postes au ministère des Finances du Canada, soit celui de sous-ministre délégué des Finances et représentant du ministère des Finances du Canada lors du G7, du G20 et du Forum sur la stabilité financière. Il a également travaillé à titre de sous-ministre adjoint principal de la Direction des politiques économiques et fiscales, où il était chargé de la tenue à jour du cadre financier du gouvernement du Canada.

Avant de se joindre au ministère des Finances, M. Rochon a travaillé pendant trois ans au Conference Board du Canada. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en histoire de l'Université McGill et d'une maîtrise en économie de l'Université de Toronto.