Deputy Minister of International Trade

Simon Kennedy

Deputy Minister of International Trade

The Prime Minister appointed Simon Kennedy as Deputy Minister of International Trade on November 12, 2012, and named Mr. Kennedy Canada’s G-20 Sherpa on December 14, 2012.

Prior to his appointment, Mr. Kennedy served as the Senior Associate Deputy Minister at Industry Canada from September 2010. One of his key responsibilities in this capacity was to administer Canada’s foreign investment review regime. From February to December 2011, Mr. Kennedy was also the representative of the Prime Minister on the Canada-U.S. Beyond the Border Working Group. In this role, he led the negotiation of the Canada-U.S. Action Plan for Perimeter Security and Economic Competitiveness, announced by the Prime Minister and President Obama in December 2011.

Mr. Kennedy began his career with the public service in 1990 with Transport Canada and subsequently the Canadian Coast Guard. In 1997, he joined the Privy Council Office and, in 2001, he moved to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada to serve first as the Director General for Policy, Planning and Integration and then as Director General of the International Markets Bureau. In 2004, he returned to the Privy Council Office, where he served first as Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Economic and Regional Development Policy, and then as Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations) and as Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Plans and Consultation) until 2010.

Mr. Kennedy holds a Bachelor of Public Relations from Mount Saint Vincent University and a Master of Science in Communications Management from Syracuse University. He is a graduate of INSEAD’s Advanced Management Programme. Mr. Kennedy also holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute for Corporate Directors.

Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Simon Kennedy

Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Le 26 juin 2013, la sanction royale a été accordée au projet de loi C-60, ce qui a entrainé la création du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement. Simon Kennedy continue son mandat à titre de sous-ministre du Commerce international.

Le premier ministre a nommé Simon Kennedy sous-ministre du Commerce international, le  12 novembre 2012, et sherpa du Canada pour le G-20, le 14 décembre 2012.

De septembre 2010 jusqu’à sa nomination, M. Kennedy assume les fonctions de sous-ministre délégué principal à Industrie Canada, où il assure notamment l’administration du régime canadien d’examen des investissements étrangers. De février à décembre 2011, M. Kennedy assume également les fonctions de représentant du premier ministre au sein du Groupe de travail par-delà la frontière Canada-États-Unis. Dans ce rôle, M. Kennedy dirige la négociation du Plan d’action sur la sécurité du périmètre et la compétitivité économique entre le Canada et les États-Unis annoncé par le premier ministre et le président Obama en décembre 2011.

M. Kennedy entame sa carrière à la fonction publique en 1990 à Tranports Canada, avant de se retrouver à la Garde côtière canadienne. En 1997, il se joint au Bureau du Conseil privé. En 2001, il est affecté à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, où il occupe les postes de directeur général, Planification et intégration des politiques, et de directeur général, Bureau des marchés internationaux. En 2004, M. Kennedy retourne au Bureau du Conseil privé, où il assume tout d’abord les fonctions de secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet, Politique du développement économique et régional, puis celles de sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Opérations, et de sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Planification et consultations, jusqu’en 2010.

M. Kennedy est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en relations publiques de l’Université Mount Saint Vincent et d’une maîtrise ès sciences en gestion des communications de l’Université de Syracuse. Il est diplômé du programme de gestion avancé de l’INSEAD et détient la certification ICD.D de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.