Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai represented Canada at a Conference on Haiti

Bookmark and Share

Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai represented Canada at a Conference


Media Centre | Related Links | Photo Gallery

February 23, 2011
Brussels, Belgium

Deepak Obhrai, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, traveled to Brussels on February 23, 2011, to represent Canada at a conference on Haiti titled “Haiti, One Year After the Earthquake: Perspectives on the International Humanitarian Response and the Role of Governance in Rebuilding Haiti.”

Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai will focus on governance and address the coordination of international humanitarian aid and rebuilding one year later. As the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, has stated, the international community alone cannot rebuild Haiti. Political stability can only be achieved by the Haitians themselves democratically electing an efficient, honest and responsible government to lead the people through the next critical stage of recovery and reconstruction.

Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai will deliver the keynote address to an audience of Canadian, European and Haitian government officials, academics and representatives of international institutions, think tanks, NGOs and civil society as well as members of the Haitian diaspora.

The conference was co-hosted by Canada, the European Union and Egmont - Royal Institute for International Relations, in association with Haiti’s Mission to the EU.


Media Centre


Related Links

Le secrétaire parlementaire Obhrai a représenté le Canada à une conférence sur Haïti

Bookmark and Share

Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai represented Canada at a Conference


Le 23 février 2011
Bruxelles (Belgique)

Le secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Affaires étrangères, M. Deepak Obhrai, s'est rendu à Bruxelles le 23 février 2011 pour représenter le Canada à une conférence intitulée « Haïti, un an après le séisme : Perspectives sur la réponse humanitaire internationale et sur le rôle de la gouvernance dans la reconstruction d’Haïti ».

Le secrétaire parlementaire Obhrai se penchera sur la gouvernance et traitera de la coordination de l’aide humanitaire internationale et de la reconstruction. Comme l'a affirmé le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l'honorable Lawrence Cannon, la communauté internationale ne peut, à elle seule, rebâtir Haïti. La stabilité politique ne peut être assurée que par l'élection démocratique d'un gouvernement efficace, honnête et responsable par les Haïtiens eux-mêmes, qui puisse aider le peuple à franchir la prochaine étape cruciale du rétablissement et de la reconstruction.

Le secrétaire parlementaire Obhrai prononcera le discours d’ouverture devant une assemblée composée de responsables des gouvernements canadiens, européens et haïtiens, d’universitaires et de représentants d’institutions internationales, de groupes de réflexion, d’ONG, de la société civile et de membres de la diaspora haïtienne.

La conférence a été coprésidée par le Canada, l’Union européenne et l'Institut Royal des Relations Internationales Egmont, en association avec l’ambassade d’Haïti auprès de l’Union européenne.


Centre de presse