National Holocaust Monument

Background

The Holocaust was the systematic, state-sponsored persecution and murder of approximately six million Jews by the German Nazi regime and its collaborators during the Second World War.

Jews were the primary victims, but Roma, disabled persons, and Poles were also targeted for racial, ethnic, or national reasons. Millions more, including homosexuals, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Soviet prisoners of war, and political dissidents also suffered grievous oppression and death under Nazi tyranny.

On March 25, 2011, the National Holocaust Monument Act received Royal Assent. The Government of Canada has pledged to establish a National Holocaust Monument, to be located in the National Capital Region, to ensure Holocaust victims and lessons are never forgotten in Canada. As Minister responsible for the National Capital Commission, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird is responsible for overseeing this project.

Jason Kenney, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism, met with Jewish community leaders at the Simon Wiesenthal Centre in Toronto in July 2011, where he highlighted the importance of a National Holocaust Monument in the National Capital Region.

The 2010 Speech from the Throne affirms the Government of Canada’s commitment to supporting a National Holocaust Monument.

On April 2, 2012, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird and the Honourable Tim Uppal, Minister of State (Democratic Reform), announced the members of the National Holocaust Monument Development Council.

On April 23, 2013, the Canadian Society for Yad Vashem, in collaboration with the Honourable Tim Uppal, Minister of State (Democratic Reform), on behalf of Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird, will host a ceremony to announce the site selected for the National Holocaust Monument.

Le Monument national de l’Holocauste - Appel de candidatures

Contexte

L’Holocauste représente la persécution et le meurtre systématiques, commandités par l’État, d’environ six millions de juifs par le régime nazi allemand et ses collaborateurs au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Les juifs ont été les principales victimes de ces actes, mais les Roms, les personnes handicapées et les Polonais ont également été ciblés pour des motifs raciaux, ethniques ou nationaux. Des millions d’autres personnes, notamment les homosexuels, les Témoins de Jéhovah, les prisonniers de guerre soviétiques et les dissidents politiques, ont été victimes d’oppression menaçante et ont été tuées sous l’emprise de la tyrannie du régime nazi.

Le 25 mars 2011, la Loi visant à ériger le Monument national de l'Holocauste a reçu la sanction royale. Le gouvernement du Canada a promis de créer un Monument national de l’Holocauste, qui sera situé dans la région de la capitale nationale, pour faire en sorte que les victimes de l'Holocauste et les leçons tirées de cette tragédie ne soient pas oubliées au Canada. À titre de ministre responsable de la Commission de la capitale nationale, le ministre des Affaires étrangères, M. John Baird, est chargé de superviser ce projet.

En juillet 2011, Jason Kenney, ministre de la Citoyenneté, de l’Immigration et du Multiculturalisme, a rencontré des dirigeants communautaires juifs au centre Simon Wiesenthal à Toronto. Dans le cadre de cette rencontre, il a souligné l’importance d’ériger un Monument national de l’Holocauste dans la région de la capitale nationale.

Le discours du Trône de 2010 exprime l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à appuyer la construction d’un Monument national de l’Holocauste.

Le 2 avril 2012, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird et le ministre d’État (Réforme démocratique), l’honorable Tim Uppal, ont annoncé la composition du Conseil d’édification du Monument national de l’Holocauste.

Le 23 avril 2013, le ministre d’État (Réforme démocratique), l’honorable Tim Uppal, au nom du ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird, a dévoilé l’emplacement retenu pour le Monument national de l’Holocauste à l’occasion d’une cérémonie marquant le Jour du souvenir de l’Holocauste, organisée par l’Association canadienne pour Yad Vashem en collaboration avec la Coalition Zachor.