Canadian Policy on Key Issues in the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Support for Israel and its Security

Canada supports Israel's right to live in peace with its neighbours within secure boundaries and recognizes Israel's right to assure its own security, as witnessed by our support during the 2006 conflict with Hezbollah and our ongoing support for Israel's fight against terror. Israel has a right under international law to take the necessary measures, in accordance with human rights and international humanitarian law, to protect the security of its citizens from attacks by terrorist groups. Canada and Israel enjoy a steadfast friendship and strong, growing bilateral relations in many areas based on shared values, including democracy.

Support for the Palestinians

Canada recognizes the Palestinian right to self-determination and supports the creation of a sovereign, independent, viable, democratic and territorially contiguous Palestinian state, as part of a comprehensive, just and lasting peace settlement.

Canada recognizes the Palestinian Authority (PA) as the governmental entity in the West Bank and Gaza. Canada also recognizes the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) as the principal representative of the Palestinian people Canada continues to support Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas and is working with the government led by Prime Minister Rami Hamdallah in terms of much needed reform.

Working with its partners and through the United Nations, its agencies and other organizations, Canada continues to support and respond to the humanitarian and development needs of the Palestinian people. At the Paris Donors Conference in December 2007, Canada announced a commitment of $300 million over 5 years towards improving Palestinian security, governance and prosperity.

Support for a Comprehensive Peace Settlement

Canada is committed to the goal of a comprehensive, just and lasting peace in the Middle East, including the creation of a Palestinian state living side by side in peace and security with Israel.

The 1993 Israel-Palestine Liberation Organization Declaration of Principles continues to provide the basis for a comprehensive agreement based on UN Security Council Resolutions 242 and 338. Canada welcomed the decision of the Palestine National Council to accept UN Security Council Resolution 242 as a basis for peace negotiations as well as mutual recognition by Israel and the PLO in 1993. Canada also strongly supports the Quartet's Road Map, which sets out the obligations of both parties and steps for establishment of a Palestinian state, and the process launched by the Annapolis Conference. Canada also supports the Arab Peace Initiative as a potential basis for a comprehensive Arab-Israeli settlement.

Status of Jerusalem

Canada considers the status of Jerusalem can be resolved only as part of a general settlement of the Palestinian-Israeli dispute. Canada does not recognize Israel's unilateral annexation of East Jerusalem.

Palestinian Refugees

Canada believes that a just solution to the Palestinian refugee issue is central to a settlement of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, as called for in United Nations General Assembly resolution 194 (1948) and United Nations Security Council resolution 242. A solution to the Palestinian refugee issue must be negotiated among the parties concerned in the context of a final status peace agreement. This solution should respect the rights of the refugees, in accordance with international law.

Canada has played a prominent role in the search for a viable and comprehensive solution to the Palestinian refugee issue, including through continuing to focus international attention on improving the situation of the more than four million Palestinian refugees.

Occupied Territories and Settlements

Canada does not recognize permanent Israeli control over territories occupied in 1967 (the Golan Heights, the West Bank, East Jerusalem and the Gaza Strip). The Fourth Geneva Convention applies in the occupied territories and establishes Israel's obligations as an occupying power, in particular with respect to the humane treatment of the inhabitants of the occupied territories. As referred to in UN Security Council Resolutions 446 and 465, Israeli settlements in the occupied territories are a violation of the Fourth Geneva Convention. The settlements also constitute a serious obstacle to achieving a comprehensive, just and lasting peace.

Canada believes that both Israel and the Palestinian Authority must fully respect international human rights and humanitarian law which is key to ensuring the protection of civilians, and can contribute to the creation of a climate conducive to achieving a just, lasting and comprehensive peace settlement.

The Barrier

Canada recognizes Israel's right to protect its citizens from terrorist attacks, including through the restriction of access to its territory, and by building a barrier on its own territory for security purposes. However, Canada opposes Israel's construction of the barrier inside the West Bank and East Jerusalem which are occupied territories. This construction is contrary to international law under the Fourth Geneva Convention. Canada not only opposes Israel's construction of a barrier extending into the occupied territories, but also expropriations and the demolition of houses and economic infrastructure carried out for this purpose.

Terrorism

Canada condemns all acts of terrorism and terrorists should be brought to justice and prosecuted in accordance with international law. Terrorism must be rejected as a means for achieving political ends. It is counter-productive to reaching a comprehensive, just and lasting peace settlement. Canada equally condemns all forms of incitement.

Canada has listed Hamas, Palestinian Islamic Jihad, Hezbollah, the Al-Aqsa Martyrs' Brigades, and other groups as terrorist organizations in accordance with UN Resolution 1373 (2001) and Canadian legislation. The Government of Canada has no contact with these groups.

United Nations Resolutions on the Middle East

Every year, resolutions addressing the Arab-Israeli conflict are tabled in the United Nations, such as at the United Nations General Assembly and the Human Rights Council. Canada assesses each resolution on its merits and consistency with our principles. We support resolutions that are consistent with Canadian policy on the Middle East, are rooted in international law, reflect current dynamics, contribute to the goal of a negotiated two-state solution to the Arab-Israeli conflict, and address fairly and constructively the obligations and responsibilities of all parties to the conflict. Canada advocates a fair-minded approach and rejects one-sided resolutions and any politicization of the issues. Successive Canadian governments have been concerned about the polemical and repetitive nature of many of the numerous resolutions. Canada believes that the United Nations and its member states have a responsibility to contribute constructively to efforts to resolve the Israeli-Arab conflict. Canada will continue to examine carefully each of these resolutions as they come forward.

Politique canadienne sur les aspects clés du conflit israélo-palestinien

Appui en faveur d'Israël et de sa sécurité

Le Canada soutient le droit d'Israël à vivre en paix avec ses voisins à l'intérieur de frontières sécuritaires et reconnaît son droit à assurer sa propre sécurité, comme nous l'avons démontré en l'appuyant lors du conflit avec le Hezbollah en 2006 et en soutenant continuellement son combat contre le terrorisme. En vertu du droit international, Israël est en droit de mettre en œuvre les mesures nécessaires, en conformité avec les droits de la personne et le droit international humanitaire, afin de protéger ses citoyens contre les attaques de groupes terroristes. Le Canada et Israël sont liés d'une amitié indéfectible et entretiennent des relations bilatérales solides qui vont en grandissant, basées sur des valeurs communes, notamment la démocratie.

Soutien aux Palestiniens

Le Canada reconnaît le droit des Palestiniens à s'autodéterminer et appuie la création d'un État palestinien souverain, indépendant, viable, démocratique et doté d'un territoire d'un seul tenant, dans le cadre d'un règlement de paix global, juste et durable.

Le Canada considère que l'Autorité palestinienne est l'entité gouvernementale de la Cisjordanie et de la bande de Gaza. Il reconnaît également que l'Organisation pour la libération de la Palestine (OLP) est le principal représentant du peuple palestinien. Le Canada continue d'appuyer le président palestinien Mahmoud Abbas et travaille de concert avec le gouvernement dirigé par le premier Ministre Rami Hamdallah à mettre en œuvre des réformes indispensables.

De concert avec ses partenaires et par l'intermédiaire des Nations Unies, de leurs institutions et d'autres organisations, le Canada continue de soutenir le peuple palestinien et de répondre à ses besoins en matière d'aide humanitaire et de développement. À la conférence des donateurs tenue à Paris en décembre 2007, le Canada s'est engagé à verser 300 millions $ sur les cinq prochaines années pour améliorer la sécurité, la gouvernance et la prospérité palestiniennes.

Appui en faveur d'un règlement de paix global

Le Canada souscrit sans réserve à l'objectif d'une paix globale, juste et durable au Moyen-Orient et à la création d'un État palestinien coexistant avec Israël dans la paix et la sécurité.

La Déclaration de principes de 1993 d'Israël et de l'Organisation de libération de la Palestine reste la base d'un accord global fondé sur les résolutions 242 et 338 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Le Canada a accueilli avec satisfaction la décision du Conseil national palestinien d'accepter la résolution 242 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies comme base des négociations de paix, ainsi que la reconnaissance réciproque d'Israël et de l'OLP en 1993. Le Canada souscrit en outre fermement à la Feuille de route du Quatuor, qui énonce les obligations des deux parties ainsi que les étapes de la création d'un État palestinien, et au processus entamé à la suite de la Conférence d'Annapolis. Le Canada soutient également l'Initiative de paix arabe comme fondation potentielle d'un accord arabo-israélien global.

Statut de Jérusalem

Le Canada estime que la question du statut de Jérusalem ne peut être réglée que dans le cadre d'un règlement global du conflit israélo-palestinien. Le Canada ne reconnaît pas l'annexion unilatérale israélienne de Jérusalem-Est.

Réfugiés palestiniens

Le Canada estime qu'une solution juste du problème des réfugiés palestiniens, réclamée dans la résolution 194 (1948) de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et la résolution 242 du Conseil de sécurité, est indispensable à un règlement de paix du conflit israélo-palestinien. Une telle solution doit être négociée par les parties concernées dans le cadre d'un accord de paix définitif. Elle doit respecter les droits des réfugiés, conformément au droit international.

Le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la quête d'une solution viable et globale de la question des réfugiés palestiniens, notamment en continuant d'appeler l'attention internationale sur la situation de plus de quatre millions de réfugiés palestiniens.

Territoires et colonies de peuplement

Le Canada ne reconnaît pas le contrôle permanent exercé par Israël sur les territoires occupés en 1967 (le plateau du Golan, la Cisjordanie, Jérusalem-Est et la bande de Gaza). La Quatrième Convention de Genève s'applique dans les territoires occupés et définit les obligations d'Israël en tant que puissance occupante, en particulier en ce qui concerne le traitement humanitaire des habitants des territoires occupés. Comme le mentionnent les résolutions 446 et 465 du Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU, les colonies de peuplement israéliennes dans les territoires occupés sont contraires à la quatrième Convention de Genève. Elles constituent en outre un obstacle sérieux à l'instauration d'une paix globale, juste et durable.

Le Canada estime qu'Israël et l'autorité palestinienne doivent pleinement respecter les droits de la personne et le droit humanitaire, ce qui est la clé pour assurer la protection des civils et peut contribuer à la création d'un climat propice à l'établissement d'une entente de paix juste, durable, et globale.

La barrière

Le Canada reconnaît le droit qu'a Israël de protéger ses citoyens contre les attentats terroristes, y compris en restreignant l'accès à son territoire, et d'ériger une barrière sur son territoire. Le Canada s'oppose à la construction, par Israël, d'une barrière à l'intérieur de la Cisjordanie et de Jérusalem-Est, qui sont des territoires occupés. Cette construction est contraire au droit international en vertu de la quatrième Convention de Genève. Le Canada est non seulement opposé à la construction, par Israël, d'une barrière empiétant sur les territoires occupés, mais également aux expropriations et à la démolition de maisons et d'infrastructures économiques à cette fin.

Terrorisme

Le Canada condamne tous les actes de terrorisme. Les terroristes doivent être traduits en justice et jugés conformément au droit international. Le terrorisme doit être rejeté en tant que moyen d'atteindre des objectifs politiques. Il constitue une entrave à l'atteinte d'un règlement de paix global, juste et durable. Le Canada condamne également toute incitation à la violence.

Le Canada a désigné le Hamas, le Djihad islamique palestinien, le Hezbollah, les Brigades des martyrs d'Al-Aqsa et d'autres groupes en tant qu'organisations terroristes conformément à la résolution 1373 (2001) des Nations Unies et aux lois canadiennes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a aucun contact avec ces groupes.

Résolutions des Nations Unies relatives au Moyen-Orient

Chaque année, des résolutions portant sur le conflit arabo-israélien sont présentées aux Nations Unies, notamment à l'Assemblée générale et au Conseil des droits de l'homme. Le Canada évalue chacune des résolutions en fonction de sa valeur intrinsèque et de sa conformité avec nos principes. Nous appuyons les résolutions qui sont conformes à la politique canadienne sur le Moyen-Orient, sont fondées en droit international, reflètent la dynamique actuelle, contribuent à l'atteinte d'une solution négociée du conflit arabo-palestinien, et traitent de manière équitable et constructive les obligations et les responsabilités de toutes les parties au conflit. Le Canada préconise une approche équitable et rejette les résolutions partiales ou qui politisent le débat. Les gouvernements successifs du Canada se sont inquiétés de la nature controversée et répétitive de nombreuses résolutions relatives au Moyen-Orient. Le Canada estime que les Nations Unies et leurs États membres ont la responsabilité de contribuer de manière constructive aux efforts accomplis pour résoudre le conflit israélo-palestinien. Il entend continuer d'examiner attentivement chaque projet de résolution présenté à ce sujet.