Middle East Peace Process

Introduction to the Refugee Working Group

The continuing plight of the Palestinian refugees displaced by the Arab-Israeli conflict is among the most important issues to be addressed by the Middle East Peace Process. At present there are 3.7 million refugees in Jordan, Lebanon, Syria and the West Bank and Gaza registered with the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). All the parties to the Middle East Peace Process acknowledge that finding a just solution to the problem of the refugees is fundamental to achieving a comprehensive and durable peace in the Middle East.

The Multilateral Process

The "Madrid" process, launched in 1991, was based in part on United Nations Security Council Resolution 242 of 1967 and its principle of direct negotiations between the parties concerned. The Madrid meeting in 1991 was supplemented by a further conference held in Moscow in 1992 to launch the multilateral process. At that time, the five multilateral Working Groups were set up to address regional issues or ones where the involvement of the international community was required.

 Photo - Group of women with children 

The establishment in Moscow of the Refugee Working Group is a measure of the importance attached to the refugee issue. The other four Working Groups are Water Resources, Environment, Arms Control and Regional Security, and Regional Economic Development.

What is the role of the Refugee Working Group?

The Refugee Working Group (RWG) complements the bilateral negotiating parties' own efforts to address the refugee issue by:

  • improving the current living conditions of refugees and displaced persons without prejudice to their rights and future status;
  • easing and extending access to family reunifications; and
  • supporting the process of achieving a viable and comprehensive solution to the refugee issue.

Who Is Involved?

In Moscow, Canada was invited to chair the RWG. The current chairperson, or "Gavel" is Jill Sinclair, Special Co-ordinator, Middle East Peace Process, of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

The other RWG participants are:

  • the "core" parties: the Israelis, Jordanians, Palestinians and Egyptians (to date, the Syrians and Lebanese have chosen not to participate in the multilateral track of the MEPP);

  • the "co-sponsors" of the MEPP: the United States and Russia;

  • the "co-organizers" of the multilateral track: the European Union and Japan;

  • a large number of other "regional parties": Arab states from Mauritania to the Gulf; and

  • "extra-regional parties" from Asia, the Pacific and Europe who are committed to the multilateral track of the MEPP and recognize the importance of the refugee issue.

How Does the RWG Relate to the Bilateral Negotiations?

The Oslo Accords of 1993 between Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization established the issue of refugees as one of the "permanent status" issues, along with other sensitive issues such as boundaries, water and Jerusalem. At that time, the two sides also agreed to set up a quadripartite committee (including Egypt and Jordan) to address the modalities of the return of persons displaced by the Arab-Israeli war of 1967.

Parade of trucks loaded with funiture 

The issue of refugees and displaced persons is also included for bilateral negotiations within the Israel-Jordan Peace Treaty. That treaty points to the RWG as one of the fora in which the human dimension of the refugee problem should be addressed.

It is generally recognized that the bilateral negotiations are not sufficient to address all aspects of a solution to the refugee issue - such a solution must be multifaceted. The RWG therefore serves to support and complement the process of arriving at a just, comprehensive and durable settlement to the refugee question, without prejudicing the refugees' rights and future status.

All the parties in the Working Group have agreed that it is important that the refugees see tangible benefits the peace process. At the same time, the RWG has served as a forum for discussion of longer-term issues and of how the international community, including the regional parties, can contribute to the evolution of an agreed and lasting solution.

How Does the RWG Work?

The RWG meets in plenary session, which consist of all 45 delegations, in coordination meetings of the parties most directly involved in the refugee issue, and in a range of "intersessional" meetings. The plenary and coordination meetings review the RWG's ongoing work and set priorities for the future. The intersessional meetings bring together Arab and Israeli representatives, their extra-regional counterparts and international experts for more detailed consideration of specific aspects of the refugee issue.

At its first substantive meeting in Ottawa in May 1992, the RWG decided to organize its work on a thematic basis. Subsequently, lead countries, or "shepherds," were identified for each theme. The themes and shepherds are: child welfare (Sweden); databases (Norway); economic and social infrastructure (the European Union); family reunification (France); human resources development, job creation and vocational training (the United States); and public health (Italy). In co-operation with the regional parties, the shepherds are responsible for defining needs, developing responses and mobilizing required resources.

Improving Living Conditions for Refugees

The RWG has supported a wide range of specific projects that prove that the peace process is benefiting people on the ground. For example, the RWG has:

  • helped UNRWA raise funds for its Peace Implementation Program (PIP). More than US$90 million was raised for PIP projects in the West Bank and Gaza, Jordan, Syria and Lebanon;

  • supported training in public health, construction, small enterprises, agriculture and public administration;

  • launched a process to improve funding and functioning of access to hospitalization by Palestinian refugees in Lebanon;

  • provided needed medical supplies and equipment to UNRWA and the Palestinian Red Crescent Society and supported their clinics;

  • defined and partially funded a program to address urgent needs of Palestinian children in the West Bank and Gaza, Syria, Jordan and Lebanon; and

RWG parties have also provided financial support to a large number of individual projects, including:

  • construction of two schools in the Marka Camp in Jordan;

  • rehabilitation of housing and schools in Gaza;

  • construction of two health centres in Ein Arik and Beit Our in the West Bank;

  • reconstruction of 11 youth centres in the West Bank and Gaza;

  • construction and equipment of a health centre in Homs Camp in Syria;

  • renovation of the Haifa and Al Hamshary hospitals in Lebanon;

  • a training program for nurses and midwives from Gaza in maternal and child health;

  • medical aid expansion in Gaza;

  • rehabilitation of the Governative Hospital in Khan Younis, Gaza;

  • a wastewater treatment plant for the Beach Camp and provision of potable water for Khan Younis and the refugee camps, Gaza;

  • construction of the Mansour school in Tyre, Lebanon;

  • provision of social and health services for special hardship cases in Jordan;

  • establishment of databases on the living conditions among Palestinian refugees and displaced in Jordan;

  • Save the Children's Microfinance Program in Lebanon for Palestinian refugee women;

  • construction and equipping of co-educational elementary and preparatory school at Sukhneh, Jordan;

  • construction of the Tel el-Sultan Community Centre in Gaza;

  • shelter rehabilitation in refugee camps in Lebanon;

  • funding for a bakery and a greenhouse in Al-Rashidieh Camp near Tyre, Lebanon;

  • renovation, equipment, upgrading and restocking of the library at Siblin Training Centre, Lebanon;

  • additional funding for the completion of the Baqa'a Community Rehabilitation Centre;

  • ongoing contributions of medical supplies to the Palestinian areas; and

  • the opening and administration of a day-care clinic in the West Bank.

  • Easing and Extending Access to Family Reunification

A common humanitarian objective of the RWG is the reunification of family members who have been separated as a result of the Arab-Israeli conflict. The work of the Group has resulted in an increase in the quota of individuals to be admitted to the West Bank and Gaza to be reunited with their families. Under RWG auspices, France has actively worked with the regional parties to gather information on existing practices, to identify areas where improvement is needed and to facilitate negotiations to bridge differences.

In addition, with support from Canada and Kuwait, the process of relocation of nearly 500 families from "Canada Camp" in the Egyptian Sinai to Gaza has been completed.

Supporting the Process of Achieving a Viable and Comprehensive Solution to the Refugee Issue

 Photo of a young family

For the Middle East refugee problem to be addressed, there has to be a common understanding of its scope and an appreciation of the effectiveness of ongoing measures to address it. The RWG has sponsored a number of basic data collection and analysis initiatives intended to define the scope of the refugee problem, establish priorities for action and assess the impact of alternative political choices. Some examples include:

  • An update of the living conditions survey of the West Bank and Gaza and the Jordan Living Conditions Survey, which includes a component on refugees; and

  • A comprehensive needs assessment to identify refugees' priority requirements for assistance in the areas of public health, child welfare and economic and social infrastructure.

A Forum for Dialogue

The RWG provides a forum for dialogue among the regional parties on refugee issues. Such opportunities permit them to clarify their respective positions, build confidence, develop and test options and engender the kind of mutual trust needed to make difficult decisions. These discussions take place not just at plenary sessions but in a variety of intersessional meetings, including:

  • periodic coordination meetings of the principal concerned parties. There have been five such meetings since 1996, most recently in January, 1999;

  • a vocational training intersessional in Washington in June, 1998;

  • meetings to address priority public health and child welfare issues confronting Palestinian refugees and their families;

  • periodic reviews of data needs, and action on these reviews; and

  • intersessional meetings to address family reunification practices and issues, most recently in Paris, March 1999.

  • The RWG also promotes dialogue with the refugees themselves by conducting international missions to refugee camps to help identify future directions for RWG activities and to ensure feedback on its activities. These missions demonstrate to the Palestinian refugees that their condition remains of concern to the international community.

The RWG has conducted missions to Jordan in 1994, in 1996 and in 1999, in the West Bank and Gaza in 1998. Similar international missions were conducted in Lebanon in 1994 and 1997. The various missions effectively highlighted both the complexity of the Palestinian refugee problem, and the necessity of resolving it.

What Are the RWG's Plans for the Future?

Since the beginning, the RWG has been committed to ensuring a better future for all those displaced by the Arab-Israeli conflict. Finding and implementing a comprehensive and durable solution for the Palestinian refugees will require the assistance and support of the international community. The RWG is working to advance understanding on the issues involved in an eventual solution. At the same time it will continue to work to raise awareness of the needs of Palestinian refugees in Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, and the West Bank and Gaza and to mobilize resources to improve their living conditions.

Photographs courtesy of UNRWA and Ambassador Robert Fowler, formerly Canada’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York.

Le processus de paix au Moyen-Orient

Présentation du Groupe de travail sur les réfugiés

La crise persistante des réfugiés palestiniens déplacés par le conflit israélo-arabe est l'un des plus importants dossiers qui doit être abordé au cours du processus de paix au Moyen-Orient (PPMO). On compte à l'heure actuelle 3,7 millions de réfugiés en Jordanie, au Liban, en Syrie de même qu'en Cisjordanie et à Gaza qui sont inscrits auprès de l'Office de secours et de travaux des Nations unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine dans le Proche-Orient (UNRWA (en anglais seulement)). Toutes les parties au processus de paix au Moyen-Orient reconnaissent qu'il est fondamental de trouver une solution juste au problème des réfugiés si l'on veut instaurer une paix globale et durable dans cette région.

Le processus multilatéral

Le « processus de Madrid », lancé en 1991, était en partie fondé sur la Résolution 242 de 1967 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies et sur le principe de négociations directes entre les parties concernées. La réunion de Madrid de 1991 a été suivie d'une autre conférence qui s'est tenue à Moscou en 1992 pour amorcer le processus multilatéral. Simultanément, cinq groupes de travail multilatéraux ont été établis pour s'attaquer aux questions régionales ou aux dossiers exigeant l'intervention de la communauté internationale.

 Groupe de femmes avec des enfants

Le Groupe de travail sur les réfugiés créé à Moscou témoigne de l'importance accordée au problème des réfugiés. Les quatre autres groupes s'occupent des ressources en eau, de l'environnement, du contrôle des armements et de la sécurité régionale, et du développement économique régional.

Quel est le rôle du Groupe de travail sur les réfugiés?

Le Groupe de travail sur les réfugiés (GTR) complète les efforts que déploient les parties aux négociations bilatérales en vue de régler le problème des réfugiés, à savoir :

  • en améliorant les conditions de vie actuelles des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées sans préjuger de leurs droits et de leur futur statut;
  • en facilitant et en élargissant la réunification des familles;
  • en appuyant le processus visant à trouver une solution réalisable et globale à la question des réfugiés.

Composition du Groupe

À Moscou, le Canada a été invité à présider le GTR. Le président actuel est Jill Sinclair, Coordonnateur spécial pour le processus de paix au Moyen-Orient, d'Affaires étrangères Canada.

Participent également au GTR :

  • les parties « centrales » : les Israéliens, les Jordaniens, les Palestiniens et les Égyptiens (jusqu'ici, les Syriens et les Libanais ont décidé de ne pas participer au volet multilatéral du PPMO);
  • les « co-parrains » du PPMO : les États-Unis et la Russie;
  • les « co-organisateurs » du volet multilatéral : l'Union européenne et le Japon;
  • un grand nombre d'autres « parties régionales », c'est-à-dire les États arabes, de la Mauritanie aux pays du Golfe;
  • les « parties extra-régionales » d'Asie, du Pacifique et d'Europe qui s'occupent du volet multilatéral du PPMO et reconnaissent l'importance de la question des réfugiés.

Rapport entre le GTR et les négociations bilatérales

Les Accords d'Oslo de 1993 entre Israël et l'Organisation de libération de la Palestine font figurer le problème des réfugiés au nombre des questions relevant du « statut permanent », à l'instar d'autres questions délicates comme les frontières, l'eau et Jérusalem. À la faveur de ces accords, les deux parties sont également convenues d'établir un comité quadripartite (incluant l'Égypte et la Jordanie) chargé de définir les modalités du retour des personnes déplacées par la guerre israélo-arabe de 1967.

Caravane de camions remplis de meubles 

La question des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées figure aussi à l'ordre du jour des négociations bilatérales dans le cadre du Traité de paix entre Israël et la Jordanie. Ce traité désigne le GTR comme l'une des tribunes où devrait être abordée la dimension humaine du problème des réfugiés.

Il est largement admis que les négociations bilatérales ne suffisent pas pour explorer tous les aspects d'une solution au problème des réfugiés, car une telle solution doit présenter de multiples facettes. Le GTR a donc pour mission d'appuyer et de compléter le processus visant à régler le problème des réfugiés de manière juste, globale et durable, sans préjuger de leurs droits et de leur statut futur.

Toutes les parties au Groupe de travail reconnaissent l'importance pour les réfugiés de voir le processus de paix déboucher sur des résultats tangibles. Par ailleurs, les membres du GTR ont abordé des questions à plus long terme et se sont interrogés sur la façon dont la communauté internationale, y compris les parties régionales, pouvait contribuer à trouver une solution durable et acceptable par tous.

Fonctionnement du GTR

Le GTR se réunit en séance plénière, qui réunit l'ensemble des 45 délégations, en réunion de coordination des parties les plus directement impliquées, et à l'occasion de réunions « intersessionnelles ». Au cours des séances plénières et des réunions de coordination, on passe en revue les travaux en cours du GTR et on définit les priorités pour l'avenir. Les réunions intersessionnelles mettent en présence des représentants arabes et israéliens, leurs homologues extra-régionaux et des experts internationaux, qui examinent plus en détail certains aspects précis de la question des réfugiés.

Lors de sa première séance de fond, à Ottawa, en mai 1992, le GTR a décidé d'axer ses travaux sur quelques grands thèmes. Par la suite, on a désigné des pays, également qualifiés de « guides », pour jouer un rôle directeur à l'égard de chacun de ces thèmes. Voici la liste de ceux-ci : bases de données (Norvège); bien-être des enfants (Suède); infrastructure économique et sociale (Union européenne); perfectionnement des ressources humaines, création d'emplois et formation professionnelle (États-Unis); réunification des familles (France); et santé publique (Italie). En collaboration avec les parties régionales, les guides ont la responsabilité de définir les besoins, de préparer des interventions et de mobiliser les ressources nécessaires.

Amélioration des conditions de vie des réfugiés

Le GTR a appuyé toute une gamme de projets précis qui sont la preuve que le processus de paix profite aux populations sur le terrain. En voici quelques exemples :

  • le GTR a aidé l'UNRWA à recueillir des fonds pour son Programme de mise en oeuvre de la paix (PIP). Plus de 90 millions de dollars américains ont été réunis pour des projets rattachés au PIP en Cisjordanie et à Gaza, en Jordanie, en Syrie et au Liban;

  • il a apporté un soutien à la formation dans les domaines de la santé publique, de la construction, de la petite entreprise, de l'agriculture et de l'administration publique;

  • il a mis en marche un processus visant à l'amélioration du financement et du fonctionnement de l'accès à l'hospitalisation pour les réfugiés palestiniens au Liban;

  • il a livré des fournitures médicales et du matériel sanitaire à l'UNRWA et à la Société du croissant-rouge pour les Palestiniens et a appuyé leurs cliniques;

  • il a élaboré et financé en partie un programme visant à satisfaire aux besoins urgents des enfants palestiniens en Cisjordanie et à Gaza, en Syrie, en Jordanie et au Liban;

Les parties au GTR ont également accordé un soutien financier à un grand nombre de projets individuels, notamment :

  • la construction de deux écoles dans le camp de Marka, en Jordanie;

  • la reconstruction de logements et d'écoles à Gaza;

  • la construction de deux cliniques à Aïn Arik et Beït Our en Cisjordanie;

  • la reconstruction de onze centres pour les jeunes en Cisjordanie et à Gaza;

  • la construction et l'aménagement d'un centre de santé au camp de Homs, en Syrie;

  • la rénovation des hôpitaux de Haïfa et d'Al-Hamshary, au Liban;

  • un programme de formation voué à la santé maternelle et infantile pour les infirmières et les sages-femmes de Gaza;

  • l'accroissement de l'aide médicale à Gaza;

  • la réfection de l'Hôpital du Gouvernorat à Khan Younis, dans la Bande de Gaza;

  • une usine de traitement des eaux usées pour le « petit camp de la plage », l'approvisionnement en eau potable pour Khan Younis et les camps de réfugiés à Gaza;

  • la construction de l'école Mansour à Tyr, au Liban;

  • la prestation de service sociaux et médicaux pour les cas spéciaux de sévère indigence en Jordanie;

  • la mise sur pied de bases de données sur les conditions de vie des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées en Jordanie;

  • le programme de micro-financement de Save the Children, à l'intention des réfugiées palestiniennes, au Liban;

  • la construction et l'aménagement d'une école mixte élémentaire et préparatoire à Soukhneh, en Jordanie;

  • la construction d'une centre communautaire à Tel el-Sultan, dans la Bande de Gaza;

  • le financement supplémentaire nécessaire à la conclusion des travaux pour un centre de réhabilitation communautaire dans le camp de Baqa'a;

  • réfection de l'habitat dans les camps de réfugiés au Liban;

  • financement d'une boulangerie et d'une serre dans le camp d'Al-Rashidieh, près de Tyr, au Liban;

  • rénovation, fourniture, mise à jour et garniture des stocks de la librairie du Centre de formation de Siblin, au Liban;

  • des contributions constantes en fournitures médicales aux territoires palestiniens;

  • l'ouverture et l'administration d'un centre médical de jour en Cisjordanie.

  • Facilitation et élargissement de l'accès à la réunification des familles

 Photo d'une jeune famille

Les parties au GTR ont un objectif humanitaire commun, celui de réunir les familles dont les membres ont été séparés à la suite du conflit israélo-arabe. Grâce aux travaux du Groupe, il y a eu augmentation du contingent de personnes admises en Cisjordanie et à Gaza pour y retrouver leur famille. Sous les auspices du GTR, la France a travaillé en profondeur avec les parties régionales afin de recueillir de l'information sur les pratiques en cours, de cerner les domaines nécessitant des améliorations et de faciliter les négociations pour aplanir les divergences.

De plus, avec l'aide du Canada et du Koweït, le processus de relocalisation de quelque 500 familles du « camp Canada » dans le Sinaï égyptien vers la Bande de Gaza a été complété.

Soutien au processus de recherche d'une solution viable et globale à la question des réfugiés

Pour pouvoir s'attaquer au problème des réfugiés au Moyen-Orient, il faut que l'on parvienne à une perception partagée de son ampleur et que l'on évalue l'efficacité des mesures prises pour y remédier. Le GTR a parrainé plusieurs initiatives de collecte et d'analyse de renseignements de base dans le but de définir la portée du problème des réfugiés, d'établir des secteurs d'intervention prioritaires et d'évaluer l'incidence d'autres options politiques. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Une mise à jour de l'enquête sur les conditions de vie en Cisjordanie et à Gaza de même que de l'enquête sur les conditions de vie en Jordanie comportant un volet sur les réfugiés;

  • Des évaluations complètes visant à recenser les besoins d'aide prioritaires des réfugiés dans les domaines de la santé publique, du bien-être des enfants ainsi que de l'infrastructure économique et sociale.

Un forum propice au dialogue

Le GTR constitue une instance au sein de laquelle les parties régionales peuvent dialoguer sur les questions touchant les réfugiés. Ces occasions de dialogue leur permettent de clarifier leurs positions respectives, de renforcer la confiance, d'élaborer et de mettre à l'essai des scénarios et de susciter la confiance mutuelle nécessaire à la prise de décisions difficiles. Ces discussions n'ont pas seulement lieu aux séances plénières mais aussi aux diverses réunions intersessionnelles, notamment :

  • les réunions de coordination périodiques des principales parties concernées. Depuis 1996, le GTR a tenu cinq de ces réunions, la plus récente ayant eu lieu en janvier 1999;

  • une intersessionelle sur la formation professionnelle tenue à Washington en juin 1998;

  • les réunions portant sur les questions prioritaires que sont la santé publique et le bien-être des enfants, auxquelles doivent faire face les réfugiés palestiniens et leurs familles; les plus récentes ont eu lieu à Rome en janvier 1998, pour une Initiative de collaboration régionale et en avril 1999, pour le Programme d'accès à l'hospitalisation au Liban;

  • les examens périodiques des besoins de renseignements, et suivi de ces ces examens;

  • les réunions intersessionnelles portant sur les questions et les pratiques touchant la réunification des familles, la dernière ayant été tenue à Paris, en mars 1999.

Le GTR encourage aussi le dialogue avec les réfugiés eux-mêmes en envoyant des missions internationales dans les camps de réfugiés, pour aider à identifier les axes des activités futures du GTR et pour obtenir la réaction de ceux-ci à ses activités. Ces missions démontrent aux réfugiés palestiniens que la communauté internationale continue à se préoccuper de leur situation.

Le GTR a mené des missions en Jordanie en 1994, en 1996 et en 1999 et à Gaza et en Cisjordanie en 1998; de semblables missions internationales ont été menées au Liban en 1994 et en 1997. Ces diverses missions ont bien fait ressortir la complexité du problème des réfugiés palestiniens et la nécessité de le résoudre.

Quels sont les projets du GTR?

Depuis sa création, le GTR est attaché à garantir un meilleur avenir aux personnes déplacées par le conflit israélo-arabe. On ne saurait trouver ni mettre en oeuvre une solution globale et durable pour les réfugiés palestiniens sans l'aide et le soutien de la communauté internationale. Le GTR s'efforce de mieux faire comprendre les questions pouvant conduire à une solution. En même temps, il continuera son travail de sensibilisation aux besoins des réfugiés palestiniens au Liban, en Jordanie, en Syrie, ainsi qu'en Cisjordanie et à Gaza, et s'emploiera à mobiliser les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer leurs conditions de vie.

Les photographies proviennent de l'UNRWA et de l'ambassadeur Robert Fowler, ancien représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations-unies à New-York