Biography of Kerry Buck

Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the North Atlantic Council

Kerry Buck

Kerry Buck has been appointed as Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the North Atlantic Council (NATO).

Ms. Buck (BA Hons, Political Science, University of Western Ontario; Common Law and Civil Law, LLB, BCL, McGill University) joined Canada’s then Department of External Affairs and International Trade in 1991.

She most recently served as Political Director and Assistant Deputy Minister for International Security and Political Affairs from 2011 to 2015. Prior to that, she held Assistant Deputy Minister portfolios for Africa and for Latin America and the Caribbean, and was the head of the Afghanistan Task Force. She has also served in a number of other senior positions at the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, including Director General for the Middle East and Maghreb (2008-2009), for Afghanistan (2006-2008), and for Public Diplomacy and Federal-Provincial Affairs (2006-2007), and Director for Human Rights (2000-2001). She was posted to the Canadian Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York (1994-1996).

Outside of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, Ms. Buck served in the Privy Council Office as Director of Operations for Machinery of Government Secretariat responsible for Cabinet and Ministerial mandates (2003-2005), as Director of Policy and International Programs at the Canadian Human Rights Commission (2001-2003), with the International Development Research Centre and with the Constitutional Law Bureau of the Office of the Attorney General of Ontario.

Ms. Buck speaks English and French. She is married to Michael Pearson and has a son and three step-daughters.

Biographie de Kerry Buck

Ambassadrice et représentante permanente auprès du Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord

Kerry Buck

Kerry Buck a été nommée ambassadrice et représentante permanente du Canada au Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN).

Mme Buck (B.A. spécialisé, Sciences politiques, Université de Western Ontario; Droit commun et droit civil, LLB, BCL, Université McGill) s’est jointe en 1991 à ce qui était alors le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada.

Elle a plus récemment agi à titre de directrice politique et sous-ministre adjointe de la Sécurité internationale et des Affaires politiques de 2011 à 2015. Avant cela, Mme Buck a été chargée des portefeuilles de sous-ministre adjointe pour l’Afrique et pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, et a été à la tête du Groupe de travail sur l’Afghanistan. Elle a aussi occupé de nombreux autres postes de niveau supérieur au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, y compris ceux de directrice générale pour le Moyen-Orient et le Maghreb (2008-2009), directrice générale pour l’Afghanistan (2006-2008), directrice générale de la Diplomatie publique et des relations fédérales-provinciales (2006-2007) et directrice des Droits de la personne (2000-2001). Elle a été en poste à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York (1994-1996).

En dehors du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, Mme Buck a travaillé au Bureau du Conseil privé à titre de directrice des opérations du Secrétariat de l’appareil gouvernemental responsable des mandats du Cabinet et des ministères (2003-2005), à titre de directrice de la Politique et des programmes internationaux à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (2001-2003) et auprès du Centre de recherches pour le développement international et du Bureau du droit constitutionnel du Bureau du procureur général de l’Ontario.

Mme Buck parle anglais et français. Elle est mariée à Michael Pearson et a un fils et trois belles-filles.