Message from the Ambassador of Canada to the Organization of American States

Ambassador Jennifer Loten

Jennifer Loten,
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States

Canada is a country of the Americas. Through active engagement at the OAS we collaborate to build a hemisphere that offers security, opportunity and justice to the peoples of the Americas.

The OAS has important convening power that allows our delegation to put strong Canadian values like respect for human rights, democratic institutions, diversity and equity at the centre of interactions between member states.

At its best, the OAS mobilises the countries of the Americas to speak together as a strong voice for democratic values and to fight for rights and equality by implementing the values and principles enshrined in its foundational agreements including the OAS Charter, the Inter-American Democratic Charter, and the Declaration on Hemispheric Security. OAS core institutions have sought to expand access to the benefits, privileges and responsibilities of citizenship in the Americas for the most vulnerable populations and to constantly increase our expectations of the democratically elected governments of the Americas.

It is a great privilege to represent Canada amongst our Americas friends, knowing that over the 25+ years of membership at the OAS, we have made significant contributions to some of the OAS’s greatest collective achievements for the Americas. Canada has much more to do!

Jennifer Loten,
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization of American States

Message de l’ambassadeur du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains

Ambassadeur Jennifer Loten

Jennifer Loten,
Ambassadeur et Représentante permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains

Le Canada est un pays des Amériques. À travers notre participation active au sein de l’OÉA, nous collaborons pour construire un hémisphère qui offre la sécurité, l’opportunité et la justice aux peuples des Amériques.

L’OÉA a un important pouvoir de convocation qui permet à notre délégation de mettre de l’avant les grandes valeurs canadiennes comme le respect des droits humains,  les institutions démocratiques, la diversité et l’équité au centre des interactions entre les États membres.

L’OÉA mobilise les pays des Amériques pour parler ensemble sous une voix en faveur des valeurs démocratiques et à la défense des droits et de l’égalité en mettant en œuvre les valeurs et principes énoncés dans les accords fondateurs incluant la Charte de l’OÉA, la Charte démocratique interaméricaine, ainsi que la Déclaration sur la sécurité hémisphérique. Les organes centraux de l’OÉA ont cherché à élargir l’accès aux avantages, privilèges et responsabilités des citoyens dans les Amériques pour les populations les plus vulnérables afin d’élever constamment nos attentes des gouvernements démocratiquement élus des Amériques.

Il est un grand privilège de représenter le Canada parmi nos amis des Amériques, sachant que depuis les 25 dernières années d’adhésion auprès de l’OÉA, nous avons apporté d’importantes contributions à certaines des plus grandes réussites collectives de l’OÉA pour les Amériques. Le Canada a encore beaucoup de contributions à faire!

Jennifer Loten,
Ambassadeur et Représentante permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des États américains