Overview of the Organization of American States

Founded in 1948, the Organization of American States (OAS) is the oldest regional organization in the world. It was built upon the Pan-American Union to promote peaceful relations in the Americas. The OAS is the premier political multilateral forum of the hemisphere, with 34 active member states. The OAS has also granted permanent observer status to 70 states and the European Union. It is the only regional organization that includes North, Central, and South America and the Caribbean.

The OAS is built on four pillars: democracy, human rights, security and development. These core values underlie the organization’s work in safeguarding peace and stability. They are also among the OAS’s areas of greatest expertise. OAS headquarters are located in Washington, D.C., and the organization has national offices in its member states. In 2015, the OAS’ annual regular budget amounted to US$84.3 million, supplemented by US$51.1 million in voluntary contributions.

Member states are represented by their Permanent Representatives, who meet regularly to analyze hemispheric issues, dialogue and take collective action as necessary.

General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is the principal organ of the OAS. It gathers Ministers of Foreign Affairs of all member states on an annual basis and also holds special sessions to consider urgent matters. OAS member states generally take decisions by consensus.

The General Assembly provides the forum where major decisions are made concerning OAS policies and actions. This year’s General Assembly will take place in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, from June 13-15, 2016, with the theme of “Institutional Strengthening for Sustainable Development in the Americas”. For more information, see OAS General Assembly.

Structure of the OAS

General Secretariat

The OAS General Secretariat is led by a Secretary General (SG) and an Assistant Secretary General (ASG) elected by the membership for up to two 5-year terms. On March 18, 2015, OAS member states elected Uruguayan Luis Almagro Lemes as the new Secretary General.

Permanent Council

The Permanent Council, as a main governing body of the OAS, meets regularly to set broad priorities for the organization and direct its ongoing actions. It is composed of one Permanent Representative per member state, who is accredited with the rank of ambassador.

The Inter-American Council for Integral Development

The Inter-American Council for Integral Development (CIDI) is a body of the Organization of American States directly answerable to the General Assembly. It has  decision making power in matters of partnership for integral development. The purpose of CIDI is to promote cooperation among its Member States for the furtherance of their integral development and, in particular, to help eliminate extreme poverty.

Summit of the Americas

The Summit of the Americas convenes the leaders of the hemisphere every three years. It plays a key role in setting the priorities of the Inter-American system and, more broadly, in fostering discussions at the highest level on issues of common interest for the region. The OAS serves as the technical secretariat and institutional memory of the summit process.

Since the first summit in 1994 in Miami, leaders have met on seven occasions to discuss their shared vision as well as to address the political, economic and social development challenges and opportunities in the hemisphere. Canada hosted the 2001 summit in Quebec City.

Panama hosted the Seventh Summit of the Americas on April 10-11, 2015. For the first time, leaders and representatives from all 35 countries of the hemisphere were in attendance. The general theme of the Panama Summit was “Prosperity with Equity: The Challenge of Cooperation in the Americas”.

A number of events took place on the margins of the Panama Summit, including the Forum of Civil Society and Social Actors, the CEO Summit, the Young Americas Forum and the first Forum of University Chancellors. Ottawa-based ParlAmericas and the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino) also co-hosted a Parliamentary Gathering on Legislative Transparency.

Canada reports on its progress in implementing commitments made at the summits. Please see, reports submitted by Canada and other member states.

For more information, see Summits of the Americas Secretariat.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Aperçu de l’Organisation des États américains

Fondée en 1948, l’OÉA est la plus ancienne organisation régionale dans le monde. Il a été fondé sur les bases de l’Union panaméricaine afin de promouvoir les relations pacifiques dans les Amériques. L’OÉA est le principal forum multilatéral de l’hémisphère avec 34 États membres à son actif. L’OÉA a également accordé le statut d’observateur permanent à 69 États et l’Union européenne. C’est la seule organisation régionale qui comprend l’Amérique du Nord, Central, et du Sud et les Caraïbes.

L’OÉA est fondé sur quatre piliers centraux: la démocratie, les droits humains, la sécurité et le développement. Ces valeurs fondamentales sont à la base du travail de l’organisation dans la sauvegarde de la paix et de la stabilité. Elles font également partie des domaines d’expertise de l’organisation. Le siège social de l’OÉA se trouve à Washington, D.C., et l’organisation a aussi des bureaux nationaux dans ses États membres. En 2015, le budget annuel de l’OÉA était de 84.3 millions dollars américains, avec 51,1 millions dollars américains supplémentaires provenant des contributions volontaires.

Les États membres sont représentés par leurs représentants permanents, qui se réunissent régulièrement pour analyser les problématiques hémisphériques, entreprendre des dialogues et agir collectivement si cela est nécessaire.

Assemblée générale

L’Assemblée générale (AG) est l’organe principal de l’organisation. Il rassemble les ministres des Affaires étrangères de tous les États membres sur une base annuelle et tient également des sessions extraordinaires pour examiner des questions urgentes. Les États membres de l’OÉA prennent généralement leurs décisions par consensus.

L’Assemblée générale est le forum où les décisions importantes sont prises concernant les politiques et actions de l’OÉA. L’Assemblée générale de cette année aura lieu à Santo Domingo, en République dominicaine, du 13 au 15 juin 2016, avec pour thème « Le renforcement institutionnel pour le développement durable dans les Amériques ». Pour plus d’information, consultez Assemblée générale de l’OÉA.

Structure de l’OEA

Secrétariat général

Le Secrétariat général de l’OÉA est dirigé par un Secrétaire général (SG) et un Secrétaire général adjoint (SGA) élu par les membres pour un maximum de deux mandats de cinq ans. Le 18 mars 2015, les États membres de l’OÉA ont élu l’Uruguayen, Luis Almagro Lemes, en tant que nouveau Secrétaire général.

Conseil permanent

Le Conseil permanent, en tant que principal organe administratif de l’OÉA, se réunit régulièrement pour définir les grandes priorités de l’organisation et pour diriger les actions en cours. Ce conseil est composé d’un représentant permanent par État membre qui est accrédité avec le titre d’ambassadeur.

Conseil interaméricain pour le développement intégré

Le Conseil interaméricain pour le développement intégré (CIDI) est un organe de l’Organisation des États américains qui se rapporte directement à l’Assemblée générale. Ce conseil a le pouvoir décisionnel en matière de partenariat pour le développement intégré. L’objectif du CIDI est de promouvoir la coopération entre ses États membres pour la poursuite de leur développement intégré et plus particulièrement pour aider à éliminer la pauvreté extrême.

Sommet des Amériques

Le Sommet des Amériques réunit les dirigeants des États de l’hémisphère tous les trois ans. Il joue un rôle clé dans l’établissement des priorités du système interaméricain et, plus généralement, dans la stimulation de discussions au plus haut niveau sur des enjeux d’intérêt commun à la région. L’OÉA sert de secrétariat technique et de mémoire institutionnelle pour le processus du Sommet.

Depuis le premier sommet en 1994 à Miami, les dirigeants se sont rencontrés à sept occasions différentes pour discuter leurs visions communes et pour aborder les enjeux politiques, économiques et du développement social, ainsi que les opportunités dans l’hémisphère. Le Canada a accueilli le Sommet de 2001 dans la ville de Québec.

Le Panama a accueilli le Septième sommet des Amériques (anglais seulement) le 10 et 11 avril 2015. Pour la première fois, les dirigeants et représentants des 35 pays de l’hémisphère étaient présents. Le thème général du Sommet de Panama était « La prospérité avec l’équité : le défi de la coopération dans les Amériques ».

Plusieurs évènements ont eu lieu en marge du Sommet de Panama, y compris le Forum des sociétés civiles et des acteurs sociaux, le Sommet du CEO, le Forum des jeunes Amériques, et le premier Forum des chanceliers universitaires. Le ParlAmericas basé à Ottawa et le Parlement de l’Amérique latine (Parlatino) ont également coorganisé un Rassemblement parlementaire sur la transparence législative.

Le Canada est fier de ses progrès dans la mise en œuvre des engagements pris lors des Sommets. Veuillez consulter les rapports présentés par le Canada et les autres États membres.Pour plus d’information, consultez rapports présentés par le Canada et les autres États membres.

Pour plus d’information, consultez le Secrétariat des Sommets des Amériques (anglais seulement).

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *