Canada’s priorities at the Organization of American States

The Organization of American States (OAS) is an important multilateral vehicle for advancing Canada's goals of increasing mutual economic opportunity, strengthening security and institutions, and fostering lasting relationships.

Canada places great value on building and nurturing relationships with partners in the Americas. In this endeavour, inter-American institutions such as the Summit of the Americas process, the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) are also key fora for hemispheric cooperation.

Canada’s priorities

Canada’s strongest engagement at the OAS is in the areas of democracy, human rights and security. Our specific priorities at the OAS are:

  1. Contribute to building a stable foundation for the Inter-American Human Rights System in support of diversity and pluralism.
  2. Promote democracy, governance, public safety and security through collaboration with inter-American organs and agencies.
  3. Support multilateral action in the Americas to advance global sustainability goals, including fostering economic growth and opportunity.

A number of Canada's efforts touch all three of these priorities. Canada’s cross-cutting thematic areas are: institutional strengthening, human rights, gender issues and indigenous populations, security and public safety, and alignment with the 2030 SDGs.

Canada’s contribution

Peruvian children with Canadian flags

Children at a Canadian-funded UNICEF project in Ucayli, Peru. (Photo courtesy of Embassy of Canada to Peru and Bolivia)

Since joining the OAS in 1990, Canada has made significant contributions to OAS’ collective achievements, including through the establishment of the Inter-American Democratic Charter, the adoption of the Social Charter of the Americas (DOC Version, 108 KB)Footnote *, and the elaboration of a Declaration on Security in the Americas (PDF Version, 83 KB)Footnote *. To ensure that the OAS plays an effective role in the hemisphere, Canada has promoted institutional reform. Canada is also working with the OAS to foster both sustainable development and growth with equity.

Through its diplomatic engagement and financial support, Canada has contributed to policy development and the implementation of projects in areas of key Canadian interest, which complement and leverage the impact of Canada’s bilateral interventions in the region.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Les objectifs et priorités du Canada à l’Organisation des États américains

L’Organisation des États américains (OÉA) est un véhicule multilatéral important pour faire avancer nos objectifs qui sont  la croissance des possibilités économiques mutuelles, le renforcement de la sécurité et des institutions, et l’entretien des relations diplomatiques durables.

Dans cet effort, les institutions interaméricaines telles que l’Organisation des États américains (OEA), le Sommet des Amériques (anglais seulement), la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID) et l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé (anglais seulement) (OPS) sont des forums clés pour la coopération hémisphérique.

Les priorités du Canada

Les plus grands engagements du Canada auprès de l’OÉA sont dans les sphères de la démocratie, les droits humains et la sécurité. Nos priorités spécifiques à l’OÉA sont les suivants :

  1. Contribuer à la construction d’une base stable pour le Système interaméricain des droits humains en faveur de la diversité et du pluralisme.
  2. Promouvoir la démocratie, la bonne gouvernance, la sûreté publique et la sécurité grâce à la collaboration avec les organes et agences interaméricains.
  3. Soutenir l’action multilatérale dans les Amériques pour faire avancer les objectifs mondiaux de développement durable, notamment en favorisant la croissance et les possibilités économiques.

Plusieurs efforts du Canada touchent ces trois priorités. Les thématiques transversales sont dans les domaines suivants : le renforcement institutionnel, les droits humains, les enjeux du genre et des populations autochtones, la sécurité et la sûreté publique, ainsi que l’alignement avec les Objectifs du développement durable (ODD) 2030.

Les contributions du Canada

Des enfants péruviens avec des drapeaux canadiens

Des enfants d’un projet de l’UNICEF financé par le Canada à Ucayli, au Pérou. (Photo : gracieuseté de l’ambassade du Canada au Pérou et en Bolivie)

 Depuis son adhésion à l’OÉA en 1990, le Canada a apporté une contribution importante aux réalisations collectives de l’OÉA, y compris la mise en place de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine, l’adoption de la Charte sociale des Amériques (Version DOC, 118 ko)Notes de bas de page *, et l’élaboration d’une Déclaration sur la sécurité dans les Amériques (Version DOC, 325 ko)Notes de bas de page *. Afin d’assurer que l’OÉA joue un rôle efficace dans l’hémisphère, le Canada a favorisé la réforme institutionnelle. Le Canada travaille également avec l’OÉA pour favoriser le développement durable et la croissance économique équitable.

Grâce à son engagement diplomatique et son soutient financer, le Canada a contribué à l’élaboration des politiques et la mise en œuvre des projets dans les domaines clés des intérêts canadiens qui se complètent et tirent parti de l’impact des interventions bilatérales du Canada dans la région.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *