Gwynne Dyer

Gwynne Dyer was born in Newfoundland in 1943. After studying at universities in Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom, he received his PhD in military and Middle Eastern history from the University of London.

Dyer served in the Canadian, American and British navies. He taught military history and war studies for two years at the Canadian Forces College in Toronto and for four years at the Royal Military Academy in Sandhurst.

Since he left teaching in 1973, Dyer has worked as a freelance journalist, broadcaster and lecturer. His syndicated columns on international affairs appear in a dozen languages in nearly 200 newspapers published in more than 40 countries around the world.

In 1980, Gwynne Dyer and Tina Viljoen collaborated on a seven-part television series for the National Film Board of Canada (NFB): War first telecast in Canada in 1983. Eventually, War was shown in 45 countries and one episode, “The Profession of Arms”, was nominated for an Academy Award. With Viljoen, Dyer wrote a book based on the series: War, published in 1985. For the NFB and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Dyer and Viljoen again collaborated on Defence of Canada, a three-part series aired in 1986. Their book The Defence of Canada: In the Arms of the Empire was published in 1990.

In 1994 Dyer completed a four-part series, The Human Race, which looked at the roots, nature and future of human politics. In 1995, his three-part series on peacekeeping in Bosnia, Protection Force, first aired. Dyer has also made several radio documentaries, including a seven-hour series, The Gorbachev Revolution, and a six-hour series entitled Millennium, which aired on the CBC in the spring of 1996.

Gwynne Dyer is frequent lecturer. His reflections on Globalization and the Nation-State were published in 1996 by the Canadian Institute of International Affairs in its series Behind the Headlines.

Gwynne Dyer was the O.D. Skelton Memorial lecturer on March 23, 1998, in St. John's. Dyer is a freelance journalist, broadcaster and lecturer. In his speech, he suggests that the world may not be as dangerous as media reports of negative issues, problems and disasters convey, likely intentionally. There is certainly no shortage of bad news to fill the headlines. But Dyer contends that the world is becoming a better place in which to live and arguably a more democratic one.

He provides several detailed descriptions of demonstrations in the past couple of decades, such as the ones in Manila, Beijing and Berlin, and describes the remarkable impact and example of these non-violent revolutions. Regimes that we never imagined could democratize have done exactly that. Yet which image is more accurate - the dangerous world of the longer term, or the possibly ephemeral, happier world of the recent past? In his view, human nature is egalitarian and peaceful and Dyer tries to demonstrate this through a brief history of human development, emphasizing particularly the development of government and communications, including the growth of democracy. For international relations, the implications are profound, as democratic societies do not tend to go to war with one another.

Dyer explains that even the UN is bending its own rules to support democracy rather than sovereignty. In his view, Canada can take advantage of these changes; for example, it initiated the signing of an international treaty banning the production, possession, sale or use of anti-personnel mines. Thus, Dyer feels that it is time to be optimistic about foreign policy.

Gwynne Dyer

Gwynne Dyer est né à Terre-Neuve en 1943. Après avoir étudié dans des universités du Canada, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni, il obtient un doctorat en histoire militaire et moyen-orientale de l'University of London.

M. Dyer a servi dans la marine canadienne, américaine et britannique. Il a enseigné l'histoire militaire et la polémologie au Collège des Forces canadiennes à Toronto pendant deux ans et à la Royal Military Academy, à Sandhurst, pendant quatre ans.

Après avoir quitté l'enseignement en 1973, M. Dyer exerce le métier de journaliste pigiste, de communicateur et de conférencier. Ses chroniques souscrites sur les affaires internationales sont traduites dans une douzaine de langues et publiées par près de 200 journaux dans une quarantaine de pays.

En 1980, Gwynne Dyer et Tina Viljoen collaborent à une série télévisée de sept épisodes, La Guerre, réalisée par l'Office national du film et diffusée la première fois en 1983. Par la suite, La Guerre est projetée sur les écrans dans 45 pays, et un épisode, Le Métier des armes, est nominé pour un Oscar. Avec Mme Viljoen, Dyer écrit un ouvrage fondé sur la série, La Guerre, publié en 1985. Dyer et Viljoen collaborent de nouveau à une série de trois épisodes pour l'ONF et la CBC, La Défense du Canada, mis en ondes en 1986. Leur ouvrage, The Defence of Canada: In the Arms of the Empire est publié en 1990.

En 1994, Dyer termine une série de quatre épisodes, intitulée The Human Race, un regard sur les origines, la nature et l'avenir de la politique humaine. En 1995, sa série en trois volets sur le maintien de la paix en Bosnie, Protection Force, est diffusée. Dyer réalise également plusieurs documentaires pour la radio, y compris une série de sept heures The Gorbachev Revolution et une autre de six heures, Millennium, mis en ondes par la CBC au printemps 1996.

Souvent appelé à donner des conférences, ses réflexions sur la mondialisation et l'État-nation (Globalization and the Nation-State) sont publiées en 1996 par l'Institut canadien des affaires internationales, dans le cadre de la série Behind the Headlines.

C'est à St. John's, le 23 mars, que Gwynne Dyer, journaliste indépendant, commentateur à la télé et conférencier bien connu, a prononcé la Conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton de 1998. Dans son allocution, il dit que le monde n'est pas aussi dangereux que semblent l'indiquer, probablement à dessein, les reportages qui traitent de questions négatives, de problèmes et de catastrophes. Certes, il ne manque pas de mauvaises nouvelles pour faire les manchettes, mais Gwynne Dyer est d'avis que la situation s'améliore et que la démocratie fait des progrès.

Il décrit de façon détaillée des manifestations qui ont eu lieu au cours des dernières décennies (à Manille, Beijing et Berlin, par exemple), évoque l'impact qu'ont eu ces révolutions pacifiques et montre comment elles ont représenté un exemple pour d'autres de par le monde. Des régimes dont on croyait qu'ils ne se démocratiseraient jamais l'ont fait. Or, quelle image est plus proche de la réalité - celle d'un monde dangereux à long terme ou celle, plus récente et peut-être plus éphémère, d'un monde plus détendu? Selon Gwynne Dyer, la nature de l'homme est égalitaire et pacifique; il tente de le démontrer en traçant un bref historique du développement humain dans lequel il met en relief le développement des gouvernements et des communications, ainsi que la croissance de la démocratie. Ces tendances ont des incidences profondes sur les relations internationales car, en général, les sociétés démocratiques n'entrent pas en guerre les unes contre les autres. Le journaliste explique que même l'ONU fait entorse à ses propres règles pour appuyer la démocratie au détriment de la souveraineté.

Il croit que le Canada peut tirer parti de ces transformations; il a, par exemple, proposé la signature d'un traité international interdisant la production, la possession, la vente et l'usage de mines antipersonnel. Aussi Gwynne Dyer estime-t-il qu'il y a lieu d'être optimiste en ce qui concerne la politique étrangère.