Mr. Allan Gotlieb

Allan E. Gotlieb presented the first O.D. Skelton Memorial Lecture on Canadian foreign policy in Toronto on December 10, 1991. A former deputy minister and Canada's Ambassador to the United States from 1981 to 1989, Gotlieb was subsequently the Chairman of Canada Council, in private legal practice and a director of several major Canadian organizations. In his view, Canada's relations with its superpower neighbour to the south provide us with the greatest insights into Canada's foreign policy.

In his speech, Gotlieb depicts the United States as the central factor in Canada's foreign policy, influencing relations with the rest of the world as well as necessitating careful management of our continental association. To do this, Gotlieb cites themes from Canadian foreign policy, such as preference for multilateralism and distrust of bilateral institutions. With free trade in North America ever more comprehensive, it is vital for Canada to nurture strong ties with the rest of the world in order to survive and flourish.

Canada's prosperity and power, he contends, depend on the support of multilateralism and reliance on international institutions to offset the predominance of the United States, all the while maintaining and improving the bilateral relationship between the two North American countries.

Biography of Allan E. Gotlieb

Allan E. Gotlieb was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1928. He studied at the University of California and subsequently at Harvard Law School and at Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar.

Mr. Gotlieb began his public service career with the Department of External Affairs in 1957 and served in Ottawa, Geneva and Washington. He was named a member of the Eighteen-Nation Disarmament Conference in 1962, and on his return to Ottawa in 1964 became the Head of the Legal Division at External Affairs. In 1967, Mr. Gotlieb was appointed Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs and Legal Advisor. In 1967 and 1968, he was Canadian alternate delegate to the United Nations' General Assembly. In December 1968, he was appointed Deputy Minister of the newly created Department of Communications. From 1973 to 1977 he was Deputy Minister of Manpower and Immigration. He was Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs from 1977 to 1981 and Canada's Ambassador to the United States from 1981 to 1989.

An author, Mr. Gotlieb has written five books and has also published many articles in the fields of political science and international law. Mr. Gotlieb is Chairman of Canada Council and member of Boards of Directors of several major Canadian organizations. Mr. Gotlieb is a recipient of the Government of Canada Public Service "Outstanding Achievement Award" and is a Companion of the Order of Canada.

M. Allan Gotlieb

Allan E. Gotlieb a prononcé la première Conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton sur la politique étrangère du Canada, qui a eu lieu à Toronto le 10 décembre 1991. Ancien sous-ministre, ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis de 1981 à 1989, Allan Gotlieb a par la suite été président du Conseil des Arts du Canada et membre du comité de direction de plusieurs grandes organisations canadiennes, en plus d'exercer le droit à titre privé. Il dit dans son allocution que les relations entre le Canada et son grand voisin du sud exercent l'influence la plus déterminante sur la politique étrangère du Canada.

L'ancien ambassadeur estime que les États-Unis sont l'élément central de cette politique étrangère et que cette situation influence les relations du Canada avec le reste du monde et nous oblige à faire preuve de prudence dans la gestion de nos rapports avec notre voisin. Pour illustrer son propos, il évoque certains thèmes de la politique étrangère canadienne, notamment la préférence pour le multilatéralisme et la méfiance envers les institutions bilatérales. Le libre-échange nord-américain englobant désormais un nombre croissant de domaines, le Canada doit maintenir des liens solides avec les autres pays du monde afin de survivre et de prospérer.

Selon Allan Gotlieb, la prospérité future du Canada et l'influence qu'il peut exercer dépendent du soutien qu'il accordera au multilatéralisme et de son recours aux institutions internationales pour contrebalancer la prédominance des États-Unis, tout en maintenant et en améliorant les relations bilatérales avec son voisin.

Biographie de Allan E. Gotlieb

Allan E. Gotlieb est né à Winnipeg (Manitoba) en 1928. Il a fait ses études à l'université de la Californie puis au Harvard Law School et à Oxford en tant que boursier Rhodes.

M. Gotlieb a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique au ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1957. Il a occupé des postes à Ottawa, à Genève et à Washington. Il a été nommé membre du Comité de désarmement des 18 pays, en 1962, et à son retour à Ottawa, en 1964, il est devenu chef des services juridiques au ministère des Affaires extérieures. En 1967, M. Gotlieb a été nommé sous-secrétaire d'État adjoint aux Affaires extérieures et conseiller juridique. En 1967 et en 1968, il a été délégué canadien suppléant auprès de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. En décembre 1968, il a été nommé sousministre du ministère des Communications, nouvellement créé. De 1973 à 1977, il a été sous-ministre de la Maind'oeuvre et de l'Immigration, de 1977 à 1981, soussecrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures et, de 1981 à 1989, ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis.

M. Gotlieb est l'auteur de cinq ouvrages. En outre, il a publié un grand nombre d'articles sur la science politique et le droit international. Il est président du Conseil des arts du Canada et membre du conseil d'administration de plusieurs grandes organisations canadiennes. M. Gotlieb est récipiendaire du Prix pour services insignes accordé à la Fonction publique par le Gouvernement du Canada et Compagnon de l'ordre du Canada.