Michael Ignatieff

Michael Ignatieff was born in Toronto on 12 May 1947. He graduated from the University of Toronto with a B.A. in History. After earning his Ph.D. from Harvard University, he was elected a Senior Research Fellow at King’s College, Cambridge. He has taught at Harvard, Cambridge, Oxford, the University of California, the University of London and the London School of Economics.

For several years Dr. Ignatieff lived in England, where he was a regular broadcaster and critic on television and radio, including feature programmes on Channel 4 and the British Broadcasting Corporation. His award-winning series on nationalism in the twentieth century, Blood and Belonging: Journeys into the New Nationalism, was first screened on the BBC in 1993. His book on the same subject won the Lionel Gelber Award.

By then, Dr. Ignatieff had already written several scholarly works, on subjects as diverse as the English penal system, the human need for community, and the Scottish Enlightenment, as well as a family memoir, A Russian Album (1987), which won the Governor-General’s Award for Non-Fiction and the Heinemann Award. Ignatieff’s second novel, Scar Tissue (1993), was short-listed for both the Booker Prize for Fiction and the Whitbread Novel Award.

Professor Ignatieff has written several books on modern warfare and on questions associated with human rights, as well as a much-acclaimed biography of Isaiah Berlin. He frequently contributes articles and reviews to a wide range of newspapers, journals and magazines. In 2000, Michael Ignatieff was invited by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation to deliver the Massey Lectures, which were subsequently published as The Rights Revolution.

His latest novel, Charlie Johnson in the Flames, appeared earlier this year and his analysis of the implications of the fight against terrorism for liberal democracy, The Lesser Evil: Political Ethics in an Age of Terror, will be available in May 2004. In addition to his teaching, Michael Ignatieff often speaks on historical subjects, philosophical questions and contemporary issues.

Michael Ignatieff is the Carr Professor and Director of the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He lives with his wife in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

This year’s O.D. Skelton Memorial Lecture by Professor Michael Ignatieff is entitled “Peace, Order and Good Government: A Foreign Policy Agenda for Canada”.

Michael Ignatieff

Michael Ignatieff est né à Toronto le 12 mai 1947. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en histoire de l'Université de Toronto. Après avoir reçu un doctorat de l'Université Harvard, il a été chargé de recherche au King's College, à Cambridge. Il a enseigné à Harvard, à Cambridge, à Oxford, à l'Université de la Californie, à l'Université de Londres et à la London School of Economics.

M. Ignatieff a vécu plusieurs années en Angleterre, où il a travaillé régulièrement comme communicateur et critique à la télévision et à la radio, notamment dans le cadre d'émissions de prestige au Channel 4 et à la British Broadcasting Corporation. Sa série primée sur le nationalisme au XXe siècle, Blood and Belonging: Journeys into the New Nationalism, a été portée à l'écran pour la première fois en 1993 par la BBC. Son livre sur le même sujet a remporté le prix Lionel Gelber.

À cette époque, M. Ignatieff avait déjà rédigé plusieurs oeuvres savantes sur des sujets aussi variés que le système pénal anglais, le besoin de l'être humain de former une collectivité et le siècle des Lumières en Écosse, ainsi qu'un livre de souvenirs de famille, A Russian Album (1987), qui a remporté le prix du gouverneur général dans la catégorie études et essais et le prix Heinemann. Son deuxième roman, Scar Tissue (1993), a figuré au nombre des finalistes pour le prix Booker dans la catégorie fiction et pour le prix Whitbread.

M. Ignatieff a écrit plusieurs livres sur la guerre moderne et sur des questions liées aux droits de la personne, ainsi qu'une biographie d'Isaiah Berlin qui lui a valu de nombreux éloges. Il rédige fréquemment des articles et des critiques à l'intention de nombreux journaux et magazines. En 2000, M. Ignatieff a été invité par la Société Radio-Canada à prononcer les conférences Massey, qui ont plus tard été publiées sous le titre The Rights Revolution.

Son dernier roman, Charlie Johnson in the Flames, a été publié plus tôt cette année et son analyse des conséquences de la lutte contre le terrorisme pour la démocratie libérale, The Lesser Evil: Political Ethics in an Age of Terror, sera publiée en mai 2004. En plus d'enseigner, M. Ignatieff donne souvent des exposés sur des sujets historiques, des questions philosophiques et des préoccupations contemporaines.

M. Ignatieff est professeur invité et directeur du Carr Center for Human Rights Policy à la John F. Kennedy School of Government à l'Université Harvard. Il vit avec son épouse à Cambridge, au Massachusetts.

La conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton de cette année, présentée par le professeur Ignatieff, est intitulée « Paix, ordre et bon gouvernement : un programme de politique étrangère pour le Canada ».