Robert MacNeil

Robert MacNeil was born in Montreal, Quebec, in 1931, and raised in Halifax, Nova Scotia. After graduating from Carleton University in Ottawa in 1955, he moved to London, England, where he worked first for Reuters News Agency and then for the National Broadcasting Corporation. From 1963 to 1967, he was a correspondent for NBC in Washington and New York City. From 1967 to 1971, he covered American and European politics for the British Broadcasting Corporation.

After he returned to Washington, MacNeil co-anchored (with Jim Lehrer) coverage by the Public Broadcasting Service of the Senate Watergate Hearings, for which he won the first of several Emmy awards. In October 1975, he and Lehrer launched a half-hour nightly news program, “The Robert MacNeil Report with Jim Lehrer” (later “The MacNeil/Lehrer Report”), which dealt with a single issue each night. Eight years later, this innovative approach was expanded to “The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour”, the first hour-long evening news program in the United States. “NewsHour” continues to earn major broadcasting awards a decade later.

Robert MacNeil has written several books, including The People Machine: The Influence of Television on American Politics, The Story of English (with Robert McCrum and William Cran) and two memoirs, The Right Place at the Right Time and Wordstruck. His first novel, Burden of Desire, is set in Nova Scotia during the First World War. He is currently completing a second novel.

The 1993 O.D. Skelton Memorial Lecture was held on November 27, in Halifax. Robert MacNeil, a distinguished writer and broadcaster, spoke about the media and international affairs. With various examples and effective quotations, MacNeil emphasizes the particular power of television as a medium.

However, he hopes that television is not driving foreign policy, contrary to the impression that some may have. In his view, television has made a positive contribution by enabling people to make up their own minds about what is in the national interest. However inconvenient that may be for policy-makers, it is a wonderfully democratic influence. In other words, television alters international affairs – or the handling of foreign policy questions – by informing people and thus involving the public in issues that were previously beyond their grasp.

MacNeil explains the power of television, who is affected by it and who controls it. He believes that information technology as such is very important because it helps unite people, influences public opinion, politics and governments, and, indirectly, affects foreign policy. MacNeil demonstrates that knowledge is power and that television consequently has an important role and influence.

Robert MacNeil

Robert MacNeil est ne à Montréal (Québec) en 1931 et a grandi à Halifax. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de l’université Carleton à Ottawa en 1955, il a déménagé à Londres, où il a d’abord travaille à l’agence de presse Reuters puis à la National Broadcasting Corporation. De 1963 à 1967, il a été correspondant de NBC à Washington et à New York et, de 1967 à 1971, il a couvert la politique américaine et la politique européenne pour la British Broadcasting Corporation.

Après son retour à Washington, M. MacNeil a coanimé avec Jim Lehrer la couverture des audiences du Sénat sur le Watergate pour le Public Broadcasting Service, ce qui lui a valu son premier Emmy. En octobre 1975, il a lance avec Jim Lehrer une émission d’information quotidienne d’une demi-heure « The Robert MacNeil Report with Jim Lehrer » (plus tard « The MacNeil/ Lehrer Report ») consacrée chaque soir à une seule question. Cette formule innovatrice est devenue après huit ans « The MacNeil/ Lehrer NewsHour », première émission d’information d’une heure présentée en soirée aux États-Unis. Dix ans plus tard, « NewsHour » continue de remporter d’importants prix de telédiffusion.

Robert MacNeil a écrit plusieurs livres, dont The People Machine: The Influence of Television on American Politics, The Story of English (avec Robert McCrum et William Cran), et deux mémoires, The Right Place at The Right Time et Wordstruck. Son premier roman, Burden of Desire, se situait en Nouvelle-Écosse pendant la Première guerre mondiale, et il achève présentement le second.

La Conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton de 1993 s’est tenue le 27 novembre, à Halifax. Robert MacNeil, éminent écrivain et journaliste, a consacré son propos aux liens entre les médias et les affaires internationales. Au moyen d’exemples divers et de citations appropriées, il souligne le pouvoir particulier qu’exerce la télévision en tant que moyen de communication.

Il dit toutefois espérer que la télévision ne mène pas la politique étrangère, comme certains semblent le croire. Il estime par ailleurs que la télévision a eu un apport positif dans la société en permettant aux gens de se faire leur propre opinion sur ce qui constitue l’intérêt national. Aussi importun que cela puisse parfois paraître aux yeux des responsables politiques, la télévision contribue à démocratiser l’information et la politique étrangère. En d’autres mots, la télévision influence les affaires internationales – ou tout au moins la façon dont sont traitées les questions de politique étrangère – en informant le public et l’amenant à prendre position sur des questions qui étaient auparavant hors de sa portée.

Robert MacNeil décrit le pouvoir de la télévision et explique comment ce pouvoir s’exerce et qui le contrôle. Il croit que la technologie de l’information joue un rôle très important car elle aide à unir les gens, à influencer l’opinion publique, la politique et les gouvernements et, indirectement, elle influe sur la politique étrangère. Le conférencier montre que la connaissance donne accès au pouvoir et que c’est pour cette raison que la télévision joue un rôle important et exerce une grande influence.