Sylvia Ostry

Sylvia Ostry is Distinguished Research Fellow, Centre for International Studies, University of Toronto. She has a Ph.D. in economics from McGill University and Cambridge. After teaching and research at a number of Canadian universities and at the University of Oxford Institute of Statistics, she joined the Federal Government in 1964. Among the posts she held were Chief Statistician, Deputy Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Chairman of the Economic Council of Canada, Deputy Minister of International Trade, Ambassador for Multilateral Trade Negotiations and the Prime Minister’s Personal Representative for the Economic Summit. From 1979 to 1983 she was Head of the Economics and Statistics Department of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development in Paris. In 1989 she was Volvo Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations, New York. From 1990 to 1997 she was Chairman, Centre for International Studies, University of Toronto.

Her work has been recognized with numerous honorary degrees from universities in Canada and abroad. In 1987, Dr. Ostry received the Outstanding Achievement Award of the Government of Canada. In December 1990, she was made a Companion of the Order of Canada. In June 1991, she was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. She is a director of Power Financial Corporation and Power Corporation. She is an Expert Adviser to the Commission on Transnational Corporations of the United Nations and a member of the Board of Distinguished Advisors for the Center for the Study of Central Banks. Dr. Ostry is a member of the Group of Thirty in Washington and a founding member of the Pacific Council on International Policy. In 1992, the Sylvia Ostry Foundation annual lecture series was launched by Madam Sadako Ogata, then the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Dr. Ostry herself is a frequent speaker to diverse Canadian and international audiences. Dr. Ostry has written numerous books and articles on various aspects of the international economy, with a particular emphasis on the development and elaboration of the multilateral trading system as well as the impact of globalization.

Sylvia Ostry

Sylvia Ostry est chargée de recherches distinguée au Centre d’études internationales de l’Université de Toronto. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en économique des universités McGill et de Cambridge. Après avoir occupé des postes d’enseignement et de recherche dans diverses universités canadiennes et à l’Institut de statistique de l’Université d’Oxford, elle entre en 1964 à la fonction publique fédérale, où elle sera tour à tour statisticienne en chef, sous-ministre de la Consommation et des Affaires commerciales, présidente du Conseil économique du Canada, sous-ministre du Commerce international, ambassadrice pour les négociations commerciales multilatérales et représentante personnelle du premier ministre au Sommet économique. De 1979 à 1983, elle dirige le Département des affaires économiques et statistiques de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques à Paris. En 1989, elle est titulaire de la chaire Volvo au Council on Foreign Relations, à New York. De 1990 à 1997, elle préside le Centre d’études internationales de l’Université de Toronto.

De nombreux grades honorifiques d’universités canadiennes et étrangères ont couronné son oeuvre. En 1987, Mme> Ostry a remporté le Prix pour services insignes du gouvernement du Canada. En décembre 1990, elle a été reçue Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada. En juin 1991, elle a été reçue Membre de la Société royale du Canada. Elle est membre du conseil d’administration de la Corporation financière Power et de la Corporation Power, conseillère experte de la Commission des sociétés transnationales des Nations Unies et membre de la Commission de conseillers distingués du Center for the Study of Central Banks. Mme Ostry est membre du Group of Thirty à Washington et membre fondatrice du Pacific Council on International Policy. En 1992, Mme Sadako Ogata, alors Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés, a créé la série de conférences annuelles de la Fondation Sylvia Ostry.

Mme Ostry est fréquemment invitée à prendre la parole devant divers auditoires canadiens et étrangers. Elle a écrit de nombreux livres et articles sur divers aspects de l’économie internationale, notamment sur le développement du système commercial multilatéral et l’impact de la mondialisation.