Senator Landon Pearson

The O.D Skelton Memorial Lecture of 1997 was held on March 17 in Winnipeg. The speaker was Senator Landon Pearson, adviser to the Minister of Foreign Affairs on children’s rights. She has been actively involved with children and issues associated with young people for more than 40 years and her speech deals with children’s rights in foreign policy. Senator Pearson describes some of her own experiences as the wife of a Canadian diplomat as well as the growth of her interest and concern for children’s rights. At the end of the twentieth century, Pearson explains, the world talks very differently about children than it did a hundred or even fifty years ago. Pearson briefly describes the history of human rights and children’s rights and the creation of the United Nations, which was founded in 1945 to prevent the outbreak of more global hostilities. Her illustrations of UN achievements demonstrate how far the world has come.

In 1979 she became the vice-chair of the Canadian Commission for the International Year of the Child (IYC) and she travelled throughout Canada to listen to children views. Much of what she heard was depressing, but she explains in her remarks how Canada has become a strong proponent of human rights and has helped to lead the movement to help children and youth.

She states three priorities that Canadian politics must target abroad: 1) to lead efforts in order to achieve an international consensus on an effective action plan that will permit to reduce the number of children that work; 2) to protect Canada’s security globally; 3) to broadcast Canadian values and culture abroad, this third priority is of crucial importance in order to promote children’s rights. The Senator ends by affirming that Canadian foreign policy demonstrates respect for children and youth.

Biography of Landon (Mackenzie) Pearson

Landon (Mackenzie) Pearson was born in Toronto in 1930. She graduated from the University of Toronto in 1951 with a B.A. in Philosophy and English. In 1978, she earned her M.Ed. in Psychopedagogy from the University of Ottawa. Wilfrid Laurier University awarded her an honorary doctorate in 1995.

Landon Pearson has been actively involved with children and issues associated with young people for more than 40 years. As the spouse of a Canadian diplomat, she worked with children’s groups in France, Mexico, India and the Soviet Union. In addition to numerous articles on child development and policy questions, she has written “Children of Glasnost: Growing up Soviet (1990)”.

In 1979, Senator Pearson was Vice-Chairperson of the Canadian Commission for the International Year of the Child and Editor of the Commission’s report, For Canada’s Children: National Agenda for Action. During the period 1984 to 1990, she was President, then Chairperson, of the Canadian Council on Children and Youth. She was a founding member and Chairperson of the Canadian Coalition for the Rights of Children. She is co-founder and chair of “Children Learning for Living”, a prevention program in children’s mental health operating in the Ottawa Board of Education.

Landon Pearson is Vice-Chair of the Centre for the Study of Children at Risk at McMaster University and a member of the Board of the Canadian Paediatric Foundation. She was a Canadian delegate to the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in September 1995 and to the First World Congress against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children in Stockholm in August 1996. Landon Pearson was summoned to the Senate in September 1994. In May 1996, she was appointed as Adviser on Children’s Rights to the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Sénatrice Landon Pearson

La Conférence commémorative O.D Skelton de 1997 a eu lieu à Winnipeg, le 17 mars. La conférencière était la sénatrice Landon Pearson, conseillère auprès du ministre des Affaires étrangères en matière de droits de l’enfant. Elle s’intéresse activement aux enfants et aux questions associées à la jeunesse depuis plus de 40 ans et son discours est consacré à la question des droits de l’enfant dans la politique étrangère. La sénatrice décrit les expériences qu’elle a vécues en tant qu’épouse d’un diplomate canadien, de même que l’évolution de ses préoccupations et de son intérêt envers les droits de l’enfant. À la fin du vingtième siècle, explique Landon Pearson, le monde ne considère plus les enfants de la même façon qu’il y a un siècle ou même un demi-siècle. Elle décrit brièvement l’historique des droits de l’homme et de l’enfant, ainsi la création de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, née en 1945 du désir de prévenir l’émergence d’un nouveau conflit mondial. Les réalisations de l’ONU qu’elle cite illustrent les progrès réalisés depuis.

En 1979, Landon Pearson a été nommée vice-présidente de la Commission canadienne pour l’Année internationale de l’enfant et a voyagé aux quatre coins du pays pour entendre ce que les enfants avaient à dire. Les témoignages recueillis étaient souvent déprimants, mais elle explique dans son allocution comment le Canada est devenu un important promoteur des droits de la personne et comment il a aidé à diriger le mouvement en vue de venir en aide aux enfants et aux jeunes.

Elle énonce trois priorités que doit viser la politique étrangère du Canada : 1) mener les efforts en vue de réaliser un consensus international sur un plan d’action efficace permettant de réduire le nombre d’enfants qui travaillent; 2) protéger la sécurité du Canada dans un cadre mondial stable; 3) diffuser les valeurs et la culture canadiennes à l’étranger, cette troisième priorité revêtant une grande importance pour la promotion des droits de l’enfant. La sénatrice termine en affirmant que, de plus en plus, la politique étrangère du Canada fait montre de respect pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Biographie de Landon (Mackenzie) Pearson

Landon (Mackenzie) Pearson est née à Toronto en 1930. En 1951, elle a obtenu un B.A. en philosophie et en anglais de l’Université de Toronto. En 1978, elle a terminé sa maîtrise en éducation (psychopédagogie) à l’Université d’Ottawa. L’Université Wilfrid Laurier lui a décerné un doctorat honorifique en 1995.

Landon Pearson s’occupe depuis plus de 40 ans du sort des enfants et des questions relatives aux jeunes. En tant qu’épouse de diplomate canadien, elle a travaillé avec des groupes d’enfants en France, au Mexique, en Inde et en Union soviétique. Outre les nombreux articles sur le développement de l’enfant et les questions stratégiques, elle a écrit « Children of Glasnost : Growing up Soviet (1990) ».

En 1979, le sénateur Pearson a été vice-présidente de la Commission canadienne pour l’Année internationale de l’enfant et rédactrice du rapport de la Commission, Pour les enfants du Canada : Programme national d’action. De 1984 à 1990, elle a été présidente du Conseil canadien de l’enfance et de la jeunesse. Elle est l’un des membres fondateurs de la Coalition canadienne des droits de l’enfance, dont elle a été présidente. Elle est aussi cofondatrice et présidente du programme de prévention des maladies mentales chez les enfants « Children Learning for Living », programme du Conseil scolaire d’Ottawa.

Landon Pearson est vice-présidente du Centre for the Study of Children at Risk, de l’Université MacMaster, et membre du Conseil d’administration de la Fondation canadienne de pédiatrie. Elle a été l’une des déléguées canadiennes à la Quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes, à Beijing, en septembre 1995, ainsi qu’au Premier Congrès mondial contre l’exploitation sexuelle commerciale des enfants à Stockholm, en août 1996. Landon Pearson a été convoquée au Sénat en 1994. En mai 1996, elle a été nommée conseillère pour les droits des enfants auprès du ministre des Affaires étrangères.