Mr. Mitchell Sharp

On February 7, 1995, Mitchell Sharp gave the O.D. Skelton Memorial Lecture at the University of Calgary. Then the Personal Advisor to the Prime Minister, Sharp had previously served as a senior public servant and a cabinet minister. For Sharp, as for others, personal experience of the Great Depression had a profound impact on his views on international trade, his chosen subject. Sharp sketches past negotiations and key institutions, or involvements, influencing Canada’s commercial policy.

As he notes, different trade issues emerged under each Prime Minister, with sometimes unanticipated consequences. For example, John Diefenbaker attempted to redirect Canadian trade away from the United States, yet Canada was more dependent on the American market when he left office than before. Under Lester B. Pearson, the Auto Pact was negotiated, yet only a few years later the government of Pierre Trudeau undertook a fundamental review of Canada’s foreign and trade policy - with an uncertain impact. Sharp describes why he personally opposed the decision of the Mulroney government to enter into a free trade agreement with the United States.

In his view, multilateralism provides Canada with far more freedom and sense of identity than dependence on the United States. On various occasions, Canada has joined international efforts to expand world trade, which have been seen by Canadian governments as useful ways to promote political understanding with our trading partners as well. Sharp argues that there has been an international trading revolution over the past 50 years, that trade barriers have been reduced and that the globalization of markets is in full swing. In conclusion, he contends that the Canadian government has responded vigorously to new opportunities, without losing sight of the risks and problems involved.

Biography of Mitchell Sharp

Mitchell Sharp was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, in 1911. He graduated with a B.A. from the University of Manitoba in 1934, then pursued further studies there and at the London School of Economics. During that time, he worked as an economist and writer specializing in the grain trade. In 1942, he was asked by the Deputy Minister of Finance to join that Department and in 1947 he was named Director of its Economic Policy Division. As Associate Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce from 1951 to 1957, his responsibilities included international trade relations. He served briefly as Deputy Minister before resigning from the public service in 1958 to take up an appointment as Vice-President of Brazilian Traction, Light and Power Company.

In 1963, after his election as Member of Parliament for the Toronto constituency of Eglinton, Mr. Sharp returned to the Department of Trade and Commerce as its Minister. From 1965 to 1968, he served as Minister of Finance. From 1968 to 1974, he was Secretary of State for External Affairs and Deputy Prime Minister. He was President of the Privy Council and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons from 1974 until 1976. Two years later, he resigned from Parliament to take up an appointment as Commissioner for the Northern Pipeline Agency, which he held until 1988. During that time, he also served as Co-Chairman of a Task Force on Conflict of Interest, which published a report on Ethical Conduct in the Public Service in 1984.

From 1976 to 1986, Mr. Sharp was also head of the Canadian group and deputy chairman of the Trilateral Commission. A Privy Councillor and an officer of the Order of Canada, Mr. Sharp was a Policy Associate with Strategicon from 1988 until he took up his present duties as a Personal Advisor to the Prime Minister following the 1993 general elections.

M. Mitchell Sharp

Mitchell Sharp a prononcé la Conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton qui s'est tenue le 7 février 1995, à l'Université de Calgary. Alors conseiller personnel auprès du Premier ministre, il avait auparavant été haut fonctionnaire puis ministre. À l'instar de beaucoup d'autres qui ont vécu durant la Dépression des années 30, Mitchell Sharp a été profondément marqué par cette crise, notamment en ce qui concerne sa façon de voir le commerce international, le sujet auquel il consacre son exposé.

Il évoque les négociations antérieures, ainsi que les grandes institutions et les engagements qui ont une incidence sur la politique commerciale du Canada. Les enjeux de cette politique ont tendance à varier selon le Premier ministre au pouvoir, affirme-t-il, ce qui peut avoir des conséquences imprévues. Par exemple, John Diefenbaker avait tenté d'amener les échanges commerciaux du Canada à se détourner des États-Unis, mais lorsqu'il a quitté le pouvoir, le Canada était plus étroitement lié au marché américain qu'il ne l'était auparavant. Le Pacte de l'automobile a été négocié durant le mandat de Lester B. Pearson au poste de Premier ministre mais, quelques années plus tard, le gouvernement de Pierre Trudeau a entrepris de revoir en profondeur la politique étrangère et commerciale du Canada, ce qui a eu des incidences incertaines. Mitchell Sharp explique pourquoi il s'est personnellement opposé à la décision du gouvernement Mulroney de conclure un accord de libre-échange avec les États-Unis.

Selon lui, le multilatéralisme offre au Canada une plus grande liberté et un sens de l'identité plus fort que ne le fait la dépendance envers les États-Unis. À diverses occasions, le Canada a pris part à des initiatives internationales qui visaient à accroître les échanges mondiaux, initiatives qui constituaient également aux yeux des gouvernements du pays un moyen efficace de promouvoir l'harmonie politique entre le Canada et ses partenaires commerciaux. L'ancien ministre affirme que le monde a été témoin d'une révolution commerciale internationale depuis 50 ans, grâce à la diminution des entraves au commerce et à la mondialisation des marchés. Bref, conclut-il, le gouvernement du Canada a su saisir les occasions qui se présentaient à lui, sans toutefois perdre de vue les risques et les problèmes qu'elles pouvaient entraîner.

Biographie de Mitchell Sharp

Mitchell Sharp est né à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, en 1911. En 1934, il devient bachelier ès arts de l'Université du Manitoba et poursuit ensuite des études à cette université et à la London School of Economics. Au même moment, il travaille à titre d'économiste et de rédacteur spécialisé en commerce des grains. En 1942, le sous-ministre des Finances lui demande de se joindre à son ministère et, en 1947, M. Sharp est nommé directeur de la Division de la politique économique. En sa qualité de sous-ministre associé au Commerce, de 1951 à 1957, il assume notamment la responsabilité de toutes les relations commerciales internationales. Il est brièvement sous-ministre avant de démissionner de la fonction publique en 1958 pour accepter le poste de vice-président de la société Brazilian Traction, Light and Power Company.

En 1963, après son élection comme député de la circonscription d'Eglinton à Toronto, M. Sharp devient ministre du Commerce. De 1965 à 1968, il est ministre des Finances et, de 1968 à 1974, secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures et vicepremier ministre. Il est président du Conseil privé et leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes de 1974 à 1976. Deux ans plus tard, il se retire du Parlement afin de devenir commissaire de l'Administration du pipe-line du Nord, poste qu'il occupera jusqu'en 1988. Durant ce temps, il siège aussi, à titre de co-président, au Groupe de travail sur les conflits d'intérêts, lequel publie en 1984 un rapport intitulé L'éthique dans le secteur public.

De 1976 à 1986, M. Sharp dirige le Groupe canadien et est vice-président de la Commission trilatérale. Conseiller privé et officier de l'Ordre du Canada, M. Sharp est ensuite conseiller en politiques chez Strategicon, de 1988 à 1993, alors qu'il est nommé, suite aux élections générales, conseiller personnel du premier ministre.