Maurice Strong

Maurice F. Strong has had a very diverse career, including positions as Under-Secretary General of the United Nations, Executive Co-ordinator of the UN Office for Emergency Operations in Africa and Secretary of the UN Conference on Environment and Development.

On November 10, 1992, Strong presented the second O.D. Skelton Memorial Lecture at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, with particular attention to the recent United Nations Conference on Environment and Development, or Earth Summit, in Rio de Janeiro, which he had chaired. There leaders of 180 countries had reached an agreement on the most far-reaching set of measures ever approved internationally.

According to Strong, this framework provided essential elements for a new global partnership to support a secure and sustainable future, although much would depend on implementation by governments. Strong depicts some of his own experiences as well as facts on the destruction of natural resources around the world and explains some of the pros and cons of the conclusions reached in Rio. He suggests what countries must do to avoid global destruction and to enhance economic growth and environmentally sound behaviour. Economic interdependence, for example, could contribute to world peace and security.

Finally, Strong provides some examples of actual or potential Canadian contributions. With one of the earth’s largest land masses and relatively abundant resources, Canada is in an ideal position to set an example for the rest of the world. Thus, Strong concludes, Canada can make a unique contribution to meeting the objectives agreed in Rio.

Biography of Maurice F. Strong

Maurice F. Strong was born in Oak Lake, Manitoba, in 1929. From 1948 to 1966, he served in investment and senior management positions with corporations in the energy and financial sectors.

In 1966, Mr. Strong resigned as president of Power Corporation of Canada to head Canada’s External Aid Office, later reorganized as the Canadian International Development Agency. From November 1970 until December 1972, Mr. Strong was Secretary-General of the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment. He then became the first Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme. Mr. Strong returned to Canada as President, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Petro-Canada (1976-78). He served as Chairman of the International Energy Development Corporation from 1980 to 1983 and of the Canada Development Investment Corporation from 1982 to 1984.

Since 1985, he has been an Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations. In 1985 and 1986, he was concurrently Executive Co-ordinator of the United Nations Office for Emergency Operations in Africa and a member of the World Commission on Environment and Development. More recently, he was Secretary-General of the 1992 United Nations Conference on Environment and Development.

Over the years, he has also been involved in voluntary work with various organizations and institutes that deal with development, environmental and humanitarian issues. He has received numerous conservation and humanitarian awards as well as honorary doctorates from 29 universities. Maurice Strong is an officer of the Order of Canada and a member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada.

Maurice Strong

Maurice F. Strong a eu une carrière très variée, ayant notamment occupé les postes de Secrétaire général adjoint des Nations Unies, de coordonnateur exécutif du Bureau des Nations Unies pour les opérations d’urgence en Afrique et de secrétaire de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’environnement et le développement.

Le 10 novembre 1992, il a prononcé la deuxième Conférence commémorative O.D. Skelton à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, à Vancouver, laquelle portait notamment sur le « Sommet de la Terre «, c’est-à-dire la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’environnement et le développement, qui s’était déroulée à Rio de Janeiro plus tôt cette année-là, sous sa propre présidence. Au cours du Sommet de la Terre, les dirigeants de quelque 180 pays ont adopté une série de mesures ayant une portée sans précédent à l’échelle internationale.

Selon Maurice Strong, ces mesures ont fourni les éléments essentiels à la création d’un nouveau partenariat mondial capable de favoriser un avenir sûr et durable, mais la réalisation de ce partenariat dépendra des politiques adoptées par les gouvernements. Il décrit sa propre expérience et évoque divers exemples de la destruction des ressources naturelles à travers le monde, pour ensuite expliquer le pour et le contre de certaines conclusions du Sommet de Rio. Le conférencier suggère certaines mesures que les pays doivent adopter pour éviter la destruction des ressources mondiales, favoriser la croissance économique et encourager des comportements respectueux de l’environnement tout à la fois. L’interdépendance économique, par exemple, pourrait contribuer à promouvoir la paix et la sécurité dans le monde.

Enfin, Maurice Strong donne quelques exemples de contributions que le Canada a apportées ou qu’il pourrait apporter. Doté d’une énorme superficie et de ressources relativement abondantes, le Canada est bien placé, dit-il, pour donner l’exemple au reste du monde et contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs fixés lors du Sommet de Rio.

Biographie de Maurice F. Strong

Maurice F. Strong est né en 1929 à Oak Lake (Manitoba). De 1948 à 1966, il a travaillé au service des investissements et à la haute direction d’entreprises oeuvrant dans les secteurs de l’énergie et des finances.

En 1966, M. Strong démissionne du poste de président de Power Corporation of Canada, pour prendre la direction du Bureau de l’aide extérieure, devenu plus tard l’Agence canadienne de développement international. De novembre 1970 à décembre 1972, il est secrétaire général de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’environnement. Il devient le premier directeur exécutif du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement. M. Strong revient ensuite au Canada où il occupe, entre 1976 et 1978, le poste de président directeur-général de Petro-Canada. De 1980 à 1983, il est président de l’International Energy Development Corporation et, de 1982 à 1984, de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada.

Depuis 1985, il assume les fonctions de secrétaire général adjoint des Nations Unies. En 1985 et en 1986, il était à la fois coordonnateur exécutif du Bureau des Nations Unies pour les opérations d’urgence en Afrique et membre de la Commission mondiale pour l’environnement et le développement, Plus récemment, il était secrétaire général de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’environnement et le développement de 1992.

Au fil des ans, M. Strong a aussi oeuvré comme bénévole au sein de divers organismes voués au développement, à l’environnement et aux causes humanitaires. Il a été récipiendaire de nombreux prix dans ces deux derniers domaines, et 29 universités lui ont en outre décerné un doctorat honorifique. Maurice Strong est officier de l’Ordre du Canada et membre du Conseil privé de la Reine au Canada.