H.E. Michelle d’Auray, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Canada to the OECD

Ms. d’Auray has broad and varied experience in government, with over 10 years as a Deputy Minister.  Prior to her appointment as Canada’s Ambassador,  Permanent Representative to the OECD, Ms. d’Auray was the Deputy Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, from 2012 to 2015.  This department is the Government of Canada’s principal procurement and real estate and asset management organization, including military procurement and the responsibility for the government’s Defence Procurement Strategy, which she developed and implemented.

From 2009 to 2012, she served as the first woman Secretary to the Treasury Board, where she was responsible for the Government’s overall expenditure management system, and oversaw the one-year comprehensive expenditure review for the Government of Canada which led to savings of over CAN $6 billion in operations.   Ms. d’Auray was the first Chief Human Resources Officer for the Government of Canada, establishing the Office and role in 2009.  From 2007 to 2009, she was the first woman Deputy Minister at Fisheries and Oceans Canada; and from 2004-2007, she was President of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Québec. 

Ms. d’Auray started her professional career as the head of Canada’s then-largest advocacy organization for cultural industries and the arts, from 1985 to 1989. She started her career in the Government of Canada’s public service in 1990 at the National Film Board of Canada as director of Corporate Affairs, Distribution and Communications.

From 1994 to 1996, she headed the Privy Council of Canada’s Intergovernmental Communications Secretariat and from 1996 to 1997 was director general of communications for Industry Canada. In 1998, she headed the Government of Canada’s Task Force on Electronic Commerce at Industry Canada and was responsible for the organization in Canada of the 1998 OECD Ministerial Conference on Electronic Commerce. This was followed by positions at Canadian Heritage as assistant deputy minister of strategic management (1999 to 2000) and at Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat as the Government’s Chief Information Officer (2000 to 2004), where she headed the Government of Canada’s on-line initiative that made Canada a world leader in electronic service delivery.

Ms. d’Auray was appointed Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development, in Paris, on January 21, 2015.

S.E. Michelle d’Auray, Ambassadeur, Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’OCDE

Mme d’Auray possède une expérience vaste et variée au sein du gouvernement, ayant occupé des postes à titre de sous-ministre pendant plus de dix ans. Avant sa nomination à titre d’Ambassadeur, Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’OCDE, Mme d’Auray était sous-ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada de 2012 à 2015. Ce ministère est responsable de la grande majorité des approvisionnements et de la gestion des actifs et du portefeuille immobilier du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui comprend aussi les achats militaires et la Stratégie en matière d’approvisionnement militaire que Mme d’Auray a élaborée et mise en œuvre.

De 2009 à 2012, elle a été la première feMme Secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor, responsable du système de gestion des dépenses de l’ensemble du gouvernement, où elle a piloté, durant un an, l’examen complet des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada donnant lieu à des économies de fonctionnement de plus de 6 milliards $CAN.  Mme d’Auray a été nommée le premier Dirigeant principal des ressources humaines du gouvernement du Canada dont elle a créé le rôle et le bureau en 2009. De 2007 à 2009, elle a été la première feMme sous-ministre à Pêches et Océans Canada; et de 2004 à 2007, elle a été présidente de l’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec.

Mme d’Auray a lancé sa carrière professionnelle en présidant, de 1985 à 1989, ce qui était à l’époque le principal groupe de défense des industries culturelles et des artistes du Canada.  Mme d’Auray a entamé sa carrière à la Fonction publique en 1990 à l’Office national du film du Canada en tant que directrice des Affaires générales, de la distribution et des communications.

De 1994 à 1996, elle a été à la tête du Secrétariat des communications intergouvernementales du Bureau du Conseil privé du Canada, et en 1996-1997, elle a occupé le poste de directrice générale des Communications à Industrie Canada. En 1998, elle a dirigé le Groupe de travail du gouvernement du Canada sur le coMmerce électronique et à ce titre, a été responsable d’organiser la tenue, au Canada, de la Conférence ministérielle de l’OCDE sur le coMmerce électronique. En 1999-2000, elle a été sous-ministre adjointe de la gestion stratégique à Patrimoine canadien, et de 2000-2004, elle a dirigé l’initiative Gouvernement en direct au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui a fait du Canada un leader mondial en prestation de services électroniques.

Mme d’Auray a été nommée Ambassadeur, Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, à Paris, le 21 janvier 2015.