Canadian participation in the work of the OECD

OECD work is produced by 12 main Directorates and a number of semi-autonomous bodies, whose activities are oriented by member countries representatives (also called "delegates"), who share information and experience in over 200 Committees and Working parties. Overall decision-making power lies with the OECD Council composed of Ambassadors from member states. Other institutional bodies are responsible for "OECD corporate issues".

Institutional bodies

External Relations Committee

The External Relations Committee is the focal point for the development and pursuit of policy dialogue between the OECD and non-member economies. Much of the work of this Committee is accomplished through the Centre for Co-operation with Non-Members. It manages multi-country thematic and country programmes that focus on working with Emerging Economies. Participation on the Committee is led by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Directorates & Main Committees

Economics Department (ECO

Economics Department (ECO): The work of ECO relates to issues of both a macroeconomic and a structural character, and in particular on the interaction between structural and macroeconomic policies and developments. ECO supports the work of two Committees: the Economic Policy Committee (EPC), which focuses discussions on recent economic developments and outlook and the analysis of macroeconomic and structural policy across countries and the Economic and Development Review Committee (EDRC), which undertakes country review of a broad field of policy settings. Canadian participation in both committees is led by the Department of Finance Canada.

Environment Directorate

Environment Directorate (ENV): The work of ENV is to provide governments with the analytical basis to develop environmental policies that are effective and economically efficient. This is accomplished through a process of performance reviews, data collection, policy analysis, and projections. The Environment Policy Committee (EPOC) provides a forum for participants to consider environmental issues and policy responses. The Chemicals Committee give general orientation to the OECD work on chemicals. Canadian participation to those Committees is led by Environment Canada.

Development Cooperation Directorate (DCD)

Development Cooperation Directorate (DCD):
DCD provides a focus for OECD activities related to development and serves as a Secretariat to the Development Assistance Committee (DAC) which is the principal body dealing with issues related to co-operation with developing countries. DAC members account for more than 90% of official development assistance (ODA) worldwide. The work of DAC concentrates on how international development co-operation contributes to capacity building and poverty reduction. Canadian participation in the DAC is led by CIDA.

Public Governance and Territorial Development (GOV)

Public Governance and Territorial Development (GOV): GOV studies how governments organise and manage the public sector, and encourages the development of regional initiatives. The Public Governance Committee (PGC) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on how to adapt the public sector to changing capacities and circumstances and assists governments in building and strengthening effective, efficient and transparent government structures. Canadian participation in the PGC is led by the Privy Council Office.

The Regulatory Policy Committee (RPC) was recently created to to assist member and non-member economies in building and strengthening their regulatory reform efforts. Canadian participation in the RPC is led by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

Territorial Development Policy Committee (TDPC)

The Territorial Development Policy Committee (TDPC): encourages the creation and development of locally driven initiatives for economic development, both in urban and rural areas, and develops territorial indicators. Canadian participation in the TDPC is led by one of the Canadian regional development agencies on a rotational basis.

These are:

Trade and Agriculture Directorate (TAD)

Trade and Agriculture Directorate (TAD): The promotion of trade liberalisation has been central to the OECD mandate. TAD serves as the secretariat for the Trade Committee, whose focus is on interdisciplinary consideration of trade issues. It provides a unique forum to set out the analytical basis required to understand the issues and plays an important role in complementing the work of the WTO to promote the multilateral trading system. Canadian representation to the Trade Committee is led by Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

The Trade and Agriculture Directorate also carry out work on the reform of agricultural policies with the aim of reducing their costs and increasing their effectiveness. The Committee for Agriculture (COAG) and its working groups provide a forum to discuss options for reforms to create a more market-oriented agricultural sector, while at the same time meeting social concerns about such issues as food security, food safety and quality, environmental protection and viability of rural areas. TAD also monitors fisheries policies and analyses the economic implications of the sustainable use of fisheries, aquaculture and coastal zones. This work is conducted for the Committee for Fisheries (FI). Canadian participation on the on the Committee for Agriculture (COAG) is led by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and on the Committee for Fisheries (FI), by the Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Directorate for Financial and Enterprise Affairs (DAF)

Directorate for Financial and Enterprise Affairs (DAF): The prime objective of DAF is to promote the efficient functioning of markets and enterprises in a globalizing economy. To do so, the majority of work is accomplished through five Committees:

The lead for Canadian participation in these committees is the Department of Finance and Industry Canada

Centre for Tax Policy and Administration (CTP)

Centre for Tax Policy and Administration (CTP): The Centre for Tax Policy and Administration serves as the secretariat for the Committee on Fiscal Affairs (CFA) and its subsidiary groups. The CFA sets the OECD Work programme in the tax area and provides a forum for senior officials to exchange views on tax policy and administration issues. Canadian participation is led by the the Department of Finance and Canada Revenue Agency.

Directorate for Science, Technology and Industry (STI)

Directorate for Science, Technology and Industry (STI):STI addresses analytical and policy issues related to how human knowledge can be used productively. In particular, they examine the mechanisms through which science and technology, and their applications in industry and communications, contribute to economic growth and well-being.

The work of the Directorate is spread over six main Committees:

Canadian participation in the majority of these bodies is led by Industry Canada.

Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development (CFE)

The Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development (CFE) aims at disseminating best practices on the design, implementation, evaluation and promotion of entrepreneurship, SMEs and local development policies. The pillar of CFE is the Local Economic and Employment Development Programme (LEED) which identifies and formulates innovative ideas for local development and the social economy. The CFE also serves as a secretariat for the Tourism Committee.

Directorate for Employment, Labour, and Social Affairs (ELS)

Directorate for Employment, Labour, and Social Affairs (ELSA): ELSA studies employment and ways to improve social welfare by reforming labour markets, finding ways to fight poverty and adapting social systems. Work on Employment focuses on primary aspects of the labour market, including employment, unemployment and earnings. Work on Social Issues focuses on the collection and development of suitable data for social indicators, and the design of policy recommendations based on comparative analysis. Work on International Migration focuses on monitoring migration movements and policies in member countries and selected non-member countries, and analysing migration related issues. Work on Health focuses on the collection of data about health care systems, and mechanism and policies to improve performance of health care systems.Canadian participation on the Employment, Labour and Social Affairs Committee (ELSAC) and on the Working Party on Social Affairs is led by Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC). Citizenship and Immigration Canada provide representation for the Working Party on Migration and Health Canada provides representation to the Ad Hoc Group on Health.

Directorate for Education (EDU)

Directorate for Education (EDU): The work of EDU focuses on how to evaluate and improve outcomes of education, promote quality teaching and build social cohesion through education. It monitors progress in education and training systems on an annual basis. The Education Policy Committee provides a forum for members to discuss education policies and to make them more effective. Canadian participation in EC is provided mainly by the provinces through the Council of Ministers of Education Canada (CMEC), with the participation of HRSDC.

Statistics Directorate (STD)

Statistics Directorate (STD): STD is responsible for discussions and advice on the construction of data indicators and the collection of data to support the work of the other directorates and agencies of the OECD. Participation in the Statistics Committee (CSTAT) and its various working groups is provided by Statistics Canada.

Semi-Autonomous Bodies

International Energy Agency (IEA)

International Energy Agency (IEA): The IEA is an autonomous agency linked with the OECD and serves as an energy forum for its member states. It promotes joint measures to meet oil supply emergencies, sharing energy information, co-ordinating Members’ energy policies and co-operating in the development of rational energy programmes. Canadian participation is led by Natural Resources Canada (NRCAN).

Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA): The objectives of the NEA include assisting its Member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for the safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. Canadian participation is supplied by Natural Resources Canada (NRCAN).

Centre for Educational Research and Innovation (CERI)

Centre for Educational Research and Innovation (CERI):
CERI works closely with EDU in carrying studies and promoting an international dialogue about education across OECD countries. As such, it is a focal point for information and discussion on trends in education systems throughout the industrialised world. Its primary aims are to encourage better links between research, policy innovation and practice, and enrich knowledge about educational trends internationally. Participation in CERI is mainly provided by the provinces through the Council of Ministers of Education Canada (CMEC).

Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering (FATF)

Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering (FATF): The FATF is an inter-governmental body which develops and promotes policies, both nationally and internationally, to combat money laundering. Canadian representation is provided through an inter-departmental committee composed of representatives from: Justice, the RCMP, Public Safety, Foreign Affairs, The Financial Transaction and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, and Finance.

Sahel and West Africa Club (SAH)

Sahel and West Africa Club: The Sahel and West Africa Club is a forum for informal exchange between partners from the North and the South, both public and private. Half-way between the field and major international fora, the Club serves as an exchange where development co-operation issues and innovative practices can be addressed based on concrete examples. Its primary objective is to increase the impact of development aid in the Sahel region in Africa, and increasingly in West Africa. Canadian participation in the Sahel and West Africa Club is provided through/by CIDA.

International Transport Forum

International Transport Forum: The International Transport Forum is a high-profile global platform and a meeting place for discussions at the highest level on transport, logistics and mobility. The aim of the Forum is to help gain a better understanding of the essential role played by transport in the economy and society. Canadian participation in the International Transport Forum is provided through/by Transport Canada.

Advisory Bodies

Business and Industry Advisory Committee of the OECD (BIAC)

Business and Industry Advisory Committee of the OECD (BIAC):BIAC is an independent organisation officially recognised by the OECD as being representative of business and industry. BIAC's role is to provide the OECD and its Member Governments with constructive comments based on the practical experience of the business community. Canadian representation is led by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce (CCC).

Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD (TUAC)

Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD (TUAC): The Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC) is an international trade union organisation which has consultative status with the OECD and its various committees. It acts as an interface for labour unions with the OECD. Canadian representation led by the Canadian Labour Congress.

Participation canadienne au travail de l’OCDE

Les travaux de l’OCDE sont accomplis par douze principales directions et un certain nombre d’organes semi-autonomes dont les activités sont orientées par les représentants des pays membres (appelés aussi « délégués »), qui communiquent de l’information et leur expérience dans plus de 200 comités et groupes de travail. Le pouvoir de décision général est détenu par le Conseil de l’OCDE qui est formé d’ambassadeurs provenant des pays membres. D’autres organes institutionnels sont responsables des « enjeux généraux de l’OCDE ».

Organes institutionnels

Le Comité des relations extérieures

Le Comité des relations extérieures est le centre de convergence pour l'élaboration et la poursuite du dialogue entre l'OCDE et les pays non membres. Une bonne partie des travaux du Comité sont effectués par le Centre pour la coopération avec les non-membres qui administre les programmes thématiques mis en place pour des économies émergentes. La participation canadienne au Comité a été placée sous l'égide du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international.

Directions et Comités majeurs

Département des affaires économiques

Département des affaires économiques (ECO) :Les travaux de ECO portent sur les questions macro-économiques et structurelles, notamment sur l'interaction entre les politiques et les évolutions sur le plan macro-économique et dans le domaine structurel. ECO appuie les travaux de deux comités : le Comité de politique économique (EPC), qui concentre ses discussions sur les développements économiques récents et les perspectives, ainsi que sur l'analyse macroéconomique et les politiques structurelles; et le Comité d'examen des situations économiques et des problèmes de développement (EDRC), qui effectue des examens économiques par pays. La participation canadienne à ces deux comités a été placée sous l'égide du Ministère des Finances Canada.

Direction de l'environnement

Direction de l'environnement (ENV) :Les travaux de ENV visent à fournir aux gouvernements les bases analytiques qu'il leur faut pour élaborer des politiques environnementales efficaces et judicieuses sur le plan économique. La Direction examine ainsi les performances, rassemble des données, analyse des politiques et fait des prévisions. Le Comité des politiques d'environnement (EPOC) permet aux participants de se pencher sur des questions environnementales et sur les mesures que peuvent prendre les pouvoirs publics. Le Comité des produits chimiques donne des orientations générales pour les travaux de l'OCDE sur le contrôle des produits chimiques. La participation du Canada à ces Comités a été placée sous l'égide d'Environnement Canada.

Direction de la coopération pour le développement

Direction de la coopération pour le développement (DCD) :
Centre de convergence des activités relatives au développement, DCD sert de secrétariat au Comité d'aide au développement (CAD), organe principal de l'OCDE pour les questions ayant trait à la coopération avec les pays en développement. Les membres du CAD représentent près de 90% de l’aide officielle au développement au niveau mondial. Leurs travaux contribuent à la réduction de la pauvreté et au renforcement des capacités. La participation du Canada au sein du CAD a été placée sous l'égide de l'ACDI.

Direction de la gouvernance publique et du développement territorial

Direction de la gouvernance publique et du développement territorial (GOV) :GOV étudie la manière dont les autorités organisent et gèrent le secteur public et encourage le développement d’initiatives régionales pour la croissance. Le Comité de la gouvernance publique (PGC) analyse les diverses stratégies adoptées face aux problèmes que pose la gouvernance des affaires publiques, et constitue un lieu privilégié d'échange d'idées sur les moyens d'adapter la gouvernance et la gestion du secteur public à l'évolution des ressources et des contraintes. La participation du Canada au PGC a été placée sous l'égide du Bureau du Conseil privé.

Le Comité de la politique de la réglementation (RPC) a été récemment créé pour aider les économies membres et non-membres à renforcer leurs efforts en matière de réformes réglementaires. La participation du Canada au RPC est assurée par le Secrétariat du Conseil de Trésor du Canada.

Comité des politiques de développement territorial

Le Comité des politiques de développement territorial (TDPC) :encourage la création et le développement d'initiatives pour le développement économique local, en zone urbaine et rurale, et l'élaboration d'indicateurs territoriaux. La représentation du Canada au TDPC est assurée à tour de rôle par les agences régionales de développement économique :

Direction des échanges et de l'agriculture

Direction des échanges et de l'agriculture (TAD):La promotion de la libéralisation des échanges est au cœur du mandat de l'OCDE. TAD sert de secrétariat au Comité des échanges sont les travaux sont centrés sur l'examen interdisciplinaire des questions commerciales. Il joue aussi un rôle essentiel et complémentaire des travaux de l'OMC sur la promotion du système commercial multilatéral. La représentation du Canada au sein du Comité des échanges a été placée sous l'égide du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce International.

La Direction des échanges et de l'agriculture conduit également des travaux sur les politiques agricoles afin d'en réduire les coûts et d'en accroître l'efficacité. Le Comité de l'agriculture (COAG) et ses groupes de travail discutent des choix et tirent des conclusions au sujet des directions futures des réformes, lequelles visent surtout à créer un secteur qui, tout en étant davantage axé sur le marché, permettra de réagir aux préoccupations d'ordre social au sujet de la sécurité alimentaire, l'innocuité et la qualité des aliments, la protection de l'environnement et la viabilité des espaces ruraux. La Direction suit en outre l'évolution des politiques en matière de pêche et analyse les incidences de l'exploitation viable des pêcheries, de l'aquaculture et des zones côtières. Ces travaux sont confiés au Comité des pêcheries (FI). La participation du Canada au Comité de l'agriculture (COAG) a été placée sous l'égide d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, et celle au Comité des pêcheries (FI), sous Pêches et Océans Canada.

Direction des affaires financières et des entreprises

Direction des affaires financières et des entreprises (DAF) :L'objectif premier de DAF est de favoriser le fonctionnement efficace des marchés et des entreprises dans une économie en voie de mondialisation. Pour ce faire, la plupart des travaux de la Direction sont effectués par six comités :

La participation du Canada à ces comités a été placée sous l'égide du Ministère des Finances et d'Industrie Canada.

Centre de politique et d'administration fiscales

Centre de politique et d'administration fiscales (CTP) :Le Centre de politique et d'administration fiscales sert de secrétariat au Comité des affaires fiscales (CFA) et à ses groupes de travail. Le CFA fixe le programme de travail de l'OCDE en matière fiscale et sert de forum pour les discussions entre hauts responsables des pays membres sur les questions de politique et d'administration fiscales. La participation du Canada à ces comités a été placée sous l'égide du Ministère des Finances et de l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

Direction de la Science, de la technologie et de l'industrie

Direction de la Science, de la technologie et de l'industrie (STI) :STI se penche sur les questions analytiques et stratégiques de l'utilisation judicieuse des connaissances. La Direction étudie les mécanismes qui permettent à la science et à la technologie ainsi qu'à leurs applications dans l'industrie et les communications, de contribuer à la croissance et à la prospérité économiques.

Les travaux de la Direction sont répartis entre six comités principaux :

La participation du Canada à la plupart de ces organes a été placée sous l'égide de divers services d'Industrie Canada.

Le Centre pour l'entrepreneuriat, les PME et le développement local

Le Centre pour l'entrepreneuriat, les PME et le développement local (CFE) a pour mission de diffuser des pratiques exemplaires dans les domaines de l'élaboration, la mise en oeuvre, l'évaluation et la promotion de politiques de développement local et de soutien à l'entrepreneuriat et aux PME. Le pilier du CFE est le Programme pour le développement économique et la création d'emplois locaux (Programme LEED) qui recense et formule des idées nouvelles pour le développement local et l'économie sociale. Le CFE sert également de secrétariat au Comité du tourisme.

Direction de l'emploi, du travail et des affaires sociales

Direction de l'emploi, du travail et des affaires sociales (ELSA) :ELSA étudie l'emploi et les moyens d'améliorer le bien-être social en réformant les marchés du travail et en cherchant des façons de combattre la pauvreté et d'adapter les systèmes sociaux. Les travaux sur l'emploi portent sur l'étude des principaux aspects du marché du travail, y compris l'emploi, le chômage et les salaires. Les travaux sur les questions sociales consistent en l'élaboration de données pouvant servir d'indicateurs sociaux, l'analyse des données recueillies et la formulation de recommandations fondées sur l'analyse comparative de ces données. Les travaux sur les migrations internationales sont centrés sur la surveillance des mouvements migratoires et les politiques des pays membres et de certains pays non membres ainsi que sur l'analyse des questions connexes. Les travaux sur la santé sont centrés sur la collecte de données sur les systèmes de santé et les mécanismes et les politiques propres à en améliorer la performance.

La participation du Canada au Comité de l'emploi, du travail et des affaires sociales (ELSAC) et au Groupe de travail sur la politique sociale a été placée sous l'égide de Ressources humaines et développement social Canada. Le Canada est représenté par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada au sein du Groupe de travail sur les migrations et par Santé Canada au sein du Comité de la santé.

Direction de l'éducation

Direction de l'éducation (EDU) :Les travaux de EDU portent sur les moyens d'évaluer et d'améliorer les résultats de l'éducation, de promouvoir la qualité de l'enseignement et d'encourager la cohésion sociale par l'éduction. EDU évalue les progrès en matière d'éducation et d'enseignement sur une base annuelle. Les membres discutent des politiques d'éducation pour en améliorer leur efficacité aux réunions du Comité de l'éducation. La participation canadienne au Comité des politiques d'éducation est assurée par les provinces par le Conseil des ministres de l'éducation du Canada, avec la participation de HRSDC.

Direction des statistiques (STD)

Direction des statistiques (STD) :La Direction des statistiques organise des discussions et formule des avis sur l'interprétation d'indicateurs de données. Elle collecte aussi des données pour appuyer les travaux des autres directions et organes de l'OCDE. La participation du Canada au Comité des statistiques (CSTAT) et à ses divers groupes de travail a été placée sous l'égide de Statistique Canada.

Organes affiliés

Agence internationale de l'énergie (AIE)

Agence internationale de l'énergie : Organisme autonome ayant un lien avec l'OCDE, l'Agence internationale de l'énergie sert de lieu d'échanges d'idées sur l'énergie pour les États membres. Ses principaux objectifs sont les suivants : améliorer l'approvisionnement mondial en pétrole ainsi que la structure de la demande, encourager une utilisation plus efficace de l'énergie, mettre au point des énergies de remplacement pour réduire la dépendance sur une source particulière; aider à intégrer les politiques environnementales et énergétiques et favoriser les relations de coopération entre les pays producteurs de pétrole. La participation du Canada a été placée sous l'égide de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan).

Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire

Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire (AEN) :
L'Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire (AEN) a pour mission d'aider les pays membres à maintenir et à approfondir, grâce à la coopération internationale, les bases scientifiques, technologiques et juridiques indispensables à une utilisation sûre, respectueuse de l'environnement et économique de l'énergie nucléaire à des fins pacifiques. La participation du Canada est assurée par Ressources naturelles Canada(RNCan).

Centre pour la recherche et l'innovation dans l'enseignement

Centre pour la recherche et l'innovation dans l'enseignement (CERI) :Le Centre pour la recherche et l'innovation dans l'enseignement effectue des études et favorise le dialogue à l'échelle internationale sur l'éducation dans les pays membres de l'OCDE. Il sert de cadre privilégié pour l'échange d'information et de vues sur les tendances dans le monde industrialisé. Il vise principalement à enrichir les connaissances à propos des tendances dans l'enseignement à l'échelle internationale et encourager les chercheurs, les praticiens et les fonctionnaires à participer aux échanges de vues transnationaux. La participation du Canada au Centre pour la recherche et l'innovation dans l'enseignement a été placée sous l'égide du Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation.

Groupe d'action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux (GAFI)

Groupe d'action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux (GAFI) :
Le Groupe d'action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux (GAFI) est un organisme intergouvernemental qui a pour objectif de concevoir et de promouvoir, aussi bien à l'échelon national qu'international, des stratégies de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux. La participation du Canada a été placée sous l'égide d'un comité interministériel qui se compose de représentants des ministères et organismes suivants : Justice, GRC, Sécurité publique,Affaires étrangères,Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada et Finances.

Club du Sahel et de L'Afrique de L'Ouest

Club du Sahel et de L'Afrique de L'Ouest : Le Club du Sahel et de L'Afrique de L'Ouest est un forum d'échanges et de réflexion informel entre partenaires du Nord et du Sud, publics et privés. Situé à mi-distance entre le terrain et les grands forums mondiaux, le Club est un lieu où les problèmes de la coopération et les pratiques innovantes peuvent être abordés sur la base d'exemples concrets. Sa vocation principale est d'améliorer l'impact de l'aide au développement destinée au Sahel et, de plus en plus, aux pays d'Afrique occidentale. La participation du Canada au Club du Sahel et de L'Afrique de L'Ouest a été placée sous l'égide de l'ACDI.

Forum international des transports

Forum international des transports:Le Forum International des Transports est une plateforme mondiale et un lieu de rencontre au plus haut niveau pour examiner les problèmes majeurs liés aux transports, à  la logistique et à la mobilité. L'objectif du Forum est de favoriser une prise de conscience bien plus forte du rôle essentiel des transports dans l'économie et la société. La participation du Canada au Forum a été placée sous l'égide de Transport Canada.

Organes consultatifs

Comité consultatif économique et industriel auprès de l'OCDE

Comité consultatif économique et industriel auprès de l'OCDE (BIAC) :Le Comité consultatif économique et industriel (BIAC) est un organisme indépendant officiellement reconnu par l'OCDE comme étant représentatif des milieux d'affaires et de l'industrie. Son rôle consiste à formuler, à l'intention de l'OCDE et des gouvernements qui en sont membres, des observations constructives fondées sur l'expérience pratique des gens d'affaires. La représentation canadienne au Comité a été placée sous l'égide de la Chambre de commerce du Canada (CCC).

Commission syndicale consultative auprès de l'OCDE

Commission syndicale consultative auprès de l'OCDE (CSC) :La Commission syndicale consultative (CSC) est un organisme international qui jouit du statut d'organe consultatif auprès de l'OCDE et de ses divers comités. Elle fait office d'interface entre les syndicats ouvriers et l'OCDE. La représentation du Canada a été placée sous l'égide du Congrès du travail du Canada.