Canada OECD Info

PDF Version (643 KB)Footnote *

March 2015

Message from the Ambassador

I am pleased to be taking on my role as Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the OECD at a time when the organization’s work is increasingly relevant to member and non-member countries, as well as partners and stakeholders around the world.  Over the course of my career in the government of Canada, I have always been a fan of the work of the OECD in all of its areas of expertise.

For example, in 1998 the OECD was instrumental in laying the groundwork for the principles, policies and practices that enabled the development and growth of what was then called ‘e-commerce’.  At the Ottawa Ministerial Conference on Electronic Commerce, which I was fortunate to help shape, OECD members, partners and non-members set the basic building blocks that still underpin to this day what we now take for granted as the digital economy.  While policies and practices have evolved since then, the core components set out by the OECD in 1998 remain relevant – they have stood the test of time.  This is due in large part to the excellent work of participating country officials and Secretariat staff, as well as the role the OECD played in convening, and indeed, leading the discussions.  At the time, the OECD took a ‘leap of faith’ which paid off for all economies.

More recently, I took part in April 2014 in an OECD Forum on the role and leadership of women in public life, where best practices in governments and the private sector, as well as evidence-based analysis, clearly demonstrated the economic benefits of having women in positions of leadership and decision-making.  I was proud to be able to set out some facts and figures on the significant number of women in the top-most leadership positions in the Government of Canada.  Here again, the OECD’s leadership is to be applauded.

In these, as in all areas of its activities, the work of the OECD and its members, often in partnership with other organizations, including in the context of the G20, is of extremely high quality.  There is one key element that drives this excellence:  the active engagement of members and the Secretariat in a true exchange and debate of ideas and expertise through the work of the committees, and an open sharing of data, analysis and best practices.  That is the strength of the OECD.  I firmly believe that Members benefit from the OECD the more they engage, participate and help shape its agenda.

As you will have understood, I take my functions of Permanent Representative of Canada to the OECD with tremendous expectations, and determined to ensure Canada is engaged and heard.

OECD High Level Policy Forum on Mental Health and Work

The need for early and integrated intervention by employment and health services was the focus of an OECD High Level Policy Forum on Mental Health and Work held on March 4 in The Hague. The event brought together Ministries of Employment and Health to discuss the economic case for mental health. The cost of mental illness has been estimated at around 3.5 percent of GDP, and people with mild to moderate disorders are twice as likely to become unemployed. Participants recognized that remaining at work - with appropriate support - can be part of the solution for those coping with mental illness. These themes are further examined in an OECD report released at the event entitled Fit Mind, Fit Job: From Evidence to Practice in Mental Health and Work. More details on the event and the OECD's research on this topic can be found at http://www.oecd.org/mental-health-and-work-forum/.

DELTA project, “Accessible, open and free”: new data portal

Under the DELTA project, “Accessible, open and free,” initiated by the OECD Council in 2011, a data portal aimed at making the Organization’s data widely available has been put in place. This is because, with a few exceptions, 100% of its data must be made free by mid-2015. This portal offers a wide range of very impressive research starting from two main fields: the country or the topic (health, employment, environment, etc.).

For example, you can access tax information for OECD countries, such as social security contributions (see illustration). One very interesting aspect about this new tool is that it allows you to personalize the parameters, thereby allowing the user to select which countries to highlight or the type of indicator desired (in the previous case: % of GDP or % of tax revenues).

It is very practical, allowing users to easily compare data between several countries and all of its content can be shared on Facebook or Twitter, or by email, with a single click on a designated button. As of February, no less than 80% of the data had already been opened up.

Go and discover it for yourself and then share it with others!

OLIS renewal: development of a mobile application for delegates

As part of the OLIS renewal project led by the OECD Secretariat, a mobile application for delegates called Application ONE is currently being developed. It will help delegates to very easily access all of the useful information in OLIS: upcoming meetings at the OECD (they can consult all of the meetings, or just their personal meetings), documents related to past and future personal meetings (including those for the annual Ministerial Council Meeting), and contact information for delegations and their staff.

Delegates will be able to access this application simply by using their regular OLIS login information. It will be available for all devices (Apple, Android, BlackBerry, Windows Phone, PC) and delegates who are registered for meetings will be able to obtain an e-Badge, which will allow them to enter the OECD directly, without having to go through reception.

One of the next steps in its development will be to test it in a real situation with delegations. According to the OECD Secretariat’s Action Plan, the very promising Application ONE should be in place by June 2015.

Economic Policy Reforms: Going for Growth 2015

Economic Policy Reforms:  Going for Growth 2015 was launched on February 9, 2015. This annual publication identifies five areas of structural reform priorities to boost growth and real income for each OECD country; the European Union; Brazil, Russia, India, Indonesia, China and South Africa (the BRIICS); and Colombia and Latvia, which have started a process of accession to the OECD. The reform priorities cover product and labour market regulations, human capital, tax and benefits systems, and innovation policies.

The key message in the 2015 edition is that the pace of structural reforms has slowed in most advanced countries and accelerated in major emerging market countries, where the BRIICS have demonstrated greater responsiveness to Going for Growth recommendations compared to the OECD average.

While countries’ levels and rates of growth vary significantly, a few shared priority areas emerge. Among advanced economies labour productivity and income inequality, especially income losses among youth, remain a concern. For emerging economies key challenges include physical and legal infrastructure, product market regulation, and fighting corruption as a means to improving productivity.

The report outlines five areas of structural reform priorities for Canada to boost growth and real income:

  1. Reduce barriers to entry and enhance competition in network and service sectors;
  2. Reduce barriers to foreign direct investment;
  3. Reform the tax system;
  4. Enhance access and efficiency in tertiary education; and
  5. Improve R&D support policies.

Canadian policy recommendations are consistent with those from previous years and include easing entry regulations in professional services; lifting FDI restrictions in telecommunications, airlines and broadcasting; increasing environmental and value-added taxes; and improving access to tertiary education for students from disadvantaged backgrounds. For more information, read the note on Canada.

Modernisation of Official Development Assistance

The post-2015 sustainable development agenda will require the mobilisation of a wide array of domestic and international resources from both public and private actors. While Official Development Assistance (ODA) will remain a crucial part of international development co-operation, particularly for countries most in need, a much stronger role for finance beyond ODA, including private capital, is also needed.

To this end, the December 2014 High Level Meeting of the OECD Development Assistance Committee reached an historic agreement to modernise the statistical system underpinning development co-operation, to update the reporting of concessional loans, and to target more development assistance to countries most in need.   Canada was represented at the High Level Meeting by its Deputy Minister of International Development, Malcolm Brown.  Despite their technical nature, the decisions taken in the High Level Meeting matter.  They matter because they will create incentives to mobilise more and better financing for development, because they reflect the broader range of funding options now available to developing countries, and because they will facilitate greater transparency and accountability.  Importantly for Canada, the decisions taken by the High Level Meeting will enable donors to mobilise more private finance for development by making use of the available instruments in the financing tool box, such as blended finance, guarantees and equity investments.  Taken together, the reform package is an important contribution in supporting the implementation of the forthcoming UN Post-2015 Development Agenda.

What lies behind gender inequality in education?

Over the past century, OECD countries have made significant progress in narrowing long-standing gender gaps in many areas of education and employment. However, new gender gaps are opening. The ABC of Gender Equality in Education, a new OECD publication based on data analysis of the 2012 Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) results, tries to determine why 15-year-old boys are now more likely than girls to be low achievers and why high-performing 15-year-old girls underachieve in mathematics, science and problem solving compared to high-achieving boys.

The report contains many interesting findings on 15 year-old students, including:

  • In Canada and within the OECD on average, 60% of the lowest achievers in mathematics, reading and science are boys.
  • Girls outperform boys in reading skills in all countries but the gap is narrower when digital reading skills are tested.
  • In 6 of 10 countries, including in Canada, boys outperform girls in mathematics.
  • 75 % of girls report reading for enjoyment vs. 50% of boys (72% of girls vs. 45% of boys in Canada).
  • Boys spend on average less time on homework than girls; it is almost a two-hour difference a week in Canada.
  • Boys are much more likely than girls to spend time on video games, computers and the Internet.
  • Girls, even high achievers, lack confidence in mathematics and are more likely to report anxiety about mathematics.
  • Boys are more likely to do internships as a way to prepare for the future while girls are more likely to search information on the internet or consult a career advisor.
  • Four times the number of boys as girls consider a career in engineering and computing (Six times in Canada)
  • Boys are more likely to have negative attitudes towards school. In Canada 15% of boys vs. 8 % of girls say that school has been a waste of time.

Based on the evidence of the report, gender gaps are not determined by innate differences in ability; they can be explained by differences in behaviour and attitudes. The OECD provides some recommendations on how parents, teachers and policy makers can help narrow these gaps such as by giving students a greater choice in what they read, allowing time for video games but giving the priority to homework, training teachers to become aware of their gender biases and helping girls build their self-confidence.

Stay in touch with the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the OECD

Twitter – Follow us on @CanadaOCDE !

Contact – Are you a Canadian delegate to an OECD Committee and are you planning your visit? Contact us by e-mail at the following address: Thibault.Maroufi@international.gc.ca.

Website – Visit our website www.canada-ocde.gc.ca !

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to our newsletter

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Info Canada - OCDE

Version PDF (816 Ko)Notes de bas de page *

Mars 2015

Message de l’Ambassadeur

Il me fait plaisir d’entrer en fonctions à titre d’Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’OCDE alors que les travaux de l’organisation sont davantage pertinents pour les pays membres, tout comme pour les autres pays, les partenaires et divers intervenants un peu partout dans le monde. Durant ma carrière au sein du gouvernement du Canada, j’ai toujours été ‘fan’ du travail de l’OCDE sur l’ensemble de ses champs d’activités.

Je remonte à 1998, par exemple, alors que l’OCDE a été le premier à jeter les bases des principes, politiques et pratiques qui ont facilité le développement et la croissance de ce que l’on appelait alors le ‘commerce électronique’. Dans le cadre de la Conférence ministérielle sur le commerce électronique qui s’est tenue à Ottawa, et que j’ai eu l’honneur d’encadrer, les membres de l’OCDE, avec leurs partenaires et d’autres pays ont pu construire les piliers qui sous-tendent encore aujourd’hui l’économie numérique, et que nous tenons pour acquis. Les politiques et les pratiques ont certes évolué depuis, mais les éléments clés établis par l’OCDE en 1998 demeurent pertinents – ils ont résisté aux effets du temps. Cela est attribuable en grande partie à l’excellent travail des représentants des pays et du personnel du Secrétariat, ainsi que du rôle qu’a joué l’OCDE à concerter, voire mener, les discussions. À l’époque, l’OCDE a joué le tout pour le tout, ce qui a profité à l’économie mondiale.

Plus récemment, j’ai participé en avril 2014 à un forum de l’OCDE sur le rôle et le leadership des femmes dans le domaine public, dans le cadre duquel on a bien démontré, par l’entremise de meilleures pratiques au sein des gouvernements et des entreprises privées, ainsi que par les analyses fondées sur des données, les retombées économiques positives qu’apportent les femmes lorsqu’elles sont dans des postes décisionnels et de leadership. J’étais fière de pouvoir partager des faits et données sur le nombre important de femmes qui occupaient des postes de haut niveau du gouvernement du Canada. Les activités de l’OCDE dans ce domaine sont à souligner.

Dans tous les domaines de ses activités, le travail de l'OCDE et ses membres, souvent en partenariat avec d'autres organisations, y compris dans le contexte du G20, est de très haute qualité. Un élément clé conduit cette excellence : la participation active des membres et du Secrétariat à un véritable échange et débat d'idées et d'expertise à travers le travail des comités, et un partage ouvert de données, d'analyses et de meilleures pratiques. C’est la force de l'OCDE. Je crois fermement que plus les membres s’engagent, participent et contribuent à façonner l’ordre du jour de l’OCDE, plus ils bénéficient de l'Organisation.

Comme vous l'aurez compris, je prends mes fonctions de Représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l'OCDE avec d’immenses attentes, et déterminée à assurer que le Canada y soit engagé et entendu.

Forum politique de l’OCDE de haut niveau sur la santé mentale et l’emploi

La nécessité d’une intervention précoce et intégrée des services liés à l’emploi et à la santé était au centre du Forum politique de l’OCDE de haut niveau sur la santé mentale et l’emploi, qui s’est tenu le 4 mars à La Haye. Le forum réunissait les ministres de l’Emploi et de la Santé dans le but de discuter des arguments économiques pour la santé mentale. Le coût des maladies mentales est estimé à environ 3,5 % du PIB, et les personnes souffrant de problèmes légers à modérés sont deux fois plus susceptibles de se retrouver au chômage. Les participants ont reconnu que le maintien en poste – avec le soutien approprié – peut faire partie de la solution pour les personnes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale. Ces thèmes sont étudiés plus à fond dans un rapport de l’OCDE publié à l’occasion du Forum et intitulé Bien-être mental, bien-être au travail – Santé mentale et emploi : de l’observation à la pratique. Pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur le Forum et sur les recherches de l’OCDE à ce sujet, visitez http://www.oecd.org/fr/forum-sante-mentale-et-emploi/.

Programme DELTA « Accessibilité, ouverture & gratuité » : nouveau Portail de données

Dans le cadre du programme DELTA « Accessibilité, ouverture & gratuité » initié par le Conseil de l’OCDE en 2011, un Portail de données visant à rendre les données de l’Organisation largement accessibles a été mis en place. Rappelons qu’elle doit passer à la gratuité pour 100 % de ses données, à quelques exceptions près, d’ici la mi-2015. Ce Portail propose un éventail de recherches très impressionnant à partir de deux points d’entrée principaux : le pays ou l’indicateur (santé, emploi, environnement, etc).

Vous pouvez par exemple accéder aux données fiscales des pays OCDE, comme les cotisations de sécurité sociale (voir illustration). Et un des aspects très intéressants de ce nouvel outil est qu’il offre la possibilité de personnaliser les paramètres, laissant ainsi l’utilisateur libre de sélectionner les pays à mettre en évidence ou encore le type d’indicateur souhaité (dans le cas présent : % du PIB ou % des recettes fiscales).

Très pratique, il permet de comparer facilement ces données entre plusieurs pays et tout son contenu peut être partagé en un clic sur Facebook, Twitter ou par email à partir d’un bouton dédié. Dès le mois de février, pas moins de 80 % des données ont déjà été ouvertes.

N’hésitez pas à aller le découvrir dès maintenant par vous-même et à le partager autour de vous !

Renouvellement d’OLIS : développement d’une application mobile pour les délégués

Dans le cadre du projet de renouvellement d’OLIS mené par le Secrétariat de l’Organisation, une application mobile pour les délégués appelée Application ONE est actuellement en cours de développement. Elle permettra aux délégués d’accéder très facilement à toutes les informations utiles d’OLIS : réunions à venir à l’OCDE (possibilité de consulter toutes les réunions ou uniquement ses réunions personnelles), documents des réunions passées et futures auxquelles le délégué est enregistré (y compris ceux de la Réunion du Conseil au niveau des Ministres annuelle), ou encore informations de contact des délégations et de leur personnel.

L’accès à cette application se fera tout simplement à l’aide des identifiants habituels de connexion à OLIS. Disponible sur tous types d’appareil (Apple, Android, BlackBerry, Windows Phone, PC), elle offrira la possibilité aux délégués enregistrés à des réunions d’obtenir un e-Badge qui leur permettra ainsi de rentrer directement à l’OCDE sans avoir à passer par l’accueil.

Selon le Plan d’Action du Secrétariat de l’OCDE, l’Application ONE sera testée en situation réelle avec les délégations dans les prochaines semaines et devrait voir le jour en juin prochain.

Réformes économiques : Objectif croissance 2015

Le document Réformes économiques : Objectif croissance 2015 a été publié en marge du G20 en Turquie le 9 février 2015. Cette publication annuelle cerne cinq priorités de réformes structurelles pour stimuler la croissance et accroître le revenu réel de tous les pays membres de l'OCDE; l'Union européenne; le Brésil, la Russie, l'Inde, l'Indonésie, la Chine et l'Afrique du Sud (pays BRIICS); la Colombie et la Lettonie, qui ont amorcé un processus d'adhésion à l'OCDE. Les priorités de réformes couvrent la réglementation touchant les produits et le marché du travail, le capital humain, les systèmes de prélèvements et de prestations et les politiques d'innovation.

Le principal message pour cette édition de 2015 est que le rythme des réformes structurelles s'est ralenti dans la plupart des pays les plus développés et s'est accéléré dans les principales économies de marché émergentes. Les pays BRIICS ont davantage donné suite aux recommandations d'Objectif croissance que la moyenne des pays de l'OCDE.

Bien que les niveaux et les taux de croissance varient considérablement d'un pays à l'autre, certains secteurs de priorité communs émergent. Parmi les économies avancées, la productivité de la main-d'œuvre et l'inégalité des revenus, en particulier les pertes de revenus chez les jeunes, demeurent préoccupantes. En ce qui a trait aux économies émergentes, les principaux défis comprennent l'infrastructure matérielle et juridique, la réglementation du marché des produits et la lutte contre la corruption comme moyen d'accroître la productivité.

Le rapport fait ressortir cinq priorités de réforme structurelle pour le Canada en vue de stimuler la croissance et le revenu réel :

  1. Réduire les obstacles à l'entrée et accroître la concurrence dans les secteurs des réseaux et des services;
  2. Réduire les obstacles à l'investissement direct étranger (IDE);
  3. Réformer le régime fiscal;
  4. Améliorer l'accès à l'enseignement supérieur et son efficacité;
  5. Améliorer les politiques d'appui à la recherche et au développement.

Les recommandations faites au Canada par l'OCDE concordent avec celles des années précédentes. Elles visent notamment à faciliter la réglementation concernant l'entrée sur le marché des services professionnels; la levée des restrictions relatives à l'IDE dans les télécommunications, le transport aérien et la télédiffusion; une hausse des taxes environnementales et de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée; un meilleur accès à l'enseignement supérieur pour les étudiants provenant de milieux défavorisés. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter la note sur le Canada. (En anglais)

Modernisation de l’aide publique au développement

Le programme de développement durable de l’après-2015 nécessitera la mobilisation d’un vaste éventail de ressources nationales et internationales provenant des secteurs public et privé. Même si l’aide publique au développement (APD) continuera d’être un élément crucial de la coopération pour le développement international, en particulier pour les pays qui en ont le plus besoin, il faudra aussi compter sur d’autres sources importantes de financement au-delà de l’APD, y compris le capital privé.

À cette fin, lors de sa réunion de haut niveau en décembre 2014, le Comité d’aide au développement de l’OCDE est parvenu à une entente historique en vue de moderniser le système de statistiques sur lequel repose la coopération au développement, de mettre à jour le mécanisme de production de rapports sur les prêts à des conditions de faveur et de diriger davantage l’aide au développement vers les pays qui en ont le plus besoin. C’est le sous-ministre du Développement international, Malcolm Brown, qui représentait le Canada à cette réunion de haut niveau. Malgré leur caractère technique, les décisions prises à cette réunion sont importantes. En effet, celles-ci permettront de créer des incitatifs pour obtenir un meilleur financement du développement, car elles tiennent compte d’un vaste éventail d’options de financement désormais accessibles aux pays en développement et elles faciliteront une plus grande transparence et une meilleure reddition de comptes. Fait important pour le Canada, les décisions prises à cette réunion permettront aux donateurs d’obtenir plus de financement privé pour le développement en recourant aux instruments disponibles qui existent en matière d’outils financiers, comme le financement mixte, les garanties et la participation au capital. Globalement, cet ensemble de réformes représente une contribution importante à la mise en œuvre du programme de développement de l’après-2015 des Nations Unies.

Comment expliquer l'inégalité entre les sexes dans l'éducation?

Au cours du siècle passé, les pays de l'OCDE ont réalisé d'importants progrès dans la réduction des écarts existant entre les sexes depuis longtemps dans de nombreux domaines de l'éducation et de l'emploi. Toutefois, de nouveaux écarts apparaissent. L'égalité des sexes dans l'éducation, une nouvelle publication de l'OCDE basée sur l'analyse des résultats du Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA) de 2012, essaie de comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles, à l'âge de 15 ans, les garçons sont en moyenne plus susceptibles que les filles d'être peu performants dans toutes les matières, et les filles très performantes, de réussir moins bien en mathématiques, en sciences et en résolution de problèmes que les garçons très performants.

Le rapport contient plusieurs constats intéressants sur les élèves de 15 ans :

  • Au Canada et dans la moyenne des pays de l'OCDE, 60% des élèves les moins performants en mathématiques, en compréhension de l'écrit et en sciences sont des garçons;
  • Les filles devancent les garçons en compréhension de l'écrit dans tous les pays, mais l'écart est moins important quand le test est réalisé sur support numérique;
  • Dans 6 pays sur 10, y compris au Canada, les garçons devancent les filles en mathématiques;
  • 75 % des filles disent lire par plaisir vs 50% des garçons (72% des filles vs 45 % des garçons au Canada);
  • Les garçons consacrent en moyenne moins de temps à leurs devoirs, presque 2 heures par semaine de moins chez les Canadiens;
  • Les garçons sont plus susceptibles de jouer aux jeux vidéo et de passer du temps sur l'ordinateur ou l'internet;
  • Les filles, même les plus performantes, manquent de confiance en elles en mathématiques et sont plus nombreuses à se dire anxieuses face aux mathématiques;
  • Les garçons sont plus susceptibles de faire des stages pour préparer leur avenir, tandis que les filles sont plus susceptibles de faire des recherches sur internet sur les professions ou de parler avec un conseiller d'orientation;
  • Les garçons sont quatre fois plus nombreux à envisager une carrière dans l'ingénierie et l'informatique (Six fois au Canada);
  • Les garçons sont plus susceptibles d'avoir une attitude négative face à l'école. Au Canada, 15% des garçons déclarent que l'école a été une perte de temps vs 8% des filles.

Le rapport montre clairement que les écarts de performance scolaire entre les sexes ne sont pas déterminés par des différences d'aptitudes innées; ces écarts s'expliquent par des différences d'attitude et de comportement. L'OCDE donne des recommandations sur la façon dont les parents, les professeurs et les décideurs peuvent les réduire, par exemple, en élargissant le choix des lectures proposées aux élèves, en autorisant les jeux vidéo (après les devoirs), en formant les enseignants pour les sensibiliser à leur propres préjugés et en renforçant la confiance des filles en leurs propres capacités.

Une version préliminaire du rapport est disponible en français ici : http://www.oecd.org/pisa/keyfindings/pisa-2012-results-gender-fr.pdf.

Restez en contact avec la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'OCDE

Twitter – Suivez sur nous sur @CanadaOCDE !

Contact – Vous êtes un délégué canadien auprès d'un Comité de l'OCDE et vous préparez votre visite ? Contactez-nous par e-mail à l'adresse suivante : Thibault.Maroufi@international.gc.ca.

Site – Visitez notre site web www.canada-ocde.gc.ca !

S'inscrire / se désinscrire à la newsletter

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *