Canada OECD Info

October 2014

PDF Version (718 KB)Footnote *

Message from the Ambassador - Ambassador Judith LaRocque

Ambassador Judith LaRocque

The coming months will represent an opportunity to reflect on emerging global issues and the future of the organization, especially at a Global Strategy Group meeting to be held on 25 and 26 November and which will be attended by senior representatives of our capitals.

At a time when Member countries and OECD Key Partners are working to restore the long-term growth potential of their economies, they face megatrends that are redefining the expectations of individuals and companies, and changing the global economy in an unexpected and potentially destabilizing way.

The OECD continues to advocate trade-related policy reform as a potentially significant contributor to economic growth and jobs. Work is being undertaken jointly by the OECD and the IMF to assess the growth impact of trade-related structural reforms. This analysis draws on the new OECD Services Trade Restrictiveness Index (STRI) (which allows countries to benchmark their policy performance) and the OECD-WTO-World Bank database on global value chains (GVCs), which measures trade in value-added terms.

Moreover, following the first seven deliverables of the G20/OECD Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (BEPS) Action Plan that have been developed by CFA experts in just the 12 months following the launch of the project, CFA experts will continue their work in the coming year to complete a second set of eight more BEPS deliverables and to ensure the coherence of the overall project for final delivery at the end of 2015. This is a significant and unprecedented achievement that targets a number of important aspects of current international tax rules that have facilitated tax avoidance. This challenging initiative also reflects well on the OECDs’ capacity to work effectively with the G20 and other non-OECD countries.

Finally, the global dimension of the OECD's work will remain at the heart of discussions. Given that the OECD has become an important partner of the G7 and G20 and continues to expand its cooperation with emerging countries, it is necessary to consider the balance to be struck between the objectives of global influence and the priorities of Member countries. The modalities concerning OECD’s engagement with Russia will continue to raise important questions.

Revision of the OECD Economic Forecasts

With “la rentrée”, the OECD revised its economic forecasts for G7 and major emerging market countries, updating projections released in the May edition of the Economic Outlook.

Table 1: Revision of the OECD Economic Forecasts
 201320142015
ActualMay 2014
Economic Outlook
September
Interim
Forecasts
differenceMay 2015
Economic Outlook
September
Interim
Forecasts
difference
United States2.22.62.1-0.53.53.1-0.4
Euro Area-0.41.20.8-0.41.71.1-0.6
Japan1.61.20.9-0.31.31.1-0.2
Germany0.21.91.5-0.42.11.5-0.6
France0.40.90.4-0.51.51.0-0.5
Italy-1.80.5-0.4-0.91.10.1-1.0
United Kingdom1.83.23.1-0.12.72.8+0.1
Canada2.02.52.3-0.22.72.70.0
China7.77.47.40.07.37.30.0
India4.74.95.7+0.85.95.90.0
Brazil2.31.80.3-1.52.21.4-0.8

While noting that the global recovery continues at a moderate pace, the OECD revised down most of its projections for 2014 and 2015, with bigger declines for the euro area and Brazil. For Canada, in spite of a small markdown for 2014 growth, the OECD expects Canada to remain among the strongest growing economies in the G7 over this year and next, together with the U.S. and U.K. Among major euro area economies, Germany is expected to continue to do significantly better than France and Italy especially, which is set to experience another year of negative growth.

The modest recovery is also subject to significant negative risks. These include more importantly the possibility that entrenched low inflation in the euro area feeds further negative growth surprises, that geopolitical tensions in Ukraine and the Middle East intensify and weaken confidence, and that the normalization of monetary policy in the U.S. leads to sharper than expected shifts in international financial flows, which could be especially disruptive to some emerging market economies.

Reflecting the fact that the global economy continues to grow at a rate that is well below its pre-crisis pace, world trade also remains sluggish. The OECD suggests that subdued growth in trade-intensive investment is one of the main factors behind this trend.

Global trade in goods and services Volume, year-on-year percentage change
Global trade in goods and services Volume, year-on-year percentage change.

On the policy front, the OECD notes that with increasingly divergent cyclical positions, the necessary macro policy settings of major countries are diverging. While the U.S. and U.K. should continue to move toward ending their unconventional monetary easing, Japan should maintain his quantitative easing program in order to ascertain its break from deflation. Regarding the euro area, the OECD welcomes recent actions by the ECB but recommends more monetary support, including quantitative easing. It also argues that European countries should use the full degree of flexibility available within EU fiscal rules to provide much needed support to demand. The OECD also reiterates that more ambitious structural reforms by all will be required to address the various scars from the crisis, raise potential growth and correct certain ongoing pre-crisis imbalances.

Education at a Glance 2014

Education at a Glance was launched on September 9th. This annual publication contains an impressive number of indicators on who participates, how much is spent, and how education systems operate, and illustrates a wide range of educational outcomes. The 2014 edition is particularly thorough as it also includes data from the last Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), the Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC), as well as the OECD Teaching and Learning International Survey (TALIS).

The publication shows that despite the economic crisis, access to education and competency levels have increased significantly in recent years in OECD countries. However, data also show that educational attainment and skills do not always align. In addition, socio-economic divisions are increasing between adults with a higher education diploma and the rest of society. High levels of education and competencies pay off more than ever before – in employment and earnings, and in many social outcomes such as health. Worryingly, the report reveals that educational mobility has started to slow down in many countries and that the share of people with lower qualifications than their parents is increasing.

Canadians are still among the most educated within the OECD. More than 57% of adults aged 25-64 have a tertiary degree (university or college) in Canada, Korea and Japan, compared with an OECD average of 40%. As in other OECD countries, there is a correlation between education and employment and income levels: 82 % of Canadian adults with a tertiary degree have a job, compared with 56% of adults who have no high school degree. Canadian universities continue to attract an important number of foreign students – Canada is the 6th most popular destination for international students. Canadian students at age 15 are still well above the OECD average in the three competencies evaluated by the PISA Survey (numeracy, literacy and science) but their performance has weakened in mathematics and science.

For more information, read the note on Canada.

OECD High-Level Policy Forum on Migration

Canada’s Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

Canada’s Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, the Honourable Chris Alexander, will chair the OECD High-Level Policy Forum on Migration in Paris on December 1-2, 2014. Under the theme Mobilizing Migrants’ Skills for Economic Success, the meeting will offer Ministers an opportunity to discuss policy challenges related to migration and migrants’ economic and social integration. The Forum will include sessions on reconciling short- and long-term objectives in migration policies, building public confidence on migration issues, engaging with employers and unions, and fostering the role of migration and migrants in skills strategies. The 2014 edition of the OECD’s International Migration Outlook will also be launched at the Forum.

More information on the OECD’s work on international migration can be found here.

Innovating the Public Sector: from Ideas to Impact

The Honourable Tony Clement, President of the Treasury Board of Canada, will visit the OECD in November to participate in a conference entitled Innovating the Public Sector: from Ideas to Impact. Minister Clement will address the conference, including at the opening plenary and the closing Ministerial panel; he will also hold bilateral meetings with his counterparts on the margins of the meeting, scheduled for November 12-13, 2014. The conference will bring together public sector practitioners, researchers, civil society and businesses to discuss how innovation can help solve today's complex challenges. This gathering will also introduce to a broad audience the OECD Observatory of Public Sector Innovation (OPSI), an online interactive platform that collects and analyses examples and shared experiences of public sector innovation to provide practical advice to countries on how to make innovations work. Canada has strongly supported this initiative, and currently co-chairs the Observatory’s Task Force.

Stay in touch with the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the OECD

Twitter – Follow us on @CanadaOCDE!

Contact – Are you a Canadian delegate to an OECD Committee and are you planning your visit? Contact us by e-mail at the following address: Thibault.Maroufi@international.gc.ca.

Website – Visit our website www.canada-ocde.gc.ca!

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to our newsletter

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Info Canada OCDE

Octobre 2014

Version PDF (793 Ko)Notes de bas de page *

Message de l’Ambassadeur - Ambassadeur Judith LaRocque

Ambassador Judith LaRocque

Les prochains mois vont être l’occasion de s’interroger sur des questions émergentes de portée mondiale et sur l’avenir de l’organisation, notamment lors d’une réunion du Groupe de Stratégie globale qui se tiendra les 25 et 26 novembre prochains et auxquels participeront des représentants de haut niveau de nos capitales.

A l’heure où les pays Membres et les Partenaires Clés de l’OCDE s’emploient à rétablir le potentiel de croissance à long terme de leurs économies, ils sont confrontés à des mégatendances qui redéfinissent les attentes des individus et des sociétés, et modifient l’économie mondiale d’une manière inattendue et virtuellement déstabilisante.

Ainsi, l'OCDE continue de préconiser une réforme des politiques liées au commerce en tant que facteur potentiel important à la croissance économique et l'emploi. Le travail est entrepris conjointement entre l'OCDE et le FMI pour évaluer l'impact sur la croissance des réformes structurelles associées au commerce. Cette analyse s'appuie sur le nouvel Indice de Restrictivité des Échanges de Services (IRES) (qui permet aux pays de comparer leurs performances en matière de politique) et sur la base de données de l'OCDE, l'OMC et la Banque mondiale sur les chaînes de valeur mondiales (CVM), qui mesure les échanges en termes de valeur ajoutée.

Par ailleurs, dans la lignée des sept premiers livrables du Plan d’action Érosion de la base d'imposition et transfert de bénéfices de l’OCDE et du G20 (BEPS) qui ont été développés par les experts du Comité des affaires fiscales en seulement 12 mois après le lancement du projet, ces derniers vont continuer leur travail pendant l’année en cours afin de produire un second lot de huit livrables et assurer la cohérence du projet en vue de sa remise finale fin 2015. C’est un aboutissement significatif et sans précédent, touchant les règles fiscales internationales actuelles ayant facilité l’évasion fiscale. Cette initiative stimulante reflète bien la capacité de l’OCDE à travailler efficacement avec le G20 et les autres pays non membres de l’OCDE.

Enfin, la dimension mondiale des travaux de l’OCDE restera au cœur des discussions. Considérant que l’OCDE est devenue un partenaire important du G7 et du G20 et qu’elle continue d’accroître sa collaboration avec les pays émergents, il convient de se pencher sur l’équilibre à maintenir entre les objectifs de rayonnement global et les priorités des pays Membres. Les modalités entourant l’engagement de l’OCDE avec la Russie continueront de susciter des interrogations profondes.

Révision des prévisions économiques de l’OCDE

A l’occasion de la rentrée, l'OCDE a révisé ses prévisions économiques pour les pays du G7 et les principaux pays émergents, mettant à jour les projections publiées dans l'édition de mai des Perspectives Économiques.

Tableau 1: Révision des prévisions économiques de l’OCDE
 201320142015
ActualMai 2014
Perspectives économiques
Septembre
Intérimaire
Prévisions
DifférenceMai 2015
Perspectives économiques
Septembre
Intérimaire
Prévisions
Différence
États-Unis2.22.62.1-0.53.53.1-0.4
Zone Euro-0.41.20.8-0.41.71.1-0.6
Japon1.61.20.9-0.31.31.1-0.2
Allemagne0.21.91.5-0.42.11.5-0.6
France0.40.90.4-0.51.51.0-0.5
Italie-1.80.5-0.4-0.91.10.1-1.0
Royaume-Uni1.83.23.1-0.12.72.8+0.1
Canada2.02.52.3-0.22.72.70.0
Chine7.77.47.40.07.37.30.0
Inde4.74.95.7+0.85.95.90.0
Brésil2.31.80.3-1.52.21.4-0.8

Tout en notant que la reprise mondiale se poursuit à un rythme modéré, l'OCDE a révisé à la baisse la plupart de ses projections pour 2014 et 2015, avec des fléchissements plus importants pour la zone euro et le Brésil. En ce qui concerne le Canada, en dépit d'une légère démarque de la croissance en 2014, l'OCDE prévoit que le pays demeure une des économies les plus solides du G7 au cours de cette année et la suivante, aux côtés des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni. Parmi les grandes économies de la zone euro, il est attendu que l'Allemagne continue à faire beaucoup mieux que la France et en particulier l’Italie, qui devrait connaître une autre année de croissance négative.

La reprise modeste est également sujette à des risques négatifs importants. Ces derniers incluent notamment la possibilité que la persistance de la très faible inflation en zone euro crée de nouvelles surprises à la baisse concernant la croissance, que les tensions géopolitiques en Ukraine et au Moyen-Orient s'intensifient et affaiblissent la confiance, et que la normalisation de la politique monétaire aux États-Unis conduise à des changements plus intenses que prévu des flux financiers internationaux, ce qui pourrait être particulièrement perturbateur pour certaines économies émergentes.

Reflétant le fait que l'économie mondiale continue de croître à un taux qui est bien en deçà de son rythme avant la crise, le commerce mondial reste lui aussi atone. L'OCDE indique que la croissance modérée de l'investissement commercial est l'un des principaux facteurs qui expliquent cette tendance.

Commerce mondiale des biens et service Volume, pourcentage de variation année par année
Commerce mondiale des biens et service Volume, pourcentage de variation année par année

Sur le front des politiques, l'OCDE note qu’en raison de positions cycliques de plus en plus divergentes, les paramètres optimaux des politiques macroéconomiques des principaux pays doivent elles aussi diverger. Ainsi, alors que les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni devraient continuer à assouplir leur politique monétaire non conventionnelle, le Japon devrait maintenir son programme d'assouplissement quantitatif afin de confirmer sa sortie de déflation. En ce qui concerne la zone euro, l'OCDE se félicite des mesures récentes de la BCE mais recommande plus de soutien monétaire, incluant l'assouplissement quantitatif. L’organisation fait également valoir que les pays européens doivent utiliser le plein degré de flexibilité disponible dans les règles budgétaires de l'Union Européenne pour fournir le soutien nécessaire à la demande. L'OCDE rappelle également que des réformes structurelles plus ambitieuses seront nécessaires de la part de tous pour faire face aux diverses cicatrices laissées par la crise, renforcer la croissance potentielle et corriger certains déséquilibres hérités de la période d’avant la crise en cours.

Regards sur l’éducation 2014

L’OCDE a lancé Regards sur l’éducation le 9 septembre dernier. Cette publication annuelle contient un nombre impressionnant d’indicateurs sur qui participe aux activités éducatives, quelles dépenses leur sont affectées, comment les systèmes éducatifs fonctionnent et quels sont les résultats obtenus. L’édition 2014 est particulièrement complète, car elle comprend aussi des données des dernières enquêtes du Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA), du Programme pour l’évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PIAAC) et de l’Enquête internationale sur l’enseignement  et l’apprentissage (TALIS).

La publication montre que l’accès à l’éducation et les niveaux de compétences se sont accrus rapidement dans les pays de l’OCDE ces dernières années et ce, malgré la crise économique. Cependant, les données montrent également que le niveau de formation et le niveau de compétence ne sont pas toujours en concordance. Par ailleurs, les divisions socio-économiques se creusent entre les adultes diplômés de l’enseignement supérieur et le reste de la société. Les niveaux de formation et de compétences sont donc plus utiles que jamais, que ce soit sur le plan de l’emploi, du revenu ou sur de nombreux aspects d’ordre social tels que la santé. Fait inquiétant, le rapport révèle que la mobilité intergénérationnelle en matière de formation a commencé à ralentir dans de nombreux pays et le pourcentage de personnes moins diplômées que leur parent a augmenté.

Les Canadiens sont toujours parmi les plus éduqués au sein de l’OCDE. En effet, plus de 57% des jeunes adultes de 25 à 34 ans au Canada, en Corée et au Japon ont atteint le niveau tertiaire (universitaire ou collégial), comparativement à 40% seulement en moyenne pour l’OCDE.  Comme dans les autres pays de l’OCDE, l’éducation rapporte en termes d’emploi et de revenus : 82% des adultes canadiens avec un diplôme tertiaire ont un emploi, comparativement à 56% des adultes n’ayant pas de diplôme d’études secondaire. Les universités canadiennes continuent d’attirer un nombre important d’étudiants étrangers, le Canada étant la 6e destination la plus populaire pour les étudiants étrangers. Les élèves canadiens de 15 ans sont toujours bien au-dessus de la moyenne de l’OCDE dans les trois compétences évaluées par l’enquête PISA (numéracie, littératie et science), mais leur performance a diminué en mathématiques et en sciences.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez la note sur le Canada.

Forum à haut-niveau de l’OCDE sur les migrations

Canada’s Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

Le Ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration du Canada, l'honorable Chris Alexander, présidera le Forum à haut niveau de l’OCDE sur les migrations qui se tiendra à Paris les 1er et 2 Décembre 2014. Sous le thème « Mobiliser les compétences des migrants pour la réussite économique », la réunion offrira aux ministres l'occasion de discuter des défis politiques liés à la migration et à l'intégration économique et sociale des migrants. Le Forum comprendra des sessions sur la réconciliation des objectifs à court et à long terme dans les politiques de migration, sur l’instauration d’un climat de confiance du public envers les questions migratoires, de dialogue avec les employeurs et les syndicats, et sur la promotion du rôle de la migration et des migrants dans les stratégies de compétences. L'édition 2014 des Perspectives de migrations internationales de l'OCDE sera également lancée au Forum.

Plus d’informations sur le travail de l’OCDE lié aux migrations internationales sont disponibles ici.

Innover dans le secteur public : des idées aux résultats

L'honorable Tony Clément, président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, se rendra à l'OCDE en novembre pour participer à une conférence intitulée  « Innover dans le secteur public : des idées aux résultats ». Le ministre Clément s’exprimera à la conférence lors de la plénière d'ouverture comme à la clôture de la table-ronde ministérielle ; en marge de la réunion, prévue les 12 et 13 novembre 2014, il prendra également part à des entretiens bilatéraux avec ses homologues. La conférence réunira des praticiens du secteur public, des chercheurs, des représentants de la société civile et des entreprises afin de discuter de la façon dont l'innovation peut aider à résoudre les problèmes complexes d'aujourd'hui. Cette rencontre sera également l’occasion de présenter à un large public l'Observatoire de l'OCDE sur l'innovation dans le secteur public (OPSI), une plate-forme interactive en ligne qui recueille et analyse des exemples et des partages d’expériences d'innovation dans le secteur public en vue de fournir des conseils pratiques aux pays sur la façon de réaliser des travaux d’innovation. Le Canada a fortement soutenu cette initiative, et co-préside actuellement le Groupe de Travail de l’Observatoire.

Restez en contact avec la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’OCDE

Twitter – Suivez sur nous sur @CanadaOCDE !

Contact – Vous êtes un délégué canadien auprès d’un Comité de l’OCDE et vous préparez votre visite ? Contactez-nous par e-mail à l’adresse suivante : Thibault.Maroufi@international.gc.ca.

Site – Visitez notre site web www.canada-ocde.gc.ca !

S’inscrire / se désinscrire à la newsletter

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *