Delegation to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe

The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) is a regional security organization that works on early warning, conflict prevention, crisis management and post-conflict rehabilitation in the European and Eurasian region.

Spanning a vast geographic area from Vancouver to Vladivostok, the OSCE is the world’s largest regional security organization under the Chapter VIII of the United Nations Charter.

Canada's participation in the OSCE goes back to the inception of its precursor, the Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe (CSCE). Canada was one of the 35 States present when the CSCE opened on July 3, 1973.

Canada’s priorities at the OSCE

The work of the OSCE corresponds well with Canada’s principled foreign policy: to support human rights and fundamental freedoms; to assist fragile states and regions; to support democracy-building, and the rule of law; and to strengthen regional capacities in conflict prevention, sustainable development and good governance.

Canada is one of the major supporters of the OSCE, its programs, and its field operations. Canadian Members of Parliament and Senate are also actively engaged in work of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly. Canada values the OSCE’s comprehensive and cross-dimensional approach to security and its role in maintaining peace and stability in the Euro-Atlantic and Eurasian region.

Canada’s Delegation to the OSCE

Canada’s Delegation to the OSCE, located in Vienna, Austria, is headed by Ambassador Natasha Cayer. The Delegation reports to the Canadian government on all OSCE-related issues. It works to maintain political dialogue across the Euro-Atlantic region and actively contributes to the implementation of Canadian foreign policy on security, human rights and democratic development.

The Delegation consists of:

  • a political-military section,
  • an economic and environment section, and
  • a human rights section.

The Delegation represents Canada at:

  • the Permanent Council,
  • the Forum for Security Co-operation, and
  • the Ministerial Council.

More statements...

Delegation of Canada to the OSCE

Vienna
Office: +43 1 531 38 30 00
Fax: +43 1 531 38 39 15
Email: vosce@international.gc.ca

Ambassador Natasha Cayer

Natasha Cayer,
Ambassador of Canada to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe

Ambassador’s message

OSCE website

OSCE logo

La délégation du Canada à l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe

L’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) est une organisation de sécurité régionale qui travaille sur l’alerte rapide, la prévention des conflits, la gestion des crises et le relèvement post-conflit en Europe et en Eurasie.

L’OSCE est la plus grande organisation de sécurité régionale au monde en vertu du chapitre VIII de la Charte des Nations Unies. En effet, elle œuvre dans la vaste région allant de Vancouver à Vladivostok.

La participation du Canada à l’OSCE remonte à la création de l’organisme qui l’a précédé, soit la Conférence sur la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (CSCE). Le Canada était l’un des 35 États présents lors du lancement de la CSCE le 3 juillet 1973.

Les priorités du Canada à l’OSCE

Le travail de l’OSCE cadre bien avec la politique étrangère du Canada, fondée sur les principes suivants : protéger les droits de la personne et les libertés fondamentales; venir en aide aux États et aux régions fragiles; promouvoir la démocratie et la primauté du droit; renforcer les capacités régionales en matière de prévention des conflits, de développement durable et de bonne gouvernance.

Le Canada est l’un des pays qui soutiennent le plus l’OSCE, ses programmes et ses opérations sur le terrain. De plus, les députés et les sénateurs canadiens participent activement aux activités de l’Assemblée parlementaire de l’OSCE. Le Canada accorde beaucoup d’importance à l’approche globale et transversale de la sécurité de l’OSCE, ainsi qu’à son rôle dans le maintien de la paix et de la stabilité dans les régions euro-atlantique et eurasienne.

La délégation du Canada à l’OSCE

La délégation du Canada à l’OSCE, dont le siège est à Vienne, en Autriche, est dirigée par l’ambassadrice Natasha Cayer. La délégation rend des comptes au gouvernement du Canada sur toutes les questions relatives à l’OSCE. Elle s’efforce de maintenir un dialogue politique dans l’ensemble de la région euro-atlantique, et contribue activement à la mise en œuvre de la politique étrangère du Canada en ce qui concerne la sécurité, les droits de la personne et le développement démocratique.

La délégation se compose :

  • d’une section politico-militaire,
  • d’une section économique et environnementale, et
  • d’une section des droits de la personne.

Elle représente le Canada auprès :

  • du Conseil permanent,
  • du Forum pour la coopération en matière de sécurité, et
  • du Conseil ministériel.

Plus de déclarations...

La délégation du Canada à l'OSCE

Vienna
Bureau : +43 1 531 38 30 00
Télécopieur : +43 1 531 38 39 15
Courriel : vosce@international.gc.ca

Ambassadeur Natasha Cayer

Natasha Cayer,
Ambassadeur du Canada auprès de l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe

Message de l’ambassadeur

Site web de l'OSCE

Logo de l'OSCE
(en anglais seulement)