Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (left) and UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon at UN Headquarters in New York on March 16, 2016.

The Permanent Mission of Canada is the primary channel for communications between the Canadian government and the United Nations Headquarters in New York City.

Ambassador Marc-André Blanchard, Canada’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, leads the delegation. Through diplomacy, negotiation and daily monitoring of UN activities, we work to advance Canada’s interests, promote international development, security and human rights, and keep our government informed on multilateral issues.

Canada and the United Nations

Canada has been active at the United Nations since its foundation in 1945 and played a key role in drafting the UN Charter - an international treaty that sets out basic principles of international relations.

Today, Canada continues to uphold the UN by actively participating in the organization's activities and providing financial support. Canada consistently brings pragmatic ideas and solutions to the table, from peacekeeping proposals in the 1950s, to creating the International Criminal Court and banning landmines in the 1990s. Today, some of our current goals are to assist war-affected children, or to improve the UN’s management and rationalize the work of its agencies.

To be sure, the UN continues to achieve a great deal in advancing Canadian policy positions. It is an indispensable global organization for a globalizing world. Through treaties, dialogue, negotiation, relationships and the capacity to implement decisions, the UN helps to preserve our sovereignty, protect our key interests and defend our values. It also helps us to develop the mutual understanding we need to resolve our differences. And it helps us to forge compromises and agreements, and to combine our energies for the common good.

It is moreover there to help us cope with "problems without passports" - threats such as terrorism, environmental issues, contagious disease and chronic starvation, human rights, illiteracy and population displacement. The problems are the shared responsibility of the international community and cry out for solutions that, like the problems themselves, also cross frontiers.

Permanent Mission of Canada

885 Second Avenue, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10017

Contact and office information

Ambassador Marc-André Blanchard

Marc-André Blanchard,
Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Ambassador’s message

United Nations

Logo of the United Nations

Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

Le premier ministre Justin Trudeau (à gauche) avec Ban Ki-moon, le secrétaire général des Nations Unies au siège de l'ONU à New York le 16 mars 2016.

La mission du Canada est la principale voie de communication entre le Gouvernement du Canada et les Nations Unies à New York.

La Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies est la principale voie de communication entre le Gouvernement du Canada et les Nations Unies à New York.

La délégation est dirigée par l’Ambassadeur Marc-André Blanchard, Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies. Grâce à la diplomatie, à la négociation et au suivi quotidien des activités de l’ONU, nous faisons la promotion des intérêts du Canada, du développement international, de la sécurité et des droits de la personne, et nous tenons notre gouvernement au courant des dossiers multilatéraux.

Canada et l'Organisation des Nations Unies

Le Canada a été actif au sein des Nations Unies depuis sa fondation en 1945 et a joué un rôle clé dans l’ébauche de la Charte de l’ONU, un traité international qui a établit les principes indispensables des relations internationales.

Aujourd’hui le Canada continue d’appuyer les valeurs onusiennes autant par le financement que par la participation des activités de l’ONU. Le Canada apporte constamment des idées et des solutions pragmatiques; tel a été le cas pour les opérations du maintien de la paix dans les années 1950 jusqu’aux années 1990 quand le Canada fût l’architecte du Traité d’Ottawa, qui a interdit l’utilisation des mines anti-personnelles. Cet héritage se retrouve aujourd’hui dans la politique étrangère du Canada à l’ONU: actuellement le Canada porte assistance aux enfants dans les zones de conflits et soutient également l’amélioration de la gestion des affaires onusiennes.

Il n’y a aucun doute que l’ONU continue d’être une excellente scène pour promouvoir les orientations politiques canadiennes. De plus, elle est indispensable pour l’organisation internationale dans l’ère de la mondialisation. Par les traités internationaux, un dialogue constant, la négociation et la diplomatie, l’ONU aide à préserver notre souveraineté de même qu’à protéger nos intérêts et nos valeurs.

C’est également à l’ONU que nous pouvons remédié à plusieurs situations à caractère mondiales, telle la prolifération des armes de destructions massives, le terrorisme, les questions environnementales, la famine, les droits de la personne, etc. Ces problèmes sont internationaux et les solutions doivent être, similairement, internationales.