Message from the Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Ambassador Marc-André Blanchard

Marc-André Blanchard,
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Welcome to Canada’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York, the primary channel for communications between the Canadian government and the United Nations. I am deeply honoured to have been named by Canada’s Prime Minister, the Rt. Honourable Justin Trudeau, as Canada’s Permanent Representative.

Our mission is to carry forward the proud tradition of multilateral diplomacy and international engagement and to ensure that Canada plays an active role on peace and security, sustainable development, and human rights, while keeping our government and Canadians informed about multilateral issues.

Canada can and does play a leadership role in addressing the many global challenges facing us. With a team of dedicated diplomats, each and every day we work to exemplify Canada’s strong pluralistic traditions, respect for and celebration of diversity, and a fundamental commitment to the principles of the United Nations.

Since coming to office, Prime Minister Trudeau and the Government of Canada have been clear about the importance of the United Nations and multilateral engagement. Canada recognizes that a collective effort is needed of all Member States and all stakeholders if we are to find solutions to the many challenges before us – climate change, peace and security, poverty alleviation, and the global displacement crisis to name just a few.

In this respect, we here at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United nations look forward to hearing from you. Please follow us on Twitter @CanadaUN or contact us by email at Canada.UN@international.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Marc-André Blanchard,
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Message de l'Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

Ambassadeur Marc-André Blanchard

Marc-André Blanchard,
Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

Bienvenue à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, le principal canal de communication entre le gouvernement canadien et les Nations Unies. Je suis extrêmement honoré d’avoir été nommé Représentant permanent du Canada par le Très Honorable Justin Trudeau, Premier Ministre du Canada.

Notre mission est de poursuivre la fière tradition de diplomatie multilatérale et d’engagement international et de s’assurer que le Canada joue un rôle actif en matière de paix et de sécurité, de développement durable, et de droits de l’homme, tout en tenant notre gouvernement et les canadiens au courant des questions multilatérales.

Le Canada a le pouvoir de jouer et joue un rôle de premier plan pour relever les nombreux défis mondiaux auxquels nous faisons face. Avec une équipe de diplomates dévoués, nous nous efforçons chaque jour d’incarner les solides traditions pluralistes du Canada, son respect et sa célébration de la diversité, et de démontrer un engagement fondamental envers les principes des Nations Unies.

Depuis son arrivée au pouvoir, le Premier Ministre Trudeau et le gouvernement du Canada ont été clairs sur l’importance des Nations Unies et de l’engagement multilatéral. Le Canada reconnaît qu’un effort collectif est nécessaire de la part de tous les États membres et de tous les intervenants si nous voulons trouver des solutions aux nombreux défis auxquels nous faisons face – le changement climatique, la paix et la sécurité, la réduction de la pauvreté, et la crise mondiale de déplacement pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

À cet égard, nous tous à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, restons à votre écoute. N’hésitez pas à suivre notre actualité sur Twitter @CanadaONU ou à nous contacter par courriel à : canada.un@international.gc.ca.

Avec nos sentiments les meilleurs,

Marc-André Blanchard,
Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies