Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Exemption on the Debt Retirement Charge (DRC) payable on electricity consumed in Ontario

February 21, 2011

In Ontario, the Debt Retirement Charge (DRC) is collected on electricity consumed in the province. All revenues from the DRC are used to pay down the debt of the former Ontario Hydro. The DRC replaces debt servicing costs included as part of electricity bills and is paid by most electricity users. The DRC will end once the debt is paid off.

The Ministry of Revenue in Ontario provides an exemption of the DRC to accredited foreign states, eligible international organization as well as their representatives DRC Guide 101.

About the exemption process

In order to qualify for the DRC exemption, accredited foreign states, eligible international organization as well as their representatives may have to complete the Exemption Certificate (PDF Version, 230 KB) * and present the certificate to their electricity supplier DRC Guide 104.

General enquiries regarding this privilege can be directed to the Ministry of Revenue of Ontario at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297) 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

General enquiries regarding this note, including questions concerning its application to categories of foreign representatives, can be directed to the Privileges and Immunities Unit of the Office of Protocol at 613-944-1159.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-09

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Exonération de la Redevance de liquidation de la dette (RLD) perçue sur l'électricité consommée en Ontario

Le 21 février 2011

En Ontario, la redevance de liquidation de la dette (RLD) est perçue sur l'électricité consommée en Ontario. Les revenus de la RLD servent à rembourser la dette de l'ancienne société Ontario Hydro. La RLD remplace les frais de service de la dette déjà compris dans la facture d'électricité et est versée par la majorité des usagers d'électricité. La RLD se terminera une fois que la dette aura été liquidée.

Le ministère du Revenu de l'Ontario accorde l'exonération de la RLD aux États étrangers, aux organisations internationales ainsi qu'à leurs représentants accrédités au Canada Guide RLD 101.

À propos du programme d'exonération

Afin de bénéficier de l'exemption de la RLD, les missions étrangères, les organisations internationales et leur représentants accrédités pourraient avoir à remplir un&nbsp certificat d'exemption (Version PDF, 230 ko) *  et présenter ledit certificat à leur fournisseur d'électricité Guide RLD 104.

Les questions concernant ce privilège peuvent être adressées directement au ministère du Revenu de l'Ontario en composant le 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Pour toute question concernant l’application de ce privilège, y compris les catégories de représentants étrangers qui en bénéficient, les missions étrangères devraient s’adresser à l’Unité des Privilèges et immunités du Bureau du Protocole au 613-944-1159.


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-09