Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Rebate of the Federal Excise Tax (FET) on personal purchases of Fuel and Diesel

Supplies of petroleum products in Canada are normally subject to the FET. The rates of FET are specified on the Canada Revenue Agency website.

Canadian legislation, namely the Excise Tax Act, provides an exemption of the Federal Excise Tax (FET) on gasoline and diesel fuel to certain categories of accredited foreign representatives. The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), which administers the Excise Tax Act, is responsible for processing FET refund applications.

About the refund process

Diplomats are entitled to claim a rebate of the FET based to the extent of Article 68.3 of the Excise Tax Act, which states that:

68.3

(1) Where taxes under Parts III and VI have been paid in respect of gasoline or diesel fuel purchased by a diplomat for his personal or official use, an amount equal to the amount of the taxes shall, subject to this Part, be paid to the diplomat if the diplomat applies therefore within two years after the purchase of the gasoline or diesel fuel.

Designation order

(2) The Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Foreign Affairs certifying that Canadian diplomats posted in a foreign country are granted relief from tax on gasoline or diesel fuel, may, by order, designate the foreign country for the purposes of this section.

Definition of “diplomat”

(3) In this section, “diplomat” means a person referred to in section 2 of Part II of Schedule III who represents a country designated by an order made under subsection (2).

Part II of Schedule III section 2

Diplomatic

1. Articles for the use of the Governor General.

2. Articles imported for the personal or official use of the Heads of Diplomatic Missions, High Commissioners representing other of Her Majesty’s Governments, Counsellors, Secretaries and Attachés at Embassies, Legations and Offices of High Commissioners in Canada, Trade Commissioners and Assistant Trade Commissioners representing other of Her Majesty’s Governments, Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls of Foreign Nations, who are natives or citizens of the countries they represent and are not engaged in any other business or profession.

To obtain a refund of the FET, eligible diplomats must complete the appropriate form and return it to the CRA.

General enquiries regarding this privilege, including questions concerning its application to categories of foreign representatives, can be directed to the Privileges and Immunities Unit of the Office of Protocol at 613-944-1159.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-07-23

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Remboursement sur la Taxe d'Accise Fédérale (TAF) sur les achats personnels d'essence et de combustible diesel

Au Canada, l’approvisionnement de carburant est généralement assujetti à la taxe d’accise fédérale (TAF). Les taux de la TAF sont énumérés sur le site web de l’Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC).

La législation canadienne, soit la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, prévoit que certains représentants accrédités peuvent bénéficier de l’exonération de la TAF. L’Agence du Revenue du Canada, est chargé d’administrer la Loi sur la Taxe d’accise et de gérer le programme de remboursement de la taxe d’accise.

À propos du programme de remboursement

L’exonération de la TAF pour les diplomates est octroyée en vertu de l’article 68.3 de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, qui stipule que :

68.3

(1) En cas de paiement des taxes imposées en vertu des parties III et VI sur l’essence ou le combustible diesel acheté par un diplomate pour son usage particulier ou officiel, le montant des taxes est, sous réserve des autres dispositions de la présente partie, à rembourser à ce diplomate, s’il en fait la demande dans les deux ans suivant l’achat.

Décrets de classement

(2) Le gouverneur en conseil peut, sur recommandation du ministre des Affaires étrangères constatant que les diplomates canadiens en poste dans un pays étranger y bénéficient de l’exonération des taxes sur l’essence et le combustible diesel, classer, par décret, ce pays parmi ceux dont les diplomates sont visés par le présent article.

Définition de « diplomate »

(3) Dans le présent article, « diplomate » s’entend d’une personne visée à l’article 2 de la partie II de l’annexe III qui représente un pays classé conformément aux décrets d’application du paragraphe (2).

Partie II

Service Diplomatique

1. Articles à l’usage du gouverneur général.

2. Articles importés pour l’usage personnel ou officiel des chefs de missions diplomatiques, des hauts-commissaires représentant d’autres gouvernements de Sa Majesté, des conseillers, des secrétaires et des attachés d’ambassades, de légations et de bureaux de hauts-commissaires au Canada, des délégués commerciaux et des délégués commerciaux adjoints représentant d’autres gouvernements de Sa Majesté, des consuls généraux, consuls et vice-consuls de nations étrangères, natifs ou citoyens du pays qu’ils représentent et qui n’exercent pas d’autre profession.

Afin d’obtenir le remboursement de la TAF, les représentant étrangers éligibles doivent remplir le formulaire suivant et le retourner à l’ARC.

Pour toute question concernant l’application de ce privilège, y compris les catégories de représentants étrangers qui en bénéficient, les missions étrangères devraient s’adresser à l’Unité des Privilèges et immunités du Bureau du Protocole au 613-944-1159.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-07-23