Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Payment of Municipal Taxes in Respect to Real Property Used for Commercial Activities

Circular Note No. XDC-1922 of August 29, 2006

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to refer to the matter of a foreign state's responsibility to pay municipal taxes in respect to real property from which it derives rental income.

The Department, guided by its Guidelines on Acquisition, Disposition or Development of Real Property, reiterates that the Government of Canada does not grant relief from taxes on properties, or portions thereof, of a foreign state where activities and functions performed thereinto are unofficial in nature and for commercial profit. While the Department does not in principle object if a foreign government pursues Lessor interests in Canada by having commercial tenants, it nonetheless wishes to be informed of all properties, or portions thereof, where such activities taking place so that the tax burden can be apportioned accordingly.

Therefore, in order to administrate the Payment in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) Program in a more equitable way, it would be greatly appreciated if Heads of Diplomatic Missions could, if the case arises, promptly update information regarding the commercial tenants operating on diplomatic or consular premises previously acquired in Canada by their government, specifying the size of the floor space allotted to each tenant.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, August 29, 2006

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-10

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Le paiement des taxes municipales sur les biens immobiliers où se tiennent des activités commerciales

Note circulaire No XDC-1922 du 29 août 2006

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l'honneur de se reporter à la question de l'obligation d'un État étranger de payer les taxes municipales sur les biens immobiliers dont il tire un revenu de location.

Le Ministère réitère, suivant ses Lignes directrices relatives à l'acquisition, l'aliénation ou le développement de biens immobiliers, que le gouvernement du Canada n'accorde pas à un État étranger d'exemption de taxes sur les biens immobiliers ou parties de biens immobiliers où se tiennent des activités et des fonctions non officielles par nature et commerciales. Bien que le Ministère n'ait pas d'objection en principe à ce qu'un gouvernement étranger ait des intérêts au Canada sous forme de bailleur ayant des locataires commerciaux, il souhaite néanmoins être informé de tous biens immobiliers ou parties de biens immobiliers où se tiennent des activités commerciales, de manière à ce que le fardeau fiscal puisse être réparti en conséquence.

C'est pourquoi, afin d'administrer le Programme des paiements versés en remplacement d'impôts (PÉRI) plus équitablement, le Ministère saurait fort gré aux Chefs de mission diplomatique de bien vouloir, le cas échéant, signaler sans tarder tout changement concernant des locataires commerciaux occupant des locaux diplomatiques ou consulaires que leur gouvernement a acquis au Canada, en précisant la superficie attribuée à chaque locataire.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada, les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 29 août 2006

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-10