Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Requirements Regarding the Submission of Photographs for New Appointments and Extensions (Renewals) of Acceptances

Circular Note No. XDC-2258 of October 24, 2006

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, as well as to Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada and has the honour to inform them of the new requirements regarding the submission of photographs for new appointments and extensions (renewals) of acceptances.  The foregoing supersedes the Department’s circular note XDC-3155, of January 3, 2006.

The Department wishes to advise Missions, International Organizations and other Offices, that effective immediately, photographs submitted for accreditation and extension of accreditation must be passport photographs (colour or black and white), of high quality and taken by a professional photographer.

  • Two photographs must be submitted for each new arrival and one photograph for extensions (renewals).
  • Photos must show a full front view of the face with both edges of the face showing clearly.  The face and shoulders must be centred in the photo and squared to the camera. 
  • Photos must be taken with uniform lighting and not show shadows or flash reflection on the face and head. Photos with shadows on the face or background are unacceptable.
  • Photos must be taken against a plain, uniform, white or light coloured background.
  • Photos taken in a photo booth are unacceptable.
  • The name of the photographer or studio, the address and the date the photo was taken must be provided on the back of one photo.
  • Eyeglasses may be worn as long as the eyes are clearly visible.  Sunglasses are unacceptable.

The Department also wishes to remind Missions, Organizations and other Offices that new and recently taken photographs (taken within the last year) must be submitted upon requesting an extension (renewal) of an acceptance.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, as well as to Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, October 24, 2006

Last revised: April 29, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-10

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Exigences concernant la présentation des photographies lors d’une demande d’accréditation ou d’une demande de prorogation de l’acceptation

Note circulaire NO XDC-2258 du 2 octobre 2006

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments aux Chefs de mission diplomatique, d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux accrédités auprès du Canada et a l’honneur de les informer des nouvelles exigences concernant la présentation des photographies lors d’une demande d’accréditation ou d’une demande de prorogation de l’acceptation.  La présente note remplace la note circulaire XDC-3155 du 3 janvier 2006.

Le Ministère souhaite aviser les Chefs de mission, d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux accrédités auprès du Canada, qu’à compter de maintenant, les photographies présentées avec les fiches d’inscription et qui serviront pour les cartes d’identité, doivent être de format passeport (couleur ou noir et blanc), de haute qualité et prises par un photographe professionnel. 

  • Deux photographies sont requises pour chaque arrivée et une pour les demandes de prorogation.
  • Les photos doivent présenter une vue de face complète du visage avec les deux côtés du visage apparaissant clairement.  Le visage et les épaules doivent être centrés sur la photo. 
  • Les photos doivent être prise sous un éclairage uniforme sans ombre ni reflet de flash sur la face ou sur la tête.  Les photos présentant des ombres sur le visage ou en arrière-plan sont inacceptables.  Les photos doivent se découper sur un fond blanc ou de couleur claire, uniforme et sans motif.
  • Photos prises dans une cabine photographique automatique sont irrecevables.
  • Le nom du photographe ou du studio, l’adresse et la date à laquelle la photo a été prise (non la date de l’impression) doivent figurer au verso de l’une des photos.
  • On peut porter des lunettes, à condition que les yeux soient clairement visibles.  Les lunettes de soleil sont inacceptables.

Le Ministère aimerait aussi rappeler aux Chefs de mission diplomatique, d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux accrédités auprès du Canada que des nouvelles photographies doivent être présentées (prises au cours de la dernière année) lors des demandes de prorogation de l’acceptation.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler aux Chefs de mission diplomatique, d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 24 octobre 2006

Dernière révision : le 29 avril 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-10