Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Procedure for Transferring Special (red) Licence Plates in the Province of Ontario

Circular Note No. XDC-0792 of July 2nd, 2009

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, and has the honour to relay a change in the procedure for transferring special (red) licence plates in the Province of Ontario.

This note supersedes the Department's Circular Note XDC-1179 of April 12, 1991. The Department requests that its content be transmitted to all members of diplomatic and consular representations, international organizations and other offices residing in the Province of Ontario.

Transferring a special licence plate from one vehicle owner to another is not authorized. Licence plates are issued to an individual and must remain in the possession of that individual. All special licence plates must be returned directly to the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario at the conclusion of the holder's posting. Missions that dispose of a vehicle must also return that vehicle's licence plates when the documents of title are transferred.

In the case of an owner who would like to transfer his or her licence plate from one vehicle to a new vehicle, the diplomatic mission or international organization must expressly request this by submitting a note or letter to the Office of Protocol. This correspondence must specify the vehicle's year, make and Vehicle Identification Number. The Office of Protocol will then issue an entitlement form, after which the vehicle owner must visit the designated Vehicle Licence Issuing Office of the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario to make the change.

It is important to remember that any vehicle registered in Ontario must have two identical licence plates, one located on the front end of the vehicle and the second on the back end, and that at no time should owners transfer licence plates from one vehicle to another.

In general, the Department would like to remind that the vehicles of foreign representations and representatives must be registered, insured and maintained in accordance with provincial regulations and standards and the procedures specified in the attached Guidelines.

For any additional information regarding this Note, diplomatic missions, international organizations and other offices may contact the Manager (Accreditation) and Registrar, Diplomatic Corps Services, Office of Protocol, at 613-944-0096.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, July 2nd, 2009

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-01

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Formalités en vue du transfert de plaques d'immatriculation spéciales (rouges) dans la Province d'Ontario

Note circulaire NO XDC-0792 du 2 juillet 2009

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu'aux Chefs d'organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l'honneur de communiquer un changement à la procédure sur le transfert des plaques d'immatriculation spéciales (rouges) dans la Province d'Ontario.

Cette circulaire remplace la note circulaire XDC-1179 du 12 avril 1991. Le  Ministère demande à ce que son contenu soit communiqué à tous les membres des représentations diplomatiques et consulaires, des organisations internationales et autres bureaux résidant dans la Province d'Ontario.

Le transfert d'une plaque minéralogique spéciale du propriétaire d'un véhicule à un autre propriétaire n'est pas autorisé. Les plaques minéralogiques sont émises à une personne et celles-ci doivent demeurer en la possession de cette personne. Toutes les plaques minéralogiques spéciales doivent être remises directement au Ministère des Transports de l'Ontario lorsque l'affectation du détenteur arrive à terme. Les Missions qui disposent d'un véhicule doivent également remettre les plaques minéralogiques de ce véhicule au moment du transfert des titres de propriété.

S'agissant d'un propriétaire qui souhaite transférer sa plaque minéralogique d'un véhicule à un nouveau véhicule, la Mission diplomatique ou l'organisation internationale doit en faire la demande expresse en soumettant une note ou une lettre au Bureau du protocole. Cette correspondance doit préciser l'année de fabrication du véhicule ainsi que sa marque et son numéro d'identification. Le Bureau du protocole émettra ensuite un formulaire d'autorisation, après quoi le propriétaire du véhicule devra se rendre au Bureau d'immatriculation désigné du Ministère des Transports de l'Ontario afin de procéder au changement.

Il convient de rappeler que tout véhicule immatriculé en Ontario doit posséder deux plaques minéralogiques identiques, une placée à l'avant du véhicule et la seconde à l'arrière et en aucun temps les propriétaires ne doivent transférer les plaques minéralogiques d'un véhicule à un autre.

De façon générale, le Ministère rappelle que les véhicules des représentations et représentants étrangers doivent être immatriculés, assurés et entretenus afin de satisfaire aux règles et normes provinciales, ainsi qu'aux procédures spécifiées dans les Lignes directrices en pièce jointe.

Pour tout complément d'information concernant la présente Note, les missions diplomatiques, organisations internationales et autres bureaux peuvent communiquer avec le Gestionnaire (Accréditation) et Registraire, Services au Corps diplomatique, Bureau du Protocole, au 613-944-0096.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu'aux chefs d'organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 2 juillet 2009

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-01