Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Protocol on Foreign Criminal Investigators in Canada

Circular Note NO. JLA-0142 of March 2, 2007

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Charges d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to refer to the matter of foreign criminal investigators wishing to pursue criminal investigations in Canada.

The Department wishes to draw the attention of their Excellencies on Canada's Protocol on Foreign Criminal Investigators (the Protocol), recently adopted by the Government of Canada. The Protocol reaffirms Canadian policy in relation to foreign criminal investigators intending to come to Canada, and clarifies the notification and approval procedure applicable in such instances.

It is Canadian policy that, before foreign criminal investigators enter Canada to conduct investigative work, they must notify Canadian authorities in advance, through recognized channels, and seek approval for such visits. This policy not only contributes to the safeguarding of Canadian sovereignty and public interest of Canada, it also allows to better protect the rights of Canadians and to promote effective criminal investigations on Canadian territory.

The Protocol recognizes that a number of valid channels are already in place for the Assistance Treaties (administered through the Department of Justice) or Interpol (administered through the Royal Canadian Mounted Police - RCMP) and various other mechanisms established under international agreements or arrangements between Canada and other States, or between Canadian federal departments and their international counterparts. The Protocol is not intended to replace these other channels, but rather to provide a procedure for instances where these other channels do not apply. It should be noted that the Protocol applies to situations where an investigation is taking place on a voluntary basis. Where compulsory measures are being sought, use must be made of other appropriate mechanisms such as under mutual legal assistance treaties or applicable assistance mechanisms established under multilateral treaties to which Canada is a Party.

According to the procedure established under the Protocol, diplomatic channels are to be used for notifying of, and seeking approval for, foreign criminal investigators' visits to Canada. Requests will be channelled through diplomatic missions accredited to Canada or Canadian diplomatic missions abroad, and forwarded to the Criminal, Security and Treaty Law Division (JLA) of the Department. The Department will assess the requests, in consultation with the RCMP, and notify foreign governments, through the same channels, whether a visit may proceed and what conditions may apply. Additional information on the Protocol on Foreign Criminal Investigators may be obtained via the RCMP website.

The diplomatic note containing a request under the Protocol, or an advance copy of such a diplomatic note sent by fax (1-613-944-0870), must be received by JLA at least two weeks in advance of a visit. The following information is required in support of a request:

  • the names of the foreign criminal investigators or persons acting on their behalf;
  • the planned date of arrival to and departure from Canada;
  • the date, time, and location of the interview/investigative activity;
  • the identity of witnesses and suspects, including date of birth, citizenship, and any other pertinent information to assist in locating them; and
  • the nature of the criminal investigation, including the purpose of the visit (investigation or interview), a brief summary of the foreign investigation, a brief summary of the criminal investigation to be conducted in Canada, the name of the person who contacted witnesses (if applicable), whether witnesses have agreed to provide voluntary statements; and a description of the arrangement made with the local Canadian police force or the witnesses' lawyer (if applicable).

In order to expedite the processing of a request, the following additional information would also prove useful, where available: if Canadian law enforcement was contacted, the name and contact information of the Canadian police agency/officer; and, if a lawyer will be present during the interview to be conducted by a foreign criminal investigator, the name and contact information of the lawyer/law firm.

The Department requests the assistance of Heads of Diplomatic Missions to inform their respective government authorities, including in the criminal investigation field, of the existence and content of the Protocol.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Charges d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, March 2, 2007

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-19

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Le Protocole concernant les enquêteurs criminels étrangers au Canada

Note circulaire N° JLA-0142 du 2 mars 2007

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. dûment accrédités au Canada et a l'honneur de se référer à la question des enquêteurs criminels étrangers qui souhaitent mener des enquêtes criminelles au Canada.

Le Ministère a l'honneur d'attirer l'attention de Leurs Excellences sur le Protocole concernant les enquêteurs criminels étrangers au Canada (le Protocole) récemment adopté par le Gouvernement du Canada. Le Protocole réaffirme la politique canadienne à l'égard des enquêteurs criminels étrangers prévoyant venir au Canada et clarifie la procédure de notification et d'approbation applicable en pareil cas.

La politique du Canada prévoit que, avant d'entrer au Canada pour y effectuer du travail d'enquête, les enquêteurs criminels étrangers doivent aviser préalablement les autorités canadiennes par les voies reconnues et demander l'approbation de leur visite. Cette politique ne contribue pas seulement à sauvegarder la souveraineté du Canada et l'intérêt public au pays, mais elle permet également de mieux protéger les droits des Canadiens et de favoriser l'efficacité des enquêtes criminelles sur le territoire canadien.

Le Protocole reconnaît la présence d'un certain nombre de voies valides pour les notifications préalables et l'approbation de telles visites, par exemple, par l'entremise des traités d'entraide juridique (administrés par le Ministère de la Justice) ou d'Interpol (administré par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada - GRC) et divers autres mécanismes établis en vertu d'accords internationaux ou d'ententes entre le Canada et d'autres États, ou entre les ministères du Gouvernement fédéral et leurs homologues étrangers. Le Protocole ne vise pas à remplacer ces autres voies, mais plutôt à offrir une procédure pour les cas où elles ne sont pas applicables. Il est à noter que le Protocole s'applique aux situations où une enquête est menée sur une base volontaire. Lorsque des mesures coercitives sont demandées, il est nécessaire de recourir aux mécanismes appropriés tels que les traités d'entraide juridique ou les mécanismes d'aide applicables établis en vertu des traités multilatéraux auxquels le Canada est Partie.

Conformément à la procédure établie en application du Protocole, les voies diplomatiques doivent être utilisées pour les avis relatifs aux visites au Canada des enquêteurs criminels étrangers et pour l'approbation de ces visites. Les demandes seront acheminées par les missions diplomatiques accréditées au Canada ou par les missions diplomatiques du Canada à l'étranger et transmises à la Direction du droit criminel, de la sécurité et des traités (JLA) du Ministère. Celui-ci évalue les demandes, en consultation avec la GRC, et fait savoir aux gouvernements étrangers, par les mêmes voies, si la visite peut avoir lieu et quelles sont les conditions qui s'appliquent, le cas échéant. Il est possible d'obtenir plus d'information sur le Protocole concernant les enquêteurs criminels étrangers au Canada en consultant le site Web de la GRC.

Une note diplomatique contenant une demande au titre du Protocole, ou une télécopie de la note précédant son envoi (envoyée au 1-613-944-0870) doit être reçue à JLA au moins deux semaines avant la visite. Les renseignements suivants sont requis pour appuyer la demande:

  • le nom des enquêteurs criminels étrangers ou des personnes agissant en leur nom;
  • les dates prévues d'arrivée au Canada et de départ;
  • la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'entrevue ou de l'activité d'enquête;
  • l'identité des témoins et des suspects, y compris leur date de naissance, leur citoyenneté et toute autre information pertinente pouvant faciliter leur localisation;
  • la nature de l'enquête criminelle, y compris l'objet de la visite (enquête ou entrevue), un bref résumé de l'enquête réalisée à l'étranger, un bref résumé de l'enquête criminelle à mener au Canada, le nom de la personne ayant communiqué avec les témoins (le cas échéant), une indication à l'effet que les témoins ont accepté ou non de faire des déclarations volontaires et une description de l'entente conclue avec les corps policiers au Canada ou avec l'avocat des témoins (le cas échéant).

Afin d'accélérer le traitement d'une demande, il serait utile de fournir également les renseignements suivants, s'ils sont connus: si les autorités canadiennes chargées de l'application des lois ont été contactées, le nom et les coordonnées du service de police ou du policier canadiens et, dans les cas où un avocat sera présent durant l'entrevue qui sera réalisée par un enquêteur criminel étranger, le nom et les coordonnées de l'avocat ou du cabinet d'avocats.

Le Ministère prie les Chefs de missions diplomatiques de bien vouloir faire informer les autorités de leur gouvernement respectif, y compris celles de qui relèvent les enquêtes criminelles, de l'existence et du contenu du Protocole.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 2 mars 2007

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-19