Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Introduction of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) in Ontario

Circular Note No. XDC-0034 of January 20, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, and has the honour to inform them of Ontario's tax system reform, which will take effect on July 1, 2010, and of its impact on the Retail Sales Tax (RST) exemption currently enjoyed by certain accredited foreign officials. Information in regards to the British Columbia tax reform will follow in a separate note.

The Department particularly asks that diplomatic missions transmit the content of this Note to all consular posts established in Ontario.

Introduction of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) in Ontario

Effective July 1, 2010, Ontario's Retail Sales Tax (RST) and the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST) will be replaced by a single value added sales tax in Ontario (i.e., the HST). The HST would be administered by the federal government and would have the same tax base and structure as the federal GST, with a few exceptions.

The HST would have a combined rate of 13%. The provincial portion would be 8%, , and the federal portion would be 5%.

Removal of the RST exemption at point of sale and other changes to the rules for foreign representatives

A certain number of foreign representatives and their spouses or common-law partners currently enjoy a RST exemption at point of sale in Ontario upon presentation of their federal identity card. Once the HST comes into effect on July 1, 2010 it is expected that this tax will be payable on all applicable goods and services, as is currently the case for the GST, and that foreign officials will not enjoy tax relief for the Province of Ontario portion of the tax (8%) at the point of sale. However, foreign representatives and members of their families who are currently eligible for the GST rebate program will also be eligible for the HST rebate program.

Between now and July 1, the Department will provide more information on the procedure for obtaining HST tax relief and the transitional RST exemption rules, if necessary.

Reciprocal arrangements

Eligibility for the GST/HST rebates is determined strictly by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, whose duty is to provide the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) with the list of diplomatic missions, consular posts, international organizations and other eligible offices, as well as the names of accredited officials and officers and their spouses or common-law partners.

In keeping with its policy approach, the Department would like to reiterate that personal tax exemptions are granted to representatives of foreign states solely on the basis of reciprocal treatment of Canadians at post in the other State.

The Department's Office of Protocol is currently conducting a detailed review of all reciprocal tax arrangements, in particular cases where accredited representatives of countries currently enjoy PST exemption at sale where Canadians abroad do not enjoy comparable personal consumer tax exemptions (either at the point of sale or by reimbursement). It will contact on a case-by-case basis the missions of those foreign states to discuss possible adjustments to reciprocal tax arrangements.

In addition, missions and international organizations and other offices that wish to obtain general information with regard to their eligibility for the GST/HST rebate program and applicable restrictions, and the eligibility of their accredited officials or officials, may do so by contacting the Office of Protocol's Privileges and Immunities Unit at 613-944-1159.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, January 20, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-28

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Introduction de la Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) en Ontario

Note circulaire No XDC-0034 du 20 janvier 2010

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu'aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l'honneur de les informer de la réforme au régime fiscal de l'Ontario qui entrera en vigueur d'ici le 1er juillet 2010 et de son implication sur l'exonération de la Taxe de Vente au détail (TVD) dont bénéficient actuellement certains représentants étrangers accrédités. L'information concernant la réforme fiscale de la Colombie Britannique sera communiquée dans une note distincte.

Le Ministère s'attend tout particulièrement à ce que les Missions diplomatiques transmettent le contenu de la présente Note à tous les postes consulaires établis en Ontario.

Introduction de la Taxe de Vente harmonisée (TVH) en Ontario

À compter du 1er juillet 2010, la taxe de vente au détail de l'Ontario (TVD) sera remplacée par une taxe de vente sur la valeur ajoutée unique combinée à la Taxe de vente sur les produits et services (TPS) fédérale et deviendra la TVH.

La TVH serait administrée par le gouvernement fédéral et appliquerait la même assiette fiscale et structure que la TPS fédérale, avec quelques exceptions. La TVH aurait un taux combiné de 13 %. La portion provinciale serait de 8 % et la portion fédérale serait de 5%

Élimination de l'exonération de la TVD au point d'achat et autres changements aux règles visant les représentants étrangers

Un certain nombre de représentants étrangers, ainsi que leur époux ou conjoint de fait, jouissent présentement de l'exonération de la TVD au point d'achat en Ontario en vertu de leur Carte d'identité fédérale. Il est prévu qu'après la mise en vigueur de la TVH le 1er juillet 2010, cette taxe, tout comme la TPS à l'heure actuelle, sera exigible à l'égard de tous les biens et services applicables et que les représentants étrangers ne pourront pas se prévaloir de l'exemption de la portion de taxe (8 %) relative à la Province d'Ontario au point d'achat. Toutefois, les représentants étrangers et membres de la famille présentement admissibles au programme de remboursement de TPS seront, à ce même titre, admissibles au programme de remboursement de TVH.

Le Ministère fournira, d'ici le 1er juillet, des précisions concernant la procédure à suivre pour obtenir le dégrèvement de TVH ainsi que des règles transitoires d'exonération de la TVD, le cas échéant.

Ententes de réciprocité

L'admissibilité au remboursement de la TPS/TVH est strictement déterminée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, à qui il revient de fournir à l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) la liste des missions diplomatiques, postes consulaires, organisations internationales et autres bureaux admissibles, ainsi que les noms des représentants et des fonctionnaires accrédités et de leur époux ou conjoint de fait.

Le Ministère, conformément à son approche au plan des politiques, rappelle que les exonérations de taxes personnelles ne sont accordées aux représentants d'États étrangers que sur la seule base du traitement réciproque offert aux Canadiens en poste dans l'autre État.

Le Bureau du Protocole du Ministère procède actuellement à un examen approfondi des ententes de réciprocité concernant les taxes, en particulier les cas où des représentants accrédités de certains pays bénéficient actuellement d'une exonération de la TVP au point de vente, tandis que leurs homologues canadiens ne profitent pas d'une exonération fiscale comparable dans leur pays (que ce soit au point de vente ou par remboursement). Le Bureau communiquera, au cas par cas, avec les missions des États étrangers concernés afin de discuter d'ajustements possibles aux ententes de réciprocité concernant les taxes.

Aussi, les missions et les organisations internationales et autres bureaux qui désirent obtenir des renseignements généraux concernant leur admissibilité au programme de remboursement de la TPS/TVH et des restrictions en vigueur, ainsi que de celle de leurs représentants ou fonctionnaires accrédités, peuvent le faire en s'adressant à l'Unité des Privilèges et Immunités du Bureau du Protocole au 613-944-1159.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu'aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 20 janvier 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-19