Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Appointment of Chargés d'affaires, a.i. and Acting High Commissioners

Circular Note No. XDC-0038 of January 6, 2011

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to clarify the process of notification of the appointment of a chargé d’affaires, a.i. in Canada. The expression "chargés d'affaires, a.i." includes acting high commissioners.

Bearing in mind Article 19 of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, heads of mission, which includes chargé d’affaires accredited to the Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs1 may notify the appointment of a chargé d’affaires, a.i. as long as they are within the territory of Canada.

In the event that the head of mission is unable to notify the appointment prior to his or her departure from Canada, whether such departure is temporary or permanent, the Department expects that the notification will be addressed from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the sending State to either the Department or the Canadian Embassy accredited to the sending State.

Similarly, should a duly appointed chargé d’affaires, a.i. be required to leave the country for any reason, he or she cannot appoint anyone else as chargé. The appointment of a chargé under these circumstances must be in the form of a Note from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country concerned addressed to the Department or the Canadian Embassy accredited to the sending State.

As only members of the diplomatic staff can be appointed chargé d’affaires, a.i., the Department will not accept the appointment of a consular officer based outside the National Capital Region (NCR) as chargé d’affaires, a.i. unless he or she effectively moves to the NCR during the appointment period and holds a diplomatic rank by appointment from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the sending State.

The Department’s Office of Protocol is responsible for ensuring the validity of each Note received dealing with the appointment of a chargé d’affaires, a.i. and for recording all absences of heads of mission. All queries regarding this policy should be directed to the Manager, Accreditation and Registrar, Diplomatic Corps Services, at 613-944-0096.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, January 6, 2011


1 Chargés d’affaires accredited to Ministers for Foreign Affairs, a class of heads of mission pursuant to Article 14(1)(c) of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, are also referred to as Chargés d'affaires en pied.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-15

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

La nomination des Chargés d'affaires, a.i. et des hauts-commissaires adjoints

Note circulaire No XDC-0038 du 6 janvier 2011

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l’honneur de clarifier le processus de notification de la nomination des chargés d’affaires a.i. au Canada. L'expression « chargé d'affaires, a.i. » inclut le haut-commissaire adjoint.

En vertu de l’article 19 de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques, les chefs de mission, y compris les chargés d’affaires accrédités auprès du ministre des Affaires étrangères1 peuvent notifier la nomination d’un chargé d’affaires a.i., pourvu qu’ils se trouvent en territoire canadien.

Dans le cas où un chef de mission ne peut pas notifier la nomination d’un chargé d’affaires avant son départ du Canada, que ce départ soit temporaire ou permanent, le Ministère s’attend à ce que la notification soit adressée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères de l’État accréditant, soit au Ministère, soit à l’ambassade du Canada accréditée auprès de l’État accréditant.

De même, un chargé d’affaires a.i. dûment accrédité qui doit quitter le pays, pour quelque raison que ce soit, ne peut pas nommer un autre chargé d’affaires. Dans ces circonstances, la nomination du chargé d’affaires doit prendre la forme d’une Note du ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays concerné au Ministère ou à l’ambassade du Canada accréditée auprès de l’État accréditant.

Comme seuls les membres du personnel diplomatique peuvent être nommés chargés d’affaires a.i., le Ministère n’accepte pas la nomination d’un agent consulaire basé en dehors de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN) comme chargé d’affaires a.i., à moins qu’il ne s’installe effectivement dans la RCN pour la durée de sa fonction et ne possède un rang diplomatique en vertu d’une nomination du ministère des Affaires étrangères de l’État accréditant. 

Il incombe au Bureau du Protocole du Ministère de vérifier la validité de toutes les Notes reçues concernant la nomination de chargés d’affaires a.i. et de noter toutes les absences des chefs de mission. Pour tous renseignements au sujet de cette politique, les missions sont priées de s’adresser au Gestionnaire (Accréditation) et registraire de la direction des Services au Corps diplomatique, au 613-944-0096.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 6 janvier 2011


1 Les chargés d’affaires accrédités auprès des ministères des Affaires étrangères, une classe de chefs de mission prévue à l'alinéa 1(c) de l'article 14 de la Convention de Vienne sur les Relations diplomatiques, sont également connus sous l'expression Chargés d'affaires en pied.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-24