Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Parking at the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Aiport

Parking Notice (PDF Version, 1.47 Mb) *

Circular Note No. XDC-0044

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the Permanent Representatives to the International Civil Aviation Organization, and the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, and has the honour to refer to the matter of parking facilities at the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport (referred to hereafter as the Ottawa Airport).

The Department wishes to inform Their Excellencies that parking is strictly prohibited for all vehicles along the curb-side facilities at both the Arrivals and Departures levels at the Ottawa Airport. This area may only be used for the temporary loading and unloading of passengers and luggage EXCEPT in those  cases where, for the greeting and farewell of a VIP notified to the National Airport Courtesy Program of the Office of Protocol, an accompanying driver has been issued with a parking pass by Canada Reception Centre staff. These passes are issued in very limited number and will only be available for the use of the principle mission involved. All other vehicles improperly parked in this area will be ticketed according to the posted regulations. Additional vehicles accompanying the responsible head of mission must be parked in the designated diplomatic parking area on P1, or, in the event that this area is full, in an appropriate space elsewhere in the Ottawa Airport’s parking facility at the expense of the mission.

With respect to the use of the facility on P1, the Department refers Their Excellencies to the attached circular from the Ottawa Airport’s Parking Authority.

The Department wishes to remind Their Excellencies that there does not exist an international obligation to provide parking facilities at airports or other locations for vehicles of foreign representatives, and that the complementary facilities and services provided as a courtesy by individual, private airport authorities are in no way managed or overseen by the Government of Canada. Moreover, these private airports, in the development and implementation of their parking programme, aim to ensure public safety and fair access to parking for all members of the public while minimizing congestion and discrimination. Their Excellencies are respectfully asked to note that the Department is not in a position to intervene in cases where the improper use of these facilities and services is cited by the responsible authority by way of an infraction notice or other citation. Finally, the Department wishes to express its gratitude to the Diplomatic Community as it has as a whole historically and consistently demonstrated goodwill in diligently observing host country laws and regulations, including those relating to the operation of motor vehicles, highway traffic and parking. This honours the diplomatic profession.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the Permanent Representatives to the International Civil Aviation Organization, and the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, January 22, 2013


* If you require a plug–in or a third–party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-29

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Stationnement à l'Aeroport international Macdonald-Cartier d'Ottawa

Avis concernant le stationnement (Version PDF, 1.47 Mo) *

Note circulaire no XDC-0044

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, les Représentants permanents auprès de l'Organisation d'Aviation Civile International, et aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de se reporter à la question des aires de stationnement à l’Aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier (ci-après appelé « Aéroport d’Ottawa »).

Le Ministère souhaite informer Leurs Excellences qu’il est strictement interdit de stationner un véhicule près du trottoir dans les aires d’arrivée et de départ de l’aéroport d’Ottawa. Ces aires ne peuvent être utilisées que pour faire monter ou descendre des passagers et leurs bagages, SAUF dans les cas où le personnel du Centre d’accueil du Canada a délivré un permis de stationnement pour l’accueil et le départ d’un dignitaire, à la demande du Programme national de service de courtoisie dans les aéroports du Bureau du Protocole, celui-ci ayant préalablement été informé de l’événement. Ces permis sont délivrés en nombre très limité, et ce, uniquement pour l’occasion en cause. Tout véhicule non autorisé à stationner dans ces aires sera visé par une contravention, conformément aux règles qui sont affichées à ces endroits. Les autres véhicules qui accompagnent le chef de mission responsable doivent être stationnés dans l’aire de stationnement diplomatique située au P1 ou, s’il ne reste plus de place, dans un autre endroit approprié dans le stationnement de l’aéroport, aux frais de la mission.

Pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur l’utilisation de l’aire de stationnement diplomatique située au P1, le Ministère prie Leurs Excellences de bien vouloir consulter l’avis ci-joint de l’Administration de l’aéroport d’Ottawa.

Le Ministère souhaite rappeler à Leurs Excellences qu’il n’existe aucune obligation internationale d’offrir des places de stationnement aux représentants étrangers dans les aéroports ou dans tout autre lieu et que les installations et services complémentaires offerts gracieusement par les autorités aéroportuaires privées et individuelles ne sont en aucun cas gérés ou surveillés par le gouvernement du Canada. En outre, ces aéroports privés, dans le cadre de la conception et de la mise en œuvre de leur programme de stationnement, visent à assurer la sécurité des membres du public et leur accès équitable au stationnement, tout en réduisant la congestion et la discrimination. Leurs Excellences sont respectueusement invitées à prendre note que le Ministère n’est pas en mesure d’intervenir quand des autorités compétentes émettent des avis d’infraction ou d’autres contraventions pour l’utilisation inappropriée de ces stationnements et services. Enfin, le Ministère souhaite exprimer sa gratitude à l’égard de la communauté diplomatique qui a toujours et constamment fait preuve de bonne volonté en respectant avec diligence les lois et règlements du pays hôte, y compris ceux liés aux véhicules automobiles, à la circulation routière et au stationnement. Cela est tout à l’honneur de la profession diplomatique.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, les Représentants permanents auprès de l'Organisation d'Aviation Civile International, et aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, 22 janvier 2013


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-29