Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Canadian Policy and Practice on the Screening of Diplomatic Bags

Circular Note NO. XDC-0144 of January 28, 2011

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and the Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada, and has the honour to reiterate the Government of Canada’s policy and related expectations on the treatment and status of diplomatic bags.

Article 27 of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (VCDR) exempts the diplomatic bag from opening and detention. This exemption derives from the fundamental principle of protection of free communication that is owed to diplomatic missions for official purposes. Canada considers that x-ray or any other form of electronic scanning of diplomatic bags constitutes a constructive opening of the bag. Such opening can adversely affect the integrity and the confidentiality of the documents and articles contained in the bag and therefore impair the inviolability of the bag, and is thus regarded by Canada as creating an unacceptable breach of the VCDR.

Within the framework of its diplomatic relations, Canada continues to ensure, through domestic legislation and enabling regulation, that foreign diplomatic pouches, when these visibly bear external marks of their status and are appropriately sealed, are exempt from manual search, or any form of electronic scanning (by x-ray device or other method) and cannot be opened or detained. However, recognizing the importance of public safety and civil aviation security considerations and the need to safeguard against abuses, relevant Canadian authorities which may have serious reasons to suspect that a diplomatic pouch could constitute a threat are instructed to notify the authorities of the sending State and request that the bag be opened in their presence. If the sending State refuses the examination, the bag will be returned to its place of origin.

Therefore, the Department urges the Heads of Mission to bring to the attention of their Capitals the Government of Canada’s above policy with the goal of exempting Canadian diplomatic bags abroad from any policy, current or future, of x-ray or any other form of electronic scanning.

Since Canada does not, in the pursuance of its interests and activities as sending State, allow its diplomatic bags to be opened or screened by x-ray or any other method, the inability to send diplomatic bags via certain airports causes serious operational challenges. In fact, the Department stresses that its decision to send a Circular Note at this time was made necessary by the concern that rules and practices of certain States effectively permit the regular use of electronic devices, such as x-rays, for the examination and screening of diplomatic bags. In this regard, Canada continues to work bilaterally and in common approach with other concerned States to object to these actions taken by certain States.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, January 28, 2011

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-03

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

La politique et la pratique du Canada relatives à l'inspection des valises diplomatiques

Note circulaire NO XDC-0144 du 28 janvier 2011

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de leur rappeler la politique et les attentes du Canada concernant le traitement et le statut accordés aux valises diplomatiques.

En vertu de l’article 27 de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques (CVRD), la valise diplomatique ne peut être ni ouverte ni retenue. Cette immunité repose sur le principe fondamental de la protection de la libre communication dont jouissent les missions diplomatiques dans leurs fonctions officielles. Or, le Canada  considère l’inspection aux rayons X et toute autre forme d’examen électronique des valises diplomatiques comme équivalant à leur ouverture, car elle risque de compromettre l’intégrité et le caractère confidentiel des documents et autres articles qu’elles contiennent. C’est pourquoi le Canada tient l’inspection électronique des valises diplomatiques pour une violation inadmissible de la CVRD.

Dans le cadre de ses relations diplomatiques, le Canada continue de veiller, dans ses lois nationales et leurs règlements d’application, à ce que les valises diplomatiques étrangères, lorsqu’elles portent des marques extérieures visibles de leur caractère et sont scellées de manière appropriée, bénéficient de l’immunité de fouille manuelle et de toute forme d’examen électronique (par rayons X ou quelque autre moyen) et ne puissent donc être ouvertes ni retenues. En revanche, vu l’importance de la sécurité publique et de la sûreté de l’aviation civile et la nécessité de prévenir les abus, les autorités canadiennes compétentes qui peuvent avoir des motifs sérieux de soupçonner qu’une valise diplomatique représente une menace ont pour consigne d’en aviser les autorités de l’État d’origine et de leur demander que la valise soit ouverte en leur présence. En cas de refus, la valise est retournée à son lieu d’origine.

Par conséquent, le Ministère prie les Chefs de Mission de porter la politique exposée ci-dessus à l’attention de leur capitale de manière que les valises diplomatiques canadiennes soient exemptées de toute mesure actuelle ou future d’inspection aux rayons X ou par tout autre moyen électronique. 

Comme le Canada ne permet pas, dans la poursuite de ses intérêts et dans ses activités d’État d’envoi, que ses valises diplomatiques soient ouvertes ni examinées aux rayons X ni par quelque autre moyen que ce soit, l’impossibilité d’expédier les valises diplomatiques via certains aéroports pose de sérieux défis opérationnels. En fait, le Ministère souligne que la décision de communiquer la présente Note circulaire a été rendue nécessaire par le fait que les pratiques de certains États permettent l’usage courant d’appareils électroniques, aux rayons X notamment, pour l’examen et l’inspection des valises diplomatiques. À cet égard, le Canada continue, au niveau bilatéral et de concert avec d’autres États concernés, de s’opposer à ces actes de la part de certains États.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 28 janvier 2011

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-03